We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mi Casa!”
Review of Podere Campriano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Campriano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Podere Campriano is perhaps one of my favourite places in the world! I was welcomed by the Italian speaking Nonna, which made my day. The family run agriturismo is absolutely breathtaking and I felt like I had found a little slice of heaven. The apartment itself was perfect and exactly what I had been hoping for when I booked the accommodation. Podere Campriano is surrounded by vineyards and the family produce organic vino and olio from the property. The breakfast room was authentic with vino, olio and lovely wooden chopping boards for sale. The breakfast itself was delicious and Elena was happy to cater to any needs. I spent time by the pool with the lovely views to Greve, Chianti, and even had a picnic lunch organised by the family. The property is walking distance to the gorgeous Greve, Chianti. The shops are marvellous, with the famous butchery, and lovely restaurants. The town seems to have regular vintage car displays, which was also a highlight. Please also visit Castello di Verazzano, if you are a lover of vino for a tour and lunch. I cannot say enough about Podere Campriano and the town of Greve, Chianti. I hope to return to Mi Casa!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 114 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really, really loved Podere Campriano! The property is truly breathtakingly beautiful - olive trees, vineyards, rolling hills, hiking trails, etc. And, the guesthouse is lovely as well, with spacious, well decorated rooms (very clean too). The location is ideal - you can easily walk into the main square in Greve for dinner and drinks, or take a quick drive to any of the area vineyards, towns, etc.

Have I mentioned the breakfast yet?!? Lights out! The owner asks you to choose either a "sweet" (pastries, homemade jams, fruits) or "salty" (hard boiled eggs, homemade cured meats and cheeses) breakfast. We tried both, and really you can't go wrong. So, so yummy!

Elena and the rest of the family were so very kind as well. Elena is obviously passionate about the organic methods she uses on the vineyard, and is eager to share her profound knowledge for wine and olive oil making. I highly recommend signing up for a wine tasting with her - it's very instructional (and, the wine, olive oil and food are great).

Podere Campriano is truly a special, special place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked an apartment for our family of 3 adults, after seeing the reviews on TA. We chose this place for the convenience of being within walking distance of the town and not too far from the bus stop.

We found Elena's farm to be in a nice setting with a lovely view of the valley from the pool area. There's a separate under cover area on the level below where you can sit and enjoy a nice bottle of Elena's Chianti (thank you Elena for your gift of the wine). We rented the smaller apartment with a loft bedroom and a sofa bed on the lower level. It was very rustic and homely. There was a small fridge and tea & coffee facilities. Although glasses aren't provided, Elena will be more than happy to provide these if you ask her. The bathroom was modern, very clean and adequate (a hair dryer is provided).

Elena and her mother made us feel very welcome and were very helpful when ever we asked for anything. Elena even picked us up at the bus stop when we arrived which was more than helpful because we had several pieces of luggage. Thank you Elena for your fantastic service.

The breakfast provided is either a salty one of cold meat, cheese and boiled egg, or cake with homemade jams (delicious!), plus juice, fresh fruit, coffee and a selectionn of teas.

Although the walk into town is only 10 minutes away, if you are planning to stay here for a few days car hire is recommended. We found the very old town and its Square charming, with a nice selection of shops and restaurants. The Co-op supermarket nearby had a very good selection of alcoholic and food and the deli counter is particularly recommended. The staff were helpful when we explained what type of cold cuts & olives we wanted. You can also buy corkscrews in the Co-op for 1 Euro.

We enjoyed our short stay and chose the right place for its convenience.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs because you have knee problems then the Loft Room might not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinkumpomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Friends who stayed here in July highly recommended Podere Campriano to us, and my husband and I spent 5 nights here the end of September. The farm is absolutely charming, the grape harvest had just begun, and Elena and her family were wonderful. We loved our room, with the bed and armoire in the loft and a sofa bed, bathroom, TV, and small fridge on the bottom floor. Our windows looked out over Greve and its wonderful square. The breakfasts were beautiful, lots of ripe fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, baked specialties, great coffee and juice. We had lunch up the hill on the terrace one day and felt so at home. It was too cold to swim, but sitting by the pool and looking out over the countryside was most restful. We loved the town square and the restaurants were excellent, even the pizza place was good. The room was clean and Elena's mama freshened our room each day. We took the bus into Florence 3 days and really enjoyed Florence. Elena was an excellent source of info for Florence, the buses, etc. Mama and Papa didn't speak English, but they were very friendly and we enjoyed seeing them. I highly recommend this unique farm. The facility is absolutely secure, you have a remote to operate the gate to the farm, and in September, we were able to park on the square for dinner. There is a big parking lot a couple of blocks from the square if you can't. The younger guests walked down to the square for dinner or to catch the bus. We also loved the Coop (grocery store) and lovely shops in town.

Room Tip: We are a couple, so the room we had was large with a loft and we had a sitting area below, so was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonClaypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Campriano for 3 days and truly enjoyed our stay. Elena, her father Valerio and family are truly gracious hosts. Location is perfect, away from Greve yet still within walking distance. The walk through the vineyards is an experience in itself. The view from our bedroom was simply spectacular overlooking the Greve, the valley all the way to Montefiorale. The wine produced at Campriano is exceptional. For anyone looking for a true Tuscan experience, I would highly recommend Campriano.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaVinci63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We where here for two nights with our friends. Everything was great Elena and her family, breakfast, wine, pool area, Mose :-)... It was also nice to chat with other guests - good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerhiMarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Podere Campriano for 2 nights in January 2012. What a place! It's a working family farm, complete with vineyards and all, and Elena and her family welcomed us like we were part of the family. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, and most importantly for this time of year it had more than adequate heat! The breakfast offered was comprised of homemade sweets and was lovely, but since we wanted to also try a savory breakfast we asked Elena the day before, and this option was also very good. The view from the room and the property is panoramic, beautiful in the day and night. It's situated walking distance from the main town square, but it felt secluded enough for people who want peace and quiet. Thank you for everything, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
10 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vignamaggio
Vignamaggio
#2 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#1 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Campriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Campriano

Address: Viale Rosa Libri 36/a, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $134 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Podere Campriano 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Campriano is a little family winery in the earth of Chianti Classico area. The farm is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves owned, nestled in the quiet Tuscan countryside. In 5 minutes walk you can reach the village of Greve in Chianti and within a few minutes drive you can visit cities like Florence and Siena. Guests can choose different accommodation, suites are rooms on two floors, the ground floor is a lounge and first floor mezzanine the master bedroom; Pilu's apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. the standard double bedroom Loggia, smaller but with all comforts and the new apartment Serra with independent entrance and private garden. During their stay, guests can participate cooking classes an amazing experience to understand and taste the Tuscany cooking. We need a minimum of 4 participants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere Campriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Campriano Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing