We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best dinner experience during the entire chianti visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Borgo Antico

Il Borgo Antico
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Varese
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best dinner experience during the entire chianti visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We absolutely loved it.

Three different dishes 'tris di pasta' (starter for minimum 2) shared among our group were delicious. Tagliatelle with tartufo (truffle) was fantastic! The owner was our waiter for the evening and although the place was very busy, he was extremely attentive making sure we were enjoying ourselves. We were rather loud laughing and joking but we were still made feel very welcome.

Very memorable and lovely experience! The place in chianti not to be missed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NinaPasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    85
    18
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal of My Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Simple ingredients, homemade food, great wine, perfect atmosphere. Good prices. My wife and I came here on the recommendation of the inn keepers where we were staying in Greve in Chianti. I had Risotto with Gorgonzola and Pear and my wife had the Spinach Ravioli with spicy red sauce. the meal was OFF THE HOOK!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryno497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic lunch, the owner was very helpful.
The food was great and it was local produce which is fantastic to see it getting used in restaurants.
The wines were great as well.
I would go back for sure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank madkeenfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stopped at this picturesque place for afternoon snacks. Altho the service was excellent and the food very good, the prices were higher tha typical for the region. I would recommend continuing on to Greve or Figline Valderno for a meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Came back because we had a great meal in 2009 last item we were in greve. Food was ok this time, prices have done up by about 25%. Overall a big disappointment compared to last time. Oh,yeah. If you want decent seek d do not sit in the alcove next to the toilets

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peridotite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOGHI49, Proprietario at Il Borgo Antico, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Google Translation
Mi fa piacere che il mangiare sia stato di loro gradimento e per quanto riguarda i prezzi tengo a precisare che è dal 2008 che non abbiamo ritoccato i prezzi del menu inoltre non abbiamo nicchie vicino ai bagni ma due grandi sale e non siamo a Greve in Chianti ma sul Passo del Sugame e siamo qui dal 2013 può darsi che sia un altro ristorante
saluti
Stefano Fissi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Borgo Antico also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Borgo Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing