We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, beautiful people”
Review of Poggio Asciutto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poggio Asciutto
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Beautiful place, nice surroundings, warm hosts, great food, comfortable rooms, a really authentic agrituristic experience. Eva and Massimo thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polydoroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our extended family stayed here for a week at the end of July and we thought Poggio Asciutto was excellent. It is in an excellent location outside Greve in Chianti and gives an ideal base for touring the region. The apartments, pool etc are of a really good standard but what makes Poggio Asciutto stand out is the hospitality and friendliness of Massimo, Eva and Olivia. They make you feel very comfortable and are very welcoming. We really enjoyed our two dinners with them and some of the other guests, eating great local food and drinking their wonderful Chianti.
Another real bonus for us was that Eva is a qualified riding instructor and has 5 horses. Both our daughter who is an experienced rider and the one who is a novice loved riding with Eva through the vineyards.
As a result of staying here and at La Bruciata in Montepulciano, we are a convert to Agroturismos. They are an excellent compromise between a hotel and self catering.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great place for a family stay.
Excellent location, lots of options for a day trip.
Good swimming pool, horse riding.
Eva and massimo are doing there best to make your stay enjoyable.
We want to come back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

i discovered Poggio Asciutto by chance - my granddaughter is crazy about horses and i accompanied her on one of Eva's one-hour horse riding tours through the chianti countryside - and yes we rode through the vines, olive trees, rolling hills and valleys and saw a deer and a hawk and let our horses drink from the crystal clear stream that becomes the Greve river ......and that's when I realized that Poggio Asciutto is a unique gem because in addition to beautifully-maintained, attractive accommodation in the most splendid, unspoiled countryside imaginable, guests have the opportunity to enjoy a real-life, rural chianti experience, on an estate that produces its own olive oil,preserves and cuisine

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank shelleydipanzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We had a lovely stay at Poggio Asciutto 24-25 Oktober. The hosts Eva and Massimo made it perpect for us with delicious home cooked food and winetasting of their own ecological wine. (We saw that the hosts arranged birthday parties for locals at their citchen of Poggio Asciutto when we came. And that is the best sign for a good local kitchen-restaurant). It was a perpect place for both relaxation at thier place and exploration of Greve and Chianti. For example: We walked too the famous landmark Castello di Vignamaggio winery (the birth place of Mona Lisa) in few minutes. Thanks too Eva og Massimo for their great hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elpedr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I could not recommend this place more. Eva and Massimo were amazing hosts, the place is so beautiful, the room we had comfortable and cozy, food delicious! Our only regret was not having an entire week with them!

Really - they were so welcoming and friendly, great at recommending places to go, setting up a wine tasting, and sending us down crazy dirt roads to beautiful walled cities (Thanks Eva - we thought we were lost for a bit!) I also went horseback riding with Eva - it was a fabulous evening ride through the vineyards! (PS they speak English very well - in addition to Swedish and Portuguese and who knows what else).

And - there place is so perfect, with amazing views, you'll need a day just to hang out and take it all in!

I also highly recommend at least one dinner with them. Massimo is a great cook, and we loved eating with other guests - and having their daughter, Olivia, there to entertain us! Also, don't forget to check out their cellar - this is a working farm! The peach marmalade and olive oil are awesome!

I would recommend this gem to ANYONE and hope hope hope to be back!

Also - 10 mins to Greve, the drive is easy.

THANK YOU MASSIMO, EVA, AND OLIVIA!!

Emily

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great food and Wine was served every day!
Nice and friendly ownerfamily. Verry personal and friendly reception.Nice flats and rooms. Even the wether was nice.
We picked gapes to the wine for 2012. We will come back soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 189852Cecilia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
0.4 mi away
Il Santo
Il Santo
#21 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#1 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Podere Campriano
Podere Campriano
#3 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Il Palagio di Panzano
Agriturismo Il Palagio di Panzan...
#3 of 12 in Panzano in Chianti
50 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Vignamaggio
Villa Vignamaggio
#2 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
331 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rifugium
Rifugium
#1 of 1 in Casole
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio Asciutto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Asciutto

Address: Via Montagliari 40 | Greve in Chianti, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $47 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Asciutto is an ancient stone-built house, recently restored to conserve its rural appearance. The farmhouse accomodates guests in tastefully furnisched rooms and apartments.Poggio Asciutto is the perfect place for anyone who wishes to spend a restful holiday in a Family atmosphere while at the same time, taking the oppurtunity of a short day-trips to the beatiful art cities and historical villages of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poggio Asciutto Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing