We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Wonderful experience at this winery! Big rooms, big bed, big property with rows & rows of grapes, wonderful veranda overlooking the Tuscan countryside & hills, etc. Breakfast was light, but it is the same at most places in Italy. The only minor complaint I would have is that the towels were super rough... they could use a lot of fabric softener... though, this is also the case in many rural Italian rooms. Everything was very clean & very spacious! The bathroom was very large & modern with towel warming racks. We will come here again! Decent price too. They don't speak much English, but are very nice and we managed just fine with a pocket conversational Italian book.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassein33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2009

The other reviewers have been kind about the "apartment down the hill".... first, we would probably stay again...but it would be a better stay because of our knowledge of the situation. We were two couples traveling together for holiday. We were delighted with the “main house” when we arrived to check in. The website pictures are representative of this building. However, our excitement was soon replaced by a great deal of disappointment. The receptionist did not speak English at all and the check-in process was the longest of any we have ever experienced in Italy. No other establishment in Italy has ever required complete passport and personal documentation of all members of our party! Then we were taken down the hill to “The Apartment.” The apartment is a duplex situation ... there is a great deal of clutter around the exterior...old Christmas decorations, broken down "above ground" pool parts and a covered picnic area furnished with makeshift "army surplus" kitchen appliances and a collection of discarded furniture. The landscape was in need of manicure and our non-private terrace area was littered with rotting cherries and makeshift ashtrays in need of emptying. The interior of the apartment itself is clean and charming...although there was not a comfortable sitting area in the public space... the two bedrooms are clean and comfortable. The kitchen was fairly well furnished – although some ice trays and a dish drainer would be welcome additions. The bathroom was serviceable...but the door doesn't lock and must be coaxed to shut. Instructions on use of the washer --- in English (since the establishment advertises "English speaking”) would have made our clothes washing experience less frustrating. Our biggest complaint would have to be the mosquitoes!!! With no air conditioning, open windows are a necessity in July. However, the charming window shutters do nothing to keep out the mosquitoes. After the first night we purchased deet repellant and “mosquito coils" at the market...but since the coils didn't last all night we still were tormented by the mosquitoes! I counted over 50 bites on my arms and face the morning we left...my travel mates did not fare much better. Our final comment would be about the noise....since our windows were open for ventilation, the midnight feeding of cats and cigarette smoking on the veranda below our window (by the permanent residents) did not contribute to a restful sleep. The location is great for exploring the Chianti region… Greve is a charming town…but do a thorough investigation of the lodging options…hopefully; these comments will empower you to ask better questions than we did.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank drbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed @ Casa Nova @ Greve-in-Chianti for 2 nights from 4-6 April. From Florence, we took a Sita bus which is a pleasant 1 hr ride with lovely views of the Tuscan countryside. The bus fare costs Euro 3.10. Upon arrival @ Greve (Piazza Trento), we were fetched by Casa Nova owner to our villa apartment. The apartment is very spacious and it is the only hotel that provides a hot water flask with different types of teabags. It overlooks a lovely vineyard and we love the serenity of the big garden. The apartment is a 500 metres walk uphill to the main farmhouse where breakfast is served. As there were few guests during the period, dinner/supper is not served so we had to walk to the town square for our meals. It is a 10-15 mins walk. At Piazza Matteotti, do go to Osteria Mangiando Mangiano which serves excellent fare. We highly recommend the fantastic beef stew (tender chunks of braised beef marinaded with a dry peppery seasoning). It is one of the best meals we had in Italy and it costs Euro 12. We also took a nice long walk to Montefioralle (1 hr) which gave us a hilltop view of the Greve beautiful landscape. We enjoyed our stay in Greve.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We stayed in the farmhouse apartment, down the hill (with Micheal, the owner next door).

The farmhouse was beatuifully restored, with stone and wooden floors, two very comfortable bedrooms, and interior heavy wooden shutters on every window. The kitchen was our favorite, for the view out on the stone yard and for the original large fireplace - (we made fires every evening).

A wooden table was just outside the door with the view of the orchard as well as olive, fig, and lemon trees. Each evening we would spend time at this table and enjoy watching the kittens, cats and 3 dogs that belonged to the owner. Very entertaining! Micheal was kind enough to give us a tray of fresh figs one day.

The main farmhouse also offers supper several times a week. We went to one supper and thoroughly enjoyed the meal as well as having the opportunity to talk with other travellers. All staff members were friendly and helpful.

The location is perfect; it is so quiet you can hear the roosters crowing in the distance. It is an easy 10 minute walk to the town that has good and inexpensive restaurants as well as a grocery store and shops offering local specialties such as sausages and cold cuts, cheese fresh bread, etc. Don't miss the farmers market Saturday morning. Another reviewer suggested going to le Cantine to sample the many varieties of wine. It was great fun and a good way to try wine as well as olive oil.

The location is ideal for visiting other towns. We drove to Panzano, Pisa, Florence, Castellina, Siena, Radda, Volpaia. We did not find these towns to be too far and in fact, we enjoyed the scenery. The views were gorgeous.

We loved everything about our stay - our apartment, the fantastic views, the peace and quiet, the way we were treated so well by the owner and staff. Amazing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thisnameisnottaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimocaricoio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AssaggiatoreCurioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
506 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rifugium
Rifugium
#1 of 1 in Casole
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Castellinuzza B&B
Castellinuzza B&B
#1 of 1 in Castellinuzza
31 reviews
4.7 mi away
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
#1 of 4 in Strada in Chianti
98 reviews
2 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura

Address: via di Uzzano 29, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Nova and La Ripintura are two, ancient neighbouring farmhouses which today are a part of the same farm which extends over 17 hectares. It is situated very near to Greve in Chianti, half way between Florence and Siena.We produce Chianti Classico, red and white table wine and Extra Vergin olive oil. We offer farmhouse hospitality and the accommodation is in double and three-bed rooms. We serve breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing