We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to rest in a gorgeous setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place to rest in a gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous grounds and building. We stayed in a room in the main house which was extremely comfortable. The staff were fabulous, offering us delicious wine tasting and providing cutlery, fridge space etc as we had self catered. Nothing was too much trouble. Recommend dining in the grounds as very little beats watching the sunset over the Tuscan countryside. Would highly highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed for three nights in a family apartment in the main house - two separate rooms with separate bathroom. Perfect for our family of four. Both the house and setting were straight from the movies. In the evening, we were able to enjoy our meals on a large veranda which is also a great place to sit and read after a day visiting sites. In fact, the choice between enjoying the locale and driving out was not an easy one! While completely in the country, the house is in fact no more than 5 minutes drive from the town with a useful supermarket if like us, you enjoy putting your own picnic together. We were fortunate to be there on completion of the harvest, and being invited to assist with the stirring of the freshly pulped fermenting grapes. A "wow" experience for ourselves and the children, who also enjoyed playing with the dogs and had lots of running around area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenkvH v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for a night in the outbuildings 200m from the main house which is a short walk down the hill through the vineyards. The room was large and decorated beautifully with tuscan style furniture and a spacious bathroom. It's a great location, walking distance from the town (5 minutes) and very peaceful. The receptionist was friendly and we had a good breakfast at the main house in the morning. Whilst the restaurant issn't yet open, the wine from the vineyard is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca050678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at the apartment that is closer to the main road. The apartment is connected to the house of the owners. The walls are very thick and you cannot hear anything next door. The apartment is very big. The kitchen is huge and a cook will love it. They kept the old stone stove area as decoration. The two bedrooms are located upstairs. The big bedroom had two single bed. They were older, but comfy enough. We pushed them them together the nights we decided to sleep in that room. The other room had a double or queen size bed and was comfy.

The outside of the villa complex was really nice and had lots of plants. Lots of cute cats running around that belong to the owners. The only problem we had were the black flies. We went in July and had to run in and out very fast! We still would get bit even when doing this. The outside had a sitting area. There was no junk outside like the previous review stated.

The owners are extremely nice and leave you completely alone. However, if you wish to start a conversation you can. The husband is originally from France, so he speaks French well. His dogs were well trained and beautiful. The family grows there own grapes for wine and is pretty much self-sustaining. They provided us with there olive oil and it was of high quality. The husband also gave us a pitcher of his white wine.

The location is nice and it is easy to walk to the center. We had fun walking each day to the Cantina and petting some cats on the way. Don't miss the turtles (with a pet bird) that live on the front lawn of a house along the way.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

Wonderful experience at this winery! Big rooms, big bed, big property with rows & rows of grapes, wonderful veranda overlooking the Tuscan countryside & hills, etc. Breakfast was light, but it is the same at most places in Italy. The only minor complaint I would have is that the towels were super rough... they could use a lot of fabric softener... though, this is also the case in many rural Italian rooms. Everything was very clean & very spacious! The bathroom was very large & modern with towel warming racks. We will come here again! Decent price too. They don't speak much English, but are very nice and we managed just fine with a pocket conversational Italian book.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bassein33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

The other reviewers have been kind about the "apartment down the hill".... first, we would probably stay again...but it would be a better stay because of our knowledge of the situation. We were two couples traveling together for holiday. We were delighted with the “main house” when we arrived to check in. The website pictures are representative of this building. However, our excitement was soon replaced by a great deal of disappointment. The receptionist did not speak English at all and the check-in process was the longest of any we have ever experienced in Italy. No other establishment in Italy has ever required complete passport and personal documentation of all members of our party! Then we were taken down the hill to “The Apartment.” The apartment is a duplex situation ... there is a great deal of clutter around the exterior...old Christmas decorations, broken down "above ground" pool parts and a covered picnic area furnished with makeshift "army surplus" kitchen appliances and a collection of discarded furniture. The landscape was in need of manicure and our non-private terrace area was littered with rotting cherries and makeshift ashtrays in need of emptying. The interior of the apartment itself is clean and charming...although there was not a comfortable sitting area in the public space... the two bedrooms are clean and comfortable. The kitchen was fairly well furnished – although some ice trays and a dish drainer would be welcome additions. The bathroom was serviceable...but the door doesn't lock and must be coaxed to shut. Instructions on use of the washer --- in English (since the establishment advertises "English speaking”) would have made our clothes washing experience less frustrating. Our biggest complaint would have to be the mosquitoes!!! With no air conditioning, open windows are a necessity in July. However, the charming window shutters do nothing to keep out the mosquitoes. After the first night we purchased deet repellant and “mosquito coils" at the market...but since the coils didn't last all night we still were tormented by the mosquitoes! I counted over 50 bites on my arms and face the morning we left...my travel mates did not fare much better. Our final comment would be about the noise....since our windows were open for ventilation, the midnight feeding of cats and cigarette smoking on the veranda below our window (by the permanent residents) did not contribute to a restful sleep. The location is great for exploring the Chianti region… Greve is a charming town…but do a thorough investigation of the lodging options…hopefully; these comments will empower you to ask better questions than we did.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank drbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed @ Casa Nova @ Greve-in-Chianti for 2 nights from 4-6 April. From Florence, we took a Sita bus which is a pleasant 1 hr ride with lovely views of the Tuscan countryside. The bus fare costs Euro 3.10. Upon arrival @ Greve (Piazza Trento), we were fetched by Casa Nova owner to our villa apartment. The apartment is very spacious and it is the only hotel that provides a hot water flask with different types of teabags. It overlooks a lovely vineyard and we love the serenity of the big garden. The apartment is a 500 metres walk uphill to the main farmhouse where breakfast is served. As there were few guests during the period, dinner/supper is not served so we had to walk to the town square for our meals. It is a 10-15 mins walk. At Piazza Matteotti, do go to Osteria Mangiando Mangiano which serves excellent fare. We highly recommend the fantastic beef stew (tender chunks of braised beef marinaded with a dry peppery seasoning). It is one of the best meals we had in Italy and it costs Euro 12. We also took a nice long walk to Montefioralle (1 hr) which gave us a hilltop view of the Greve beautiful landscape. We enjoyed our stay in Greve.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
0.6 mi away
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
#14 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa al Sole
Casa al Sole
#7 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pian del Gallo
Pian del Gallo
#27 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fattoria Viticcio
Fattoria Viticcio
#3 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Terre di Melazzano
Terre di Melazzano
#23 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Podere Campriano
Podere Campriano
#7 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura

Property: Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura
Address: via di Uzzano 29, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Nova and La Ripintura are two, ancient neighbouring farmhouses which today are a part of the same farm which extends over 17 hectares. It is situated very near to Greve in Chianti, half way between Florence and Siena.We produce Chianti Classico, red and white table wine and Extra Vergin olive oil. We offer farmhouse hospitality and the accommodation is in double and three-bed rooms. We serve breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Casanova - La Ripintura Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing