We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful setting in tuscan countryside but lacked amentities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fattoria Pagnana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Pagnana
Certificate of Excellence
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“beautiful setting in tuscan countryside but lacked amentities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom top floor "cottage" for our family of 5. The place was very nice but definately needed some new amenities for the price and quality expected. The big problem was there is no air- conditioning, which in August, is an issue. We would have loved a fan or two--how costly could that be??? but had to deal with just the fresh air and occasional breezes however the mosquitos were vicious so it was very hard to open the windows and doors without being swarmed. We had to leave the lights off in the evening--no joke--as to not attract too many bugs inside. We immediatley went to the local supermarket to buy bug candles to light outside so we could dine alfresco. But that did not help our situation inside. We got eaten alive. It would be nice if the Fattoria would provide a bug candle but also mosquito netting or screens for the bad buggy months.
Also, the kitchen was very lacking with cooking utensils. We had no oven, which was a surprise, but not a huge issue as we had a BBQ. However, inside, there was no kettle, no potholders, only a few knives, no dish rack so we piled the wet dishes all over the counter etc. We did have a toaster but many of our neighbors did not. No salt & pepper & dish soap was also a real pain. I think they could put the salt/pep in the refrigerator if they are worried about bugs. Many places we stayed across Italy had condiments in their cupboards and we appreciated it! Also, it was very hard to find charcoal as many stores were sold out. We were almost not able to use our BBQ and cook our big steaks until we tried one last hardware store and bought the last bag. I am sure the Fattoria has charcoal and salt/pepper etc from when guests leave, as we left plenty. It would be nice if they offered these items to new guests who wanted it.
One last negative: our bedroom window was upstairs and our neighbors would often sit outside their side of the cottage and drink and smoke and chat to all hours. We had to have some air in the bedroom so had to leave the wooden shutters open a bit or would have died. Needless to say it was hard to sleep. Then sometimes in the morning when we were trying to sleep-in, they would get up early to catch a train or whatever and would be talking and banging around. We didn't want to say anything and cause a rift with our neighbors but it would be nice if there were some general rules posted about this sort of thing.
We did love the setting and the area is not far from Florence and Siena and there is loads of space for the kids to run around and play without worry. There is a swing set and tennis court and ping pong table. The Pool was very nice although loaded with WASPS--i would suggest some sort of wasp/hornet catchers/deterrents.
The other big issue is the lack of WIFI. It is available at the main office area but this is not convenient and many of us do have to do a bit of work on holiday, check in with family via email, or book museums online [a must!] so Wifi should be installed at all cottages. Their complimentary wine tasting was very nice and they even let the kids come and have juice. All in all it was a nice place but needs some updating.

Room Tip: EVery apt is different, so if you want an oven or more of a private place or close to pool, be speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingnomad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fattoria-pagnana-web, Responsabile reception at Fattoria Pagnana, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We have well noted all your suggestions, and we will improve thanks to your testimony our flats in the best possible way, in order to have a better service for our guests.
We thank you also for the compliments concerning our wine tasting and the swimming pool area.

Nevertheless we would like to point out that we wrote clearly since you booked that our flats have not any air-conditioning, but no one has ever complained about the heat, because our apartments are located in old stone houses with very thick walls renovated, and inside the temperature never rises too much, even in summer.
For security reasons, we do not put the fans in the flats because they could pose a hazard especially for children.

Every season, we do a minimum of three spraying to ward off insects such as mosquitoes, flies and wasps, but being in the countryside, in summer, it is possible that they prove a greater presence.

We are obliged by Italian law, for sanitary reasons, to throw everything in the apartment from one host to another, therefore there will never be possible to keep leftovers or anything else of any kind.

Since our guests do check in, they receive a list with the general rules for their stay and inside it is also written to look up to other Guests, respect everybody’s spaces and observe night time peace.

If your neighbors were so rude you would have to inform our reception staff, they have done well to speak with them in a friendly and polite way.

We do not have a WI FI in all apartments, but the service is functional at the reception and in case of real need our staff is always well prepared to help our guests to book for museums, restaurants and so on.

We are in any case glad that you found our farmhouse a nice place to spend holidays and we hope to see you again in order to show you the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    37
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have used self catering many times. Therefore I have sympathy with, and can relate to some of the comments highlighted in other reviews. However, I can only report on what we found and say that we would happily return (but see the caveat which comes later!) First of all the setting is superb. While we were there it was tranquil and relaxing. The pool by Il Borgo (where our apartment was located) was very clean and very well maintained as were the grounds, with shaded car parking just outside the gated accommodation area. There were plenty of places to sit outside and eat. Our apartment was small but clean (ideal for 2 as advertised). It had only the 'very basics' for food cooking - with the proviso that the 1 chopping board was smaller than a place mat with no where else to 'hold' food before cooking and the 2 cooking knives would have struggled, even if hot, when tackling butter! We were disappointed for there not be any salt and pepper supplied (never had to buy condiments before)! Neither was there any washing up liquid or other cleaning materials (never had to buy them either)! Their justification for this situation is something with which I can sympathise, but... Moving on, we had a problem with an outside light while we there and they could not have been faster at getting it fixed, calling the maintenance person while we still described which light wasn't working and within 5 minutes it was sorted! As for another reviewer's comment re the wines, I don't know which wine they had but the ones we bought were good to fantastic and their olive oil was good too. Would we return? Yes, and here's the promised caveat: accompanied by salt, pepper & enough washing up liquid for our stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooManyTA_Profiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fattoria-pagnana-web, Responsabile reception at Fattoria Pagnana, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
We would like to thank you very much for the compliments given to us as well as to our farmhouse and to our local products (wine and oil) that we produce with care and love since many years.
We have also well noted the suggestions you have given to us, even if we have never put in the kitchen salt & pepper due to sanitation issues also.
We try normally to satisfy our guests in the best possible way and it can happen that we rent a larger apartment than booked without asking for more money.
We hope to welcome you at Fattoria Pagnana again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

After reading the previous reviews, we were a little worried, however our fears were quickly allayed after arriving at Fattoria Pagnana. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was very spacious. The furniture in the living room was basic but functional, and the kitchen while old and small was perfectly adequate with plenty of cooking utensils, a microwave, electric jug and 4 gas hotplates. Internet is available at reception and the swimming pool area was lovely. The location is good for all of the Tuscan sights and really we felt that it offered good value for money, and had a great week there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csjwglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We arrived for a week commencing Sunday 29th August 2010 we had booked the smallest and cheapest apartment and paid for a single bed to be put in the one bedroom for our thirteen yr old daughter
Prior to our arrival all our queries were very efficiently and helpfully dealt with by the booking manager Claudia who also reassured us re our concerns about the previous reviews iro cleanliness
The location is absolutely superb the countryside is stunning, our apartment was spotlessly clean on arrival, the furniture is basic but the beds were v comfortable and the bathroom functional with hot water for showers always available and as advised the toilet and cooker & microwave were completely clean
The pool area is great, lovely views and plenty of sun beds
The area is perfect for visting Siena Florence Pisa & our favourite Lucca
At night our apartment was cool and very quiet
Everybody in Regnano was friendly and the local cafes great value for money
Overall yes the apartment was basic and lacked a sofa and comfortable chairs but we booked the smallest and the cheapest and what we paid represented excellent value for money
As a family we would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidWoolfordFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in August for a relaxing break. We were put in touch with Villa Pagnana after enquiring about a stay in Villa Cafaggiolo and it was talked-up to be beautiful with a good array of services. Unfortunately it wasn't everything it was cracked up to be. The farmhouse and estate is undoubtedly stunning and lovely to walk around with beautiful olive groves and vineyards but the accommodation and services were poor. We were stuck in a tiny, upstairs apartment with very few basic facilities and in the heat of August, no fan! This was unbearable and after complaining we were given a semi-decent fan which just about kept it bearable as we had to sleep in the car on the first night due to the stifling heat and no air conditioning! The apartment itself and the toilet/shower in particular were not very clean, despite the cleaning charge one has to pay on departure. We also had an infestation of ants during our stay. We were also told in advance that we could hire bicycles at the villa which was not the case and the pool tended to be over-run by other holiday-makers.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Col&Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed at Villa Pagnana for one week with my mum. I used ownersdirect.co.uk, where I'd found the property using the Internet access criteria, since this was essential for keeping up with my work. After contacting Mr Pucci, I was told there was no Internet access in the accommodation, but maybe some arrangement was possible with the reception computer (I was also indicated 2 Internet cafés in Rignano and Pontassieve, but it turned out the former was closed after high season, and the latter I never found despite asking several locals).
When we arrived, the setting was beautiful, olive trees, cypress trees, friendly welcome by Claudia. The place is very quiet and the outside pool area around the flat is very well kept. It all looked promising (like the photos suggested)
The inside was disappointing in many aspects: for one, the furnishing were not as charming as the description leads you to believe, but not a major drawback. However, for a self-catering place, quite a lot to complain about: no oven, no kettle, one bedside lamp for 2 beds, holes in the bedsheet, VERY soft beds, no bowls, no gloves for holding hot saucepan handles (used a small cup to fill mugs (which we bought) with hot water from the saucepan - practical!), no jug, very little cuttlery. Lighting in the evening was poor if you wanted to read. No telephone, even to call reception (and it's a good 5min walk one way to get there), only a few Italian channels on the tv, with bad reception (not essential when we were there, though if it had rained...). Also, despite the fact you are asked to pay 20 euros for final cleaning, the place was not clean to an acceptable standard (I never sneezed so much inside a house in Autumn...).
When coming back at night, there seemed to be plenty of outside lighting to guide you back, though none was ever lit.
I ended up close to an argument about the Internet situation, but found it easier to get to a café in florence or Siena to get things done, though Claudia (one of the 2, the other being highly negative and unhelpful) was kind enough to let me use the reception computer on a couple of occasions for urgent emails.
Also, we asked for a couple of wine glasses, since there were some house wine bottles for purchase in the flat (I recommend you buy some in a different place, further South in the actual Chianti area, as the white was average, and the red less than average - Greve in Chianti has a place called La Cantine by the Coop, where you can taste many Italian wines with a card system), and were surprisingly told that in Italy, people don't drink wine in wine glasses, just in normal glasses...?!? Still, we got the glasses!
Anyway, this didn't take away the pleasure of visiting the beautiful cities of Florence (tip: free parking on Michaelangelo piazza on top of the hill, if space available), Siena, and the surrounding area. But personally I won't be going back to Villa Pagnana, unless the service really improves, and what you are supposed to get is there.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

My Husband and I recently stayed at a Vineyard in the middle of Tuscany, the setting was sooooo beautiful it was like a film set, we approached our apartment along a cyprus tree lined gravel drive and I instantly fell in love, there were fields and feilds of vines and olive trees everywhere surrounding us, the air was perfumed with wine and olives and Autumn, it truly was divine.
The only downside was the accomodation, althought the setting and outside areas were stunning the apartments themselves were dirty and very basic to say the least, we didn't have a kettle or an oven and we were supposed to be self-catering, however there is an electric hob and a microwave.
The nearest village is left at the end of the drive, Rignano is 2km away and has a good supermarket there which is really reasonable.
There aren't really many restaurants locally as is really remote, so be warned to stock up your provisions.
Florence only half an hour away on the train from Rignano.
Would definately go back, but would take cleaning products with me.
Enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigetteJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rignano sull'Arno
4.0 mi away
Fattoria degli Usignoli
Fattoria degli Usignoli
#1 of 1 in San Donato Fronzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Palagio
Il Palagio
#1 of 2 in Rignano sull'Arno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Pitiana
Villa Pitiana
#1 of 1 in Donnini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fattoria di Castiglionchio
Fattoria di Castiglionchio
#8 of 20 in Rignano sull'Arno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.8 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Pagnana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Pagnana

Property: Fattoria Pagnana
Address: Via Badia a Pagnana 42 A, 50067, Rignano sull'Arno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Rignano sull'Arno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rignano sull'Arno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 18 apartments, surrounded by greenery, are located amongst the vineyards and olive groves of the countryside. All have recently been renovated making best use of the typical elements of Tuscan farmhouses. Fattoria Pagnana is divided into 2 separate complexes: il Loggiato and il Borgo, each with its own swimming pool and parking. Il Loggiato, open all year, is composed of a single L-shaped farmhouse with 4 apartments (in addition to the Alla Pagnana B&B), whilst il Borgo of 4 individual houses has been divided into 14 apartments. Designed to accommodate from 2 to 6 guests, all apartments are tastefully furnished retaining the traditional flavor of the area, each with either a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette thus allowing complete autonomy. To enhance your stay there are two swimming pools, a tennis court, a playground, a mini football pitch and volleyball area, as well as numerous barbecues ready for use. Every week we organize tastings of our wine and olive oil, as well as a typical Tuscan grill and/or pizza night to share an occasion with friends. We highlight local markets, guided tours and other selected activities to help you discover the most authentic Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria Pagnana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Pagnana Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing