We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and homely”
Review of Podere Campriano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Campriano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and homely”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked an apartment for our family of 3 adults, after seeing the reviews on TA. We chose this place for the convenience of being within walking distance of the town and not too far from the bus stop.

We found Elena's farm to be in a nice setting with a lovely view of the valley from the pool area. There's a separate under cover area on the level below where you can sit and enjoy a nice bottle of Elena's Chianti (thank you Elena for your gift of the wine). We rented the smaller apartment with a loft bedroom and a sofa bed on the lower level. It was very rustic and homely. There was a small fridge and tea & coffee facilities. Although glasses aren't provided, Elena will be more than happy to provide these if you ask her. The bathroom was modern, very clean and adequate (a hair dryer is provided).

Elena and her mother made us feel very welcome and were very helpful when ever we asked for anything. Elena even picked us up at the bus stop when we arrived which was more than helpful because we had several pieces of luggage. Thank you Elena for your fantastic service.

The breakfast provided is either a salty one of cold meat, cheese and boiled egg, or cake with homemade jams (delicious!), plus juice, fresh fruit, coffee and a selectionn of teas.

Although the walk into town is only 10 minutes away, if you are planning to stay here for a few days car hire is recommended. We found the very old town and its Square charming, with a nice selection of shops and restaurants. The Co-op supermarket nearby had a very good selection of alcoholic and food and the deli counter is particularly recommended. The staff were helpful when we explained what type of cold cuts & olives we wanted. You can also buy corkscrews in the Co-op for 1 Euro.

We enjoyed our short stay and chose the right place for its convenience.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs because you have knee problems then the Loft Room might not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinkumpomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park Hills, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Friends who stayed here in July highly recommended Podere Campriano to us, and my husband and I spent 5 nights here the end of September. The farm is absolutely charming, the grape harvest had just begun, and Elena and her family were wonderful. We loved our room, with the bed and armoire in the loft and a sofa bed, bathroom, TV, and small fridge on the bottom floor. Our windows looked out over Greve and its wonderful square. The breakfasts were beautiful, lots of ripe fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, baked specialties, great coffee and juice. We had lunch up the hill on the terrace one day and felt so at home. It was too cold to swim, but sitting by the pool and looking out over the countryside was most restful. We loved the town square and the restaurants were excellent, even the pizza place was good. The room was clean and Elena's mama freshened our room each day. We took the bus into Florence 3 days and really enjoyed Florence. Elena was an excellent source of info for Florence, the buses, etc. Mama and Papa didn't speak English, but they were very friendly and we enjoyed seeing them. I highly recommend this unique farm. The facility is absolutely secure, you have a remote to operate the gate to the farm, and in September, we were able to park on the square for dinner. There is a big parking lot a couple of blocks from the square if you can't. The younger guests walked down to the square for dinner or to catch the bus. We also loved the Coop (grocery store) and lovely shops in town.

Room Tip: We are a couple, so the room we had was large with a loft and we had a sitting area below, so was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonClaypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Campriano for 3 days and truly enjoyed our stay. Elena, her father Valerio and family are truly gracious hosts. Location is perfect, away from Greve yet still within walking distance. The walk through the vineyards is an experience in itself. The view from our bedroom was simply spectacular overlooking the Greve, the valley all the way to Montefiorale. The wine produced at Campriano is exceptional. For anyone looking for a true Tuscan experience, I would highly recommend Campriano.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaVinci63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We where here for two nights with our friends. Everything was great Elena and her family, breakfast, wine, pool area, Mose :-)... It was also nice to chat with other guests - good atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerhiMarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Podere Campriano for 2 nights in January 2012. What a place! It's a working family farm, complete with vineyards and all, and Elena and her family welcomed us like we were part of the family. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, and most importantly for this time of year it had more than adequate heat! The breakfast offered was comprised of homemade sweets and was lovely, but since we wanted to also try a savory breakfast we asked Elena the day before, and this option was also very good. The view from the room and the property is panoramic, beautiful in the day and night. It's situated walking distance from the main town square, but it felt secluded enough for people who want peace and quiet. Thank you for everything, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Walking up the trail to the saltwater pool the scent in the air was pure rosemary wafting from the perfectly trimmed hedges lining the path. If it sounds a little too prim, it wasn't. This was purely rustic, Tuscan charm. My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of an adventurous two weeks in Italy. The view from the pool took our breaths away.
I cannot say enough about the family. They were so kind and fun and seemed to figure out how to live their lives with strangers in their midst. Elena's mother found me bumbling around the courtyard looking for someone to help me find a knife. They gifted us a bottle of really excellent Chianti Classico which they make on the property.
Here's the thing: I really disliked Greve. It was so commercialized...like the Disney version of Italy. We had a tragic dinner experience there. So it says a lot about Podere Campriano that I would consider staying there again on my next trip. I just loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Myself and 2 children stayed at Elena's beautiful farmhouse for 5 nights in June. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which had a king size bed upstairs with a beautiful timber bedhead, and a sofa bed and small bathroom downstairs. This apartment would be best for a couple, or family with 1 child.It was very clean and had a gorgeous window with shutters we would watch the sunset from( one both upstairs and downstairs).
The pool area is absolutely stunning. We loved being out for the day and them coming back for a swim in the afternoon and relaxing in such a peaceful area with spectacular views of Tuscany. There is so much room up there for kids to play, my son would play soccer up there every afternoon and swim to cool down.
The breakfasts are served in the old cellar building and are also a highlight of the stay. The room upon entering the building, and 2 breakfast rooms either side of it are beautifully presented and it was a pleasure to sit there every morning and eat the beautiful home made breakfasts prepared by Elena.
Elena was extremely helpful with information about Tuscany and even helped us find our personal navigators to San Gimignano, an Italian couple who were also staying at the farmhouse and were planning a visit on the same day us.She also organized car hire for us and had the car waiting at the farmhouse so we didn't have to bother with pickups and drop offs.
Elena's mother also works at the farmhouse and she was an absolute delight. Myself and 2 children really warmed to her and enjoyed trying to communicate to each other when we would see her sweeping the property and keeping it in beautiful condition.
This was my son's favorite Italian accommodation, and equal favorite ( week in seaside Sorrento) for my daughter and I.We were away for 5 wks so stayed in many locations but this was hard to beat!

Room Tip: 1 bedroom ideal for couple, try 2 bedroom for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#2 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#2 of 59 in Greve in Chianti
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti
Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariott...
#11 of 59 in Greve in Chianti
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Campriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Campriano

Property: Podere Campriano
Address: Viale Rosa Libri 36/a, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Podere Campriano 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Campriano is a little family winery in the earth of Chianti Classico area. The farm is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves owned, nestled in the quiet Tuscan countryside. In 5 minutes walk you can reach the village of Greve in Chianti and within a few minutes drive you can visit cities like Florence and Siena. Guests can choose different accommodation, suites are rooms on two floors, the ground floor is a lounge and first floor mezzanine the master bedroom; Pilu's apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. the standard double bedroom Loggia, smaller but with all comforts and the new apartment Serra with independent entrance and private garden. During their stay, guests can participate cooking classes an amazing experience to understand and taste the Tuscany cooking. We need a minimum of 4 participants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere Campriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Campriano Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing