We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in the heart of Chianti”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa il Castellaccio
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Villa il Castellaccio is perfectly located in central Tuscany. This made it convenient for day trips to places like Sienna, San Gimignano, Montevarchi, Greve and Florence. The Villa is only a short drive to the station in Figline where you can catch the train to Florence.
Roxana and Leonardo were fantastic, friendly hosts and always willing to help.
If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, clean and friendly place to stay, I would definately recommend Villa il Castellaccio.
Thank you Leonardo and Roxana for making our stay that much more memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWJBLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

This Villa is superbly located between Firenza and Siena and provides a great home base to explore the Chianti region. Leonardo and Roxanne are exceptional hosts and the accommodations are first rate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just returned from a week at Villa Castellaccio. We choose this property for its central location and it was a home run.

Located in the heart of Tuscany we were able to make day trips visiting many surrounding areas including Florence, Sienna, Lucca, Assisi, Greve, and a few other very interesting areas on the way. The local restaurant in Dudda was enjoyable and we were able to get all our supplies in their little market.

The Villa itself was spacious, clean and well maintained. Leonardo and Roxanna helped us arrange tour guides, cooking lessons and dinner reservations. They were very helpful but not intrusive.

The setting of the Villa is breath taking and peaceful. If your thinking of a Tuscan get-away and can picture the tranquility of rolling hills and friendly people then Villa Castellaccio is the choice for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We really loved this place for it's quietness and excellent appointment of our apartment. It was the cleanest accommodation I've witnessed bar top hotels and Leonardo & Roxanna were so helpful and accomodating. We really enjoyed relaxing by the pool (which is huge) after lots of sightseeing in Rome we were ready to step it down a notch knowing we had lots of business ahead. And although fully booked it was very quiet and many days we had the place to ourselves. We enjoyed the wine tasting & history lesson with Leonardo (a must do) and learned a lot about the origins of the villa which was fascinating. Would highly recommend this place for couples like us or families or big groups as they cater for everyone. A real gem!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

It was so nice to leave the July crowds of Florence or San Gimignano and return each day to such a beautiful home set in the vineyard-covered hills of Tuscany. The villa was in a great central location so it was easy to explore Florence, Sienna, Arezzo and the many Tuscan hilltowns (favorites were Montepulciano and Volterra). Leonardo and Roxanne could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They made reservations for us at some wonderful restaurants that we would never have found on our own. I would definitely recommend this villa.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Great Location - walk to town (Locolena) - 1/2 hour - shows better than the pictures.
Quiet spot - but driving distance to villages for shopping - catching the train to Florence.
Large rooms and ensuite baths. Owner and Manager were quite accommodating. Scenery was breath-taking. Would highly recommend it. Would love to go back some day. Great spot for a group vacation. 5 bedroom villa with all private baths. Large kitchen and dining room. Wonderful outside pool area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayntoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The short version: Absolutely beautiful! Great place for 4 or 5 people- couldn't ask for more! Downside: Although only 8 km from Greve and Figline, the winding roads make that a 15 minute drive; smaller bedroom has two twin beds, at opposite ends of the room (although that could be a positive for some!)
My wife and I, and another couple, stayed in Villa il Castellaccio's apartment 3 for the week ending June 4. The place is absolutely gorgeous! The villa overlooks a valley filled with vineyards and olive groves, with a view for miles up and down the valley. Apartment 3 enjoys a huge covered private terrace, but all 4 apartments have access to two other terraces, as well as the large pool area and the indoor brick oven and barbecue. The apartment itself was far larger than I had expected based on the pictures on the website- the first floor features a large, eat-in kitchen with table and chairs; a combined living/dining room with a more formal dining table and chairs, as well as couch and upholstered chairs; a large master bedroom with double bed; and two full bathrooms. The dining room hutch includes a "mini-bar", stocked with wine, grappa and olive oil, all from the estate, at prices no higher than at the grocery store. Upstairs there is a smaller bedroom with twin beds, and an adjoining bathroom with shower. Despite all the space inside, we spent most of our time sitting on the terrace, thanks to the perfect weather all week.
The villa is part of a working winery (production is now located a few kilometres away), and houses a museum demonstrating wine and olive oil production "much times ago". A must during a stay is to book a tour and wine-tasting with Leonardo, the current- and at least least third generation- owner and vintner. Leonardo is most friendly and helpful, and extremely passionate about wine!
To sum it up, our week at Villa il Castellaccio exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
5.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
577 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#1 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Ghiandaia
La Ghiandaia
#28 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Vignamaggio
Villa Vignamaggio
#2 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Castellaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Castellaccio

Address: Lucolena di sotto | Lucolena, 50020, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $41 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic location in the heart of Chianti at Lucolena near Greve, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, Villa il Castellaccio makes an ideal homebase for relaxing in the quiet of nature but also being near to famous Tuscan cities: Florence, Siena, SanGimignano, Arezzo it’s great for day trips ,exploring medieval villages along the way. The Structure has a Villa with a private garden and pool and 4 apartments sharing another terrace and pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Il Castellaccio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing