We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. As always!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa il Castellaccio
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times, with family three times and with friends twice. Four times I have stayed at the large villa, and once in one of the smaller apartments at the back fo the property. Both are comfortable, the location is outstanding, and the hosts accommodating and friendly. I would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: The villa is great for groups -- five "master" bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zabella10265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just stayed one week in this fantastic villa. We were 12 persons, and this is an ideal place to stay for several families jointly. The villa is spacious with plenty of common areas. The kitchen with access to the pool areas is on the bottom floor. We had our dinners outside, except one chilly evening. There is space for all 12 of us to eat at the same time, either outside by the pool or inside by a huge fireplace. We used the chef service for the first two evenings, which was excellent.

The kids loved the pool, although it is not heated, so can be a bit cold at times, even though it was very warm in the air (above 35 degrees) several days. The place is ideal for day trips to surrounding places, including both Florence and Sienna, plus numerous other small scenic villages. We BBQ'ed a couple of evenings. Buy meat at the famous butcher in Greve. I can also recommend the Cantina under the supermarket in Greve. Fantastic place for buying - and tasting wine. We drank plenty.

As the previous reviewer wrote, the place has no air-conditioning, so it can get very warm in the nights. Even though we tried to keep windows closed during daytime, as suggested, it still was too hot to sleep comfortably. This is the only thing that reduces my rating front top score. But I would gladly go back to this place, and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: It can get very hot at night in the two top floor (under the roof) sleeping rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eskimoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a week at the villa with 11 family members, kids and adults .

The location is just stunning, with views of the hills and vineyards that ensure you really feel you are in the heart of Chianti. We went for early morning walks and runs in the hills/forests and as well as the tranquil scenery enjoyed seeing deer and wild boar with piglets.

The villa is extremely spacious and beautifully furnished (some lovely antiques) with large bedrooms and generous bathrooms and masses of lounge space (formal and casual). Kitchen and dining downstairs is large

The pool whilst not as large or deep as the photos suggest was a godsend for cooling off and relaxing around and we made good use of the wood barbeque.

There are so many fantastic places to see both locally and further afield, and we found the week shot by having taken in Pisa/Lucca, Florence, Siena/Monteriggioni/San Gimignano and Greve/Panzano. The dirt road to Greve is worth doing, great views and less windy corners.

Leonardo was very helpful and responsive to all our queries and requests and provided great information and recommendations. We particularly enjoyed the Tuscan dinner cooked by the chef he recommended -a real treat and a memorable evening. I do hope he does follow up on our suggestion of providing plastic tumblers for use around the pool area, as our daughter cut her foot on some glass from a previous guests breakage.

It was very hot whilst we were there (37 degrees for a number of days) -apparently not typical and we did find it hot at night, particularly the top rooms, with no airconditioning or fans .This lowered our rating as we had a few sleepless nights. Leonardo did howver provide some fans after our request.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank mtbashf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Since writing the initial review of this property in 2008, we have now returned 9 more times! Every visit reveals how well maintained it is and how the owners are investing in improvements, even in a difficult financial environment. The beauty of the location and friendly, helpful owner and his assistant still remain the main attraction, though. We have visited all times of the year except for winter and are now considering that for 2013. We have stayed in the fantastic villa twice with groups we put together, but usually stay in one of the apartments as a small group or just the two of us as all of the apartments are great. Try it, I guarantee you'll want to come back, too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff_in_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We travelled by car from Rome to Villa Il Castellaccio. We had a group of 5 x couples. The villa exceeded all our expectations. The bedrooms were large and comfortable. The bathrooms were modern and clean. The kitchen and meals area seated us all with room to spare. Photos don't do this place justice. It was the highlight of our Italy "road trip". The villa is ideally located, close to all the small villages in Chianti area. We had a chef come and cook us a meal, and what a fantastic experience. Try the restaurant at Lucolena, just down the road, worth the trip. My only complaint is now that I have praised the villa, it might not be available for me to re-book. Try it, you won't regret your stay.

Room Tip: Ideal for large groups of friends or a large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our group of 8 enjoyed the utmost in hospitality and beautiful surroundings at Villa il Castellaccio! Our proprietor, Leonardo took our holiday very seriously and made certain that we had everything we needed and access to all services including a wine tasting on the property, a private tour of Tuscany with a wonderful tour guide for our group of 8, and a private chef to cook us a wonderful dinner! An authentic Tuscan experience, making us want to come back for the harvest in the Fall! Great value especially for a large group such as ours!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaBlume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed on property in June 2011 and loved everything about our stay. The accomodations were exactly what we expected; comfortable, fully equipped and unique to the location. The setting was pituresque--olive groves and vineyards everywhere. The owners were very kind and helpful. This stop on our Italian vacation was our favorite, we stayed 7 nights. We arrived by car from Rome and took daytrips to neighboring villages. It was a fabulaous vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
5.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
577 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#1 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Ghiandaia
La Ghiandaia
#28 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Vignamaggio
Villa Vignamaggio
#2 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Castellaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Castellaccio

Address: Lucolena di sotto | Lucolena, 50020, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $41 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic location in the heart of Chianti at Lucolena near Greve, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, Villa il Castellaccio makes an ideal homebase for relaxing in the quiet of nature but also being near to famous Tuscan cities: Florence, Siena, SanGimignano, Arezzo it’s great for day trips ,exploring medieval villages along the way. The Structure has a Villa with a private garden and pool and 4 apartments sharing another terrace and pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Il Castellaccio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing