We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected - careful with the reviews”
Review of Poggio Asciutto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poggio Asciutto
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I hate to be the one spoiling the string of enthusiastic reviews. The place's own website does not offer much information, so we made the reservation based on the Tripadvisor reviews. We were on a family trip, and booked an apartment for 6. When we arrived we were disappointed by the apartment, which had 2 of us sleeping in a separate room and the 4 kids on the upper floor of a second unit. It was anything but the warm family experience we were hoping for. We decided to leave the next day, apologized and even offered to pay for an extra night. The reaction was not understanding and almost hostile. Most unprofessional. Even with our limited agroturismo experience, I just don't get the reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HYNDOsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Poggio for four nights. We had a relaxing carefree time there. Massimo and Eva are very friendly and make you feel like home. Massimo is an excellent cooker. I suggest you try his tuscan cuisine. We also had the experience of horse riding through the beautiful vineyards. Poggio Asciutto is near the city of Greve. It's location is excelllent since you can easily go from there to the most famous toscan towns and villages.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Beautiful place, nice surroundings, warm hosts, great food, comfortable rooms, a really authentic agrituristic experience. Eva and Massimo thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polydoroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our extended family stayed here for a week at the end of July and we thought Poggio Asciutto was excellent. It is in an excellent location outside Greve in Chianti and gives an ideal base for touring the region. The apartments, pool etc are of a really good standard but what makes Poggio Asciutto stand out is the hospitality and friendliness of Massimo, Eva and Olivia. They make you feel very comfortable and are very welcoming. We really enjoyed our two dinners with them and some of the other guests, eating great local food and drinking their wonderful Chianti.
Another real bonus for us was that Eva is a qualified riding instructor and has 5 horses. Both our daughter who is an experienced rider and the one who is a novice loved riding with Eva through the vineyards.
As a result of staying here and at La Bruciata in Montepulciano, we are a convert to Agroturismos. They are an excellent compromise between a hotel and self catering.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great place for a family stay.
Excellent location, lots of options for a day trip.
Good swimming pool, horse riding.
Eva and massimo are doing there best to make your stay enjoyable.
We want to come back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

i discovered Poggio Asciutto by chance - my granddaughter is crazy about horses and i accompanied her on one of Eva's one-hour horse riding tours through the chianti countryside - and yes we rode through the vines, olive trees, rolling hills and valleys and saw a deer and a hawk and let our horses drink from the crystal clear stream that becomes the Greve river ......and that's when I realized that Poggio Asciutto is a unique gem because in addition to beautifully-maintained, attractive accommodation in the most splendid, unspoiled countryside imaginable, guests have the opportunity to enjoy a real-life, rural chianti experience, on an estate that produces its own olive oil,preserves and cuisine

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank shelleydipanzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We had a lovely stay at Poggio Asciutto 24-25 Oktober. The hosts Eva and Massimo made it perpect for us with delicious home cooked food and winetasting of their own ecological wine. (We saw that the hosts arranged birthday parties for locals at their citchen of Poggio Asciutto when we came. And that is the best sign for a good local kitchen-restaurant). It was a perpect place for both relaxation at thier place and exploration of Greve and Chianti. For example: We walked too the famous landmark Castello di Vignamaggio winery (the birth place of Mona Lisa) in few minutes. Thanks too Eva og Massimo for their great hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elpedr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
0.6 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#1 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
222 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
501 reviews
3 mi away
Rifugium
Rifugium
#1 of 1 in Casole
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
459 reviews
5.2 mi away
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
Agriturismo Villa il Leccio
#1 of 4 in Strada in Chianti
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio Asciutto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Asciutto

Address: Via Montagliari 40 | Greve in Chianti, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $47 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Asciutto is an ancient stone-built house, recently restored to conserve its rural appearance. The farmhouse accomodates guests in tastefully furnisched rooms and apartments.Poggio Asciutto is the perfect place for anyone who wishes to spend a restful holiday in a Family atmosphere while at the same time, taking the oppurtunity of a short day-trips to the beatiful art cities and historical villages of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poggio Asciutto Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing