We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For families...good value, but needs TLC.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fattoria di Castiglionchio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria di Castiglionchio
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“For families...good value, but needs TLC.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

When we arrived we were a little disappointed. The rooms were spacious, but clearly showing their age and a little neglect. So, initially, we thought we'd made a mistake. However, over the following days, it became clear that the value of Castiglionchio lay in the family orientation of the hotel. Evening dinners, horseback riding, and music nights convinced us that Castiglionchio is ideal for families and is probably suffering from overuse as much as neglect. The final surprise for us was the price: we had two large family dinners, a horse outing, and a cooking class, sleeping 9 people (5 kids) over 7 nights... for EURO1600! An unreachable number in North America. Our kids met others from around the world and had a great time. In the end we came away with mixed feelings..Castiglionchio is great for families, but the accommodations undermines the experience. Some minor upgrades would go a long way. In the end I'm glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imbiboergosum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    15
    14
    16
See reviews for
58
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here with my family in August for 1 week, I booked an apartment for 4 people via a travel agency in Austria. First you need to look for this place by driving to the small place Rosano (not Rignano.......). After having checked-in we were escorted to our apartment......cleanliness is a word they have not heard off......we had to clean the kitchen (very small), the bathroom (shower was very very small) and the whole apartment ourselves......also take your own towels etc with you, taking the ones they offer is not a good idea. Please do ask at the reception for the 'renovated' apartments and not the 'rooms' which are located in the main building......in overall we liked the location as it is in the middle of the Toscana and you can easily visit all major places like Siena, Pisa, Florence, Arrezo etc. but should we decide to visit the Toscana again we would definitely decide to pick single hotels........

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelfan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St annes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our long anticipated and much needed relaxing break was sadly shattered on arrival. The venue was nothing like what we had expected from the description and pictures on the website. In our opinion the whole place is very run down, tatty and grubby and feels neglected. We weren't expecting luxury but we were expecting the basics to be in place, ie: bed sheets on the beds, towels and basic toiletries, suitable and functional kitchen facilities, a shop with basic provisions or at least some advance information that there is nowhere to buy any provisions in the area. Unfortunately none of these were in place. After one night of a 6 night stay we checked out and moved to a different hotel in Tuscany. Having read other reviews on trip advisor I have to agree with those that have rated it as 1 or 2 star. It was a big disappointment for us. However, different people want different things from a holiday and I respect the opinions of those people who have rated it higher.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeanetteBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rignano sull'Arno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

After reading the mixed reviews we were rather unsure of what to expect but as soon as we arrived at this beautiful location & friendly reception, complete with a complimentary bottle of wine, we knew we'd made the right choice.
We weren't looking for a holiday village styled for the tourist but a real Tuscan experience, and that was happily just what we got.
The complex is large but still retains the warmth of a small wine estate and we passed more than one happy evening tasting the lovely wine in the company of other guests who shared our enthusiasm for the local brew.
The restaurant was also well worth a visit, especially the Wednesday evening when dinner was served with music which we happily danced too after enjoying a very informed tour of the all the farm's hidden treasures.
A really great holiday at somewhere we just hope to go back to, maybe even for our wedding!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CakeMakerTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have just got back from a great week at Castiglionchio. We have been on lots of self-catering holidays in France in rural gites, and we chose Castiglionchio because we thought it would be of a similar style, albeit with some of the advantages of a larger complex. I think this judgement was right - there are enough units onsite for them to have a Reception staffed by very helpful multi-lingual staff throughout daylight hours, plus some catering options on 4 nights a week, plus the pools, farming museum, etc.
The accommodation is mainly in the mediaeval farm buildings, so don't go expecting air-con, wifi in your room, etc. We stayed in the Tower (Torre), which was brilliantly quirky, with steep stairs, exposed stone walls, ancient beams (and some rather wierd art-work, it has to be said!). This wouldn't suit everyone, but we all loved it. The beds were comfortable and mostly reasonably firm (much better than the bowl-shaped mattresses we've had in lots of gites!) and the bathrooms were generally clean and functional.
We used their onsite catering three times - once for the take-away pizzas and also for the first night buffet (20 euros) and last night bbq (25 euros). The food was generally very good (esp the bbq) and the two main meals' (buffet and bbq) prices included bottles of water, wine, beer and coffees, inc dessert wine on tap! They also sell their own wine in Reception at good prices (4-5 euro), plus olive oil, etc.
Other reviwers have commented on the towels - the ones provided are of the thin, "waffle fabric" type that are quite common in Italy and they are clearly stated as not being for use at the pool. I was surprised at how efficient they are after your shower, and we took our own pool towels.
Finally, the location: the farm is in a beautiful setting, with views across the valley and over the vineyards and olive groves. Being there in May, the site was perhaps about half-full, so it was quiet at night and you really felt that you were well out into the country. However, Pontassieve is only a short drive away, with good facilities (inc big Coop supermarket) and easy train service into Florence (20 mins and around 4-5 euros each way).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TomSaintsRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were very disappointed by our stay at Castiglionchio. One week was more than enough. Our family booked the Tower and an additional family apartment (which we were in). The advertisement, we felt, disguised the fact that there were upward of 80 units on this site. Our dining table was in a courtyard with 4 other familes having their meals 6ft apart. There was constant traffic past our front door which gave onto a staircase. The accommodation was in a lovely old building but precarious homemade wooden staircases and shoddy partitions ruined it. The public areas & pools needed some TLC. The Tower needed a good clean and I won't go into the lurid Tarot inspired art that covered every wall! If you are a large group book a house for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluBee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed at Castiglionchio for 6 nights, and wished we had booked 6 more! If you are looking for a relaxed holiday in beautiful surroundings, with helpful friendly staff, then this is the place for you. I cannot stress how much we enjoyed our stay - everyone, from pensioners to young children, were catered for, and words cannot describe how perfect the setting was for us. We cannot wait to return next year (the first time we have revisited a holiday destination), and really wish we were still there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0nas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rignano sull'Arno
5.6 mi away
Fattoria degli Usignoli
Fattoria degli Usignoli
#1 of 1 in San Donato Fronzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.9 mi away
Il Palagio
Il Palagio
#1 of 2 in Rignano sull'Arno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fattoria Pagnana
Fattoria Pagnana
#1 of 20 in Rignano sull'Arno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Fabbroni
Villa Fabbroni
#26 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castello di Ristonchi
Castello di Ristonchi
#7 of 8 in Pelago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria di Castiglionchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria di Castiglionchio

Property: Fattoria di Castiglionchio
Address: Via di Castellonchio 2, 50067, Rignano sull'Arno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Rignano sull'Arno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rignano sull'Arno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria di Castiglionchio 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria di Castiglionchio is everything you'd want from a holiday in the Tuscan countryside. Rolling hills, ancient woodlands, historic rustic buildings and vineyards producing wonderful wine. There's also a pool to relax in and the possibility of delightful walks. The restaurant is open 4 nights a week to taste the delicious farmhouse cuisine. Florence is only 16km away to add a little culture to your country break! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria di Castiglionchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Ristonchi - Fattoria Di Castiglionchio Hotel Rignano Sull`Arno
Fattoria Di Castiglionchio Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing