We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”

Montefioralle Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our winery organizes visits and private wine tastings only by appointment arranged in advance.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We met Fernando last Saturday while on a private tour of the Chianti region. He gave us a tour of the cellar & then a very nice wine tasting was set up for us outside overlooking his vineyards. The wine, the meats, the olive oil were all wonderful, but the best part was how intimate it was. Even with the fact that our tour guide had to translate. He answered all our questions, even the ones not about wine! After he gave us a stroll around his village & shop. This was the best part of our trip to Italy!!
We are going to order the wine & olive oil!
Hope to see Fernando again next year!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenFuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    42
    4
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fernando Classico”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I didn't find the actual winery while staying in Montefioralle but visited the wine shop in the village and after emailing the winery to find the actual location was met at the shop by Fernando who sold me the most gorgeous bottle of Chianti Classico. Was so smooth and lush.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieEssem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our best time around the Florence region”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It was a the last week of December when my wife and I were in Rome and a chance meeting with our Roman friend Simon (of Rent In Italy) got us set up for our trip to this lovely little winery. He promised to hook us up with Fernando the owner of the winery and the next day when we landed in Florence, everything was organised (thanks Simon).
On the morning of our 2nd day in Florence, off we went by SITA bus to Greve in the Chianti region. We got off the main bus-stop close to the town-square and since we had reached earlier than scheduled, we had to wait for a bit. Lorenzo, the owner's son was actually driving down from Florence (about a 2 hrs drive) to pick us up from Greve and take us to their winery in the village of Montefioralle. Since we were early, the town of Greve (a rather beautiful town) was just waking up and so rather quite. But my wife managed to get a few good bargains at some of the local shops.
Soon Lorenzo reached and Greve and off we went in his car to Montefioralle. And nothing had prepared me for the lovely sight that was to come. The village is a small collection of little houses atop a little hill. It was right out of some old movie.
Lorenzo took us around the quaint village and then to their family-owned winery. He showed us around the winery and how wine is prepared, etc. Soon we were joined by Alessia (Lorenzo's sister) and another friend of the family (also from Florence. She helps out as an English Translator) who is now the actual owner of the place.
We tasted their wines, Alessia also put together some breads for us to down with the wine.
Unfortunately we'd gone there in January, and so there were no grapes growing in the vineyard. It could have made for great pictures. But Lorenzo told us a lot about the whole process of growing high-quality grapes and processing them into good wine.
All in all it was a great experience and one that we will perhaps go for once more, but in the right season.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nileshh_JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent scenic view when tasting wine”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Scenery is good and the guide is very nice and friendly.
Apart from wine, their olive oil is excellent and taste strong, but limited supply, suggest you to purchase bottles if stock available.
If to plan a visit, reservation is required. For people who plan to walk there from Greve bus station, highly recommend to go uphill by car instead of walking, especially during summer/ hot season as the hill is very steep.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Explorer1hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I visited this winery on a tour with Slow Day in Tuscany with Simon and this was a highlight of my two weeks travelling throughout Italy. I was lucky enough to be there while they were finishing up harvesting and the entire vineyard is just beautiful. Fernando and his family were so welcoming and the everything from the wine to the food was delicious. I would highly recommend stopping here if given the opportunity, I know my visit will certainly not be my last.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montefioralle Winery also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Montefioralle Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing