We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Country Retreat Close to Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Molendino bed and breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Molendino bed and breakfast to your Saves list
Il Molendino bed and breakfast
Via Nicosia, 1, 56011, Calci, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 22 Calci B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Country Retreat Close to Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrive May 30th to this spending old mill house, run by a wonderful couple.
We had our own private apartment complete with a beautiful deck backing up to the waterfall and babbling brook. Add to that a sky full of fireflies and you have the setting.
The accommodations were terrific. Stephano and Fabiloa were wonderful and the place was spotless.
Breakfast was lovely, the setting is great and the location is close to everything. We toured hundreds of miles of magical scenery returning each night to this special place.
I was even redecorating the apartment we stayed in, in my mind pretending it was my new home.

This is a memorable place that I look forward to returning to again.

R. Kaplan - US - June 2013.

Room Tip: The two best rooms are the separate cottage and the gorgeous suite in the main house. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kapkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights in this B&B and we had a great experience. The owners are very friendly and attentious (thanks Fabiola). The place is very quiet and all we heard were the birds in the morning hours. The old mill converted into a house is enchanting and the room nicely decorated. Would recommend if you want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted with everything about this friendly and charming b & b, from the welcome we received from Fabiola, her recommendations for places to eat out locally, delicious freshly made cakes for breakfast and her detailed and helpful directions, including hand drawn maps for the way to Pisa airport avoiding morning traffic (20 minutes). The room was spacious and the bed comfortable, and an excellent shower. Stefano served lovely fresh orange juice and large cappuccinos for breakfast, and it was nice to be able to make yourself a cup of tea in the communal kitchen whenever you wanted one!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CAJGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Staying at the Molendino was the best part of our trip to Italy. Stefano and Fabiola are a beautiful couple with a gorgeous B&B. The only thing more incredible than the actual property and building themselves (which are beautifully rustic and relaxing) is how accommodating and kind Stefano and Fabiola are. I suggested that they adopt me and my family! They never answered me but I'm holding my breath. Seriously, stay there! Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely B&B. The owners, Stephano & Fabiola are extremely pleasant and helpful booking a fantastic Trattoria in the local village for us the night we arrived. The Nicosia room was perfect as I am sure the other rooms would be also. We only took a small bag up to the room as the spiral staircase would be a little difficult to manage large luggage. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cr8on4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Gorgeous accommodations in a quiet village near Pisa, Lucca and the Italian Riviera. It is very spacious, comfortable and quiet with the master bedroom up a narrow, spiral staircase on an open balcony. There is one smaller bedroom with two twin beds below and a sofa bed in the living room. (Our kids were jealous.) The kitchen is huge and modern, but it was a shame that we didn't have the chance to use it more. Very nice breakfast. Don't pass on the fresh-squeezed orange juice or the cappuccino (I typically don't like either). Fabiola and Stefano were very friendly and had good recommendations for local restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Il Molendino B&B and it was so nice to talk with Fabiiola and Stephano. We bought some of their organic, homemade olive oil and had som on our salad last night in Texas. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We had the huge room beside the common dining area (Suite Pietraia). It had stone walls and it made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBussert-Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calci
4.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
4.7 mi away
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
3.2 mi away
B&B Casa Formica
B&B Casa Formica
#1 of 23 in Cascina
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
B&B Guerrazzi
B&B Guerrazzi
#1 of 253 in Pisa
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Il Giardino della Pieve
Il Giardino della Pieve
#2 of 23 in Cascina
5.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
18.7 mi away
I'Poggiolo Di San Miniato
I'Poggiolo Di San Miniato
#1 of 27 in San Miniato
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Molendino bed and breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Molendino bed and breakfast

Address: Via Nicosia, 1, 56011, Calci, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Calci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Calci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Calci, B&B Il Molendino is a 17th-century stone farmhouse surrounded by the Tuscan countryside, a 20-minute drive from Pisa. It offers rustic accommodation with free Wi-Fi.All rooms and apartments at Molendino have wood-beamed ceilings and wrought-iron beds. They are air conditioned and decorated with classic rugs. Apartments also feature a private entrance and furnished patio. The large garden surrounding the property has barbecue facilities and seating areas. A bike rental service is available for visiting the area. Il Molendino B&B is just 200 metres from a bus stop linking with Pisa. A shuttle service for Pisa Galileo Galilei Airport can be organised (15 EUROS). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Il Molendino bed and breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Molendino Bed And Breakfast Calci, Italy - Province Of Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing