We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Festungshotel Al Forte
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Arabba
Certificate of Excellence
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The hotel is very nice and clean and it is very friendly for the bikers.It is in the middle of Dolomiti Mountains and very close to all passes.It was one of my best choise.The restaurand and the cucine was perfect,congratulation to the chef of the hotel.The staff was very nice and friendly and very smiling.The waiter Max is very nice person.
The owner of the hotel is kind,helpful and very proffesional.Is a pity that the hotel has only 3 stars,it worth more.
I will chose AL FORTE HOTEL again when I will visit Dolomiti area.

Michalis C

Room Tip: It is at an appropriate point for excursions to the most pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mototraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    131
    28
    3
    6
See reviews for
66
157
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We thought this family run hotel was good value, and the staff were, on the whole, very courteous and friendly. The restaurant food was sometimes very good and mostly quite acceptable. Skiers should be conscious that transport to and from the lifts in Arraba (4km's distant) is efficient and prompt but of course it only runs at the start and end of the skiing day. This means that you are captive in the hotel after about 16.30 - so no evening strolls to a local bar or restaurant unless you have your own car. The hotel is well equipped with a Ski and (heated) Boot room, Wellness Centre, Wi-Fi and a bar. The restaurant is located in an adjacent 'Fort' - a very atmospheric relic from the Austro- Italian war of the late 1800's complete with a stone spiral staircase.
Our Junior Suite room was nicely decorated and clean. But the spa bath jets didn't work and, as seems normal in most hotels these days there was not enough shelf space in the bathroom to accommodate all of our lotions and potions. The wardrobes and cupboards were adequate but hanging clothes is restricted to the hangers which are held in a track so that any clothes hangers you bring have to be doubled up on the tracked hangers - rather frustrating. Some towels had seen better days.
It is important to be absolutely clear about any particular arrangements you make with the hotel so that misunderstandings do not arise at the last minute. In our case we had hoped to ski for the whole of our last day and have a late transfer to Venice as our flight did not leave until 23.30. As things turned out the hotel decided to close for the winter season at 10.00 that morning and the transfer was scheduled for 15.00. This was not a great inconvenience but nevertheless irritating.
To summarise; good value, clean, friendly, well appointed but check if you need to have transport independent of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watsondt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed here with 2 other couples in August and generally the rooms are great, but avoid the room that has only inside window (horrible, that was the one I had). However, the other rooms were good, dinner and breakfast were good too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praha
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We have spend twice our winter holiday in Al Forte. We like this hotel very much. Very nice, clean and comfortable rooms, the whole building is interessant and well-appointed. Restaurant is very pleasant. Staff is very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puntaPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

If you:
- like to ski...
- have a car or/and many other plans...
- like to eat & hungry enough...
- do not need a 5-star apres ski disco OR/AND every day shopping...
- just would like to relax as much as possible...
- do not need hi-speed Internet access...

then go to Al Forte! Satisfaction guaranteed.
Just do not forget that the hotel is NOT in Arabba (say 5 km out of...) - be ready to use the hotel daily ski shuttle service.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobo_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We spent a lovely time over christmas at Al Forte together with my wife, not regretting a bit that we chose Al Forte. The rooms are quite typical tirolian style, but very spacious with a lot of nice detail. There is a wireless internet connection (+ a computer at the reception area) at the hotel and a nice little spa in the basement with finnish and turkish sauna's, two whirlpools and relaxation room. There is also solarium for both facial and full body tan if needed.. And for those not getting enough exercise on the slopes there is also a small fittness center next to the spa. The hotel itself was very clean and the personnel very friendly during our stay.

The most brilliant thing about this hotel is a small fortress next to the main building which facilitates the restaurant and a bar. We stayed there on half board and would recommend it to everyone else since the service and food was just excellent and the centre of Arabba is 4km away. We got to try a variety of Italian less known cuisine and everything was jus very good. I guess it would have been mainly pizza and pasta if we were to choose from a menu somewhere else.. There is a choice of two or three different courses for each evening.

Al Forte had their own little bus which they used to take people from the hotel to the lifts and back. The service was in the morning and afternoon and if for some reason you were early or late, you could always call them and they'd pick you up in a heartbeat. Our rental car stayed in the parking lot almost for the entire stay, except for once when we visited the centre of Arabba to buy post cards and looked for things to shop. Not many shops in Arabba, but on the way out we stopped at Val Gardena for a good selection of everything.

  • Liked — Service and Good Food
  • Disliked — Pretty far from everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank samiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arabba
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#1 of 14 in Arabba
311 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sporthotel Arabba
Sporthotel Arabba
#5 of 14 in Arabba
244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#13 of 14 in Arabba
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Portavescovo
Hotel Portavescovo
#8 of 14 in Arabba
157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Serena
Hotel Garni Serena
#7 of 14 in Arabba
72 reviews
3.4 mi away
Digonera Historic Hotel
Digonera Historic Hotel
#4 of 11 in Rocca Pietore
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festungshotel Al Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festungshotel Al Forte

Property: Festungshotel Al Forte
Address: Localita Pezzei 66, 32020 Arabba, Livinallongo del Col di Lana, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Livinallongo del Col di Lana > Arabba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arabba
#3 Spa Hotel in Arabba
#5 Family Hotel in Arabba
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arabba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Festungshotel Al Forte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Arabba, small and quiet paradise of the Dolomites, Hotel Al Forte looks like the ideal place for those looking for a peaceful, relaxing and calming holiday.The romantic, family and harmonious atmosphere will accompany you during the entire stay.It is the ideal place for lovers of sport and wellness, for those traveling alone or with friends, families or groups of friends. Immerse yourself in a relaxing stay, away from everyday life, where you can rediscover the pleasure of the senses and the palate.The pristine and healthy alpine nature will be your frame and make you feel like in a dream.Hospitality, good food, family and relaxation await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Festungshotel Al Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Arabba
Arabba Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing