We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surly reception” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Portavescovo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Portavescovo
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Arabba
Certificate of Excellence
Cam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surly reception”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having just spent one week in Portavescovo hotel, we have returned with mixed feelings. The restaurant staff were really friendly and very helpful. My husband and I were not well, and the staff could not have done any more to help us. Even preparing food to suit our needs at the time. The rooms are very nice and very clean. As a non skier, I did send a mail prior to our visit to request a quiet room but we were allocated a room above the kitchen... The reception staff were not welcoming in the slightest. We never heard a "good morning, thank you, please, have a nice day, or a good bye" during the entire visit. We felt as though we were in the way! A smile would have been nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible, avoid the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyMN1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
58
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lerici, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are a family of 5 and have visited Arabba and Hotel Portavescovo many time over the last 30 years. A roomy and warm skiroom. Good parking. Bars (2) with excellent service, beer and wine.
Rooms basic, but good size double rooms. Spa with 2 hot saunas and swimming pool. Dressing/changing room in the spa area a bit cramp. After a good day of Portavescovo skiing and sauna, the dinner and the service in the dining romm is aperfect ending.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Westerberg342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a ski party. Rooms are ok but too hot (which is better than cold) and no baths, just showers. Lounge areas good for a 3star. Food ok and typical 3star - you don't come off the slopes looking forward to dinner. 1st floor restaurant poorly designed, even when half full it is still impossible to avoid bumping into people in the cramped buffet area. What really let the hotel down for me was that on departure I sustained a head injury from the tailgate (faulty) of the mini-van taking us to the airport. I went back in to reception and despite having a bloodied head, the two receptionists were unable to find anything resembling a first aid box, after a considerable wait they managed to cobble together some gauze and already opened antiseptic. This last point is disgraceful in my opinion - really unforgiveable for a large hotel.

Room Tip: get on the sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here with friends on a skiing holiday. The hotel is conveniently placed in the village - near bars, supermarkets and the Burz lift. It is a little bit of a walk across the village to the Portavescovo Lift. The rooms have been recently redecorated and refurbished, they are simply decorated, clean and have good bathrooms (everyone in our group only had showers even though some had asked for a bath). Everyone in our group found the rooms too warm and lacking in air and turned off their central heating and slept with the door open. This in turn meant you heard all the noise outside - snow making machines, garbage collection, snow ploughs, late night revellers. Breakfast was the same everyday but adequate. Dinner started with a buffet (salad and more) but if you did not come in at the beginning of the meal service this was soon depleted and never topped up. The second course was soup or pasta, third course a meat and potato. Dessert was dish of the day, fruit salad or ice-cream. The evening meal was not as good as previous ski hotels of a similar price. They were also in a hurry to get through the meal time. The big plus though was Nancy the Cuban waitress who was brilliant unlike some of her rather sour colleagues.

Wifi available in reception at a cost or free in your room if you have a lap top.

Swimming pool small and a little on the cool side. Sauna free but the Jacuzzi has to be paid for.

Perfectly adequate as a ski hotel but Management should look at the meals. It would not take much to make it significantly better.

Room Tip: If you like morning sun you need the front of the hotel, for afternoon sun the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in this nice hotel for one week in a family room for 4 people.
The room was OK, me and my husband had a good double bed and our teenagee sons stayed in a bunk bed, which was kind of short if you are almost 190 cm. We tried to change
to 2 double rooms already in August but it was already fully booked.

The hotel is situated very close to the skii lift and slopes which is a big plus.
Arabba as a town is like a fairytail, beautiful houses a nice church and the wonderful dolomites in the background, not much to do, only a few shops and bars, but very relaxing.

The dinners in the hotel were great, nice italian food buffet and then a pasta dish, meat and dessert.= 4 dishes at least. You could eat very good home-made italian ice-cream every night, but please try the Tiramisu and the Semi-freddo - desserts - like heaven. The breakfasts were also very good, The staff were very polite and kind. We also enjoyed the relax area with saunas and the small pool - very crowded though. Our sons worked out in the small Gym, which they liked,even if some of the machines were a little bit too old and not working properly. The hotel also had a Pool table and table tennis which you could use free of charge, very good for young people with a lot of energy. We liked this hotel a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YlvaBromma_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We (3 families) spent half term in Arabba at the Hotel Portavescovo. Arabba is a beautiful small village in the Dolomites and we highly recommend this base to do the Marmolada Glacier, the Hidden Valley and the Sella Ronda.
We booked our holiday with Inghams a year in advance to secure the best deal. We do not recommend them as they messed our booking 3 times. Our return flight on saturday 18/02/12 went from 5.30pm to 7.35am! You can imagine that none of us was happy to get up at 2am to catch the coach at 2.45am! Inghams did not offer compensation despite the fact that there was this huge inconvenience. We seriously think that Large Tour Operators like them should be stopped from getting away with messing people's bookings like this.
The staff at Hotel Portavescovo was charming. I requested a table in the "wooden restaurant" (the main restaurant was unattractive and impersonal). Our waitress Simona was the most helpful and polite waitress we have ever had. Breakfasts were taken in the main restaurant and it was chaos, it has already been mentioned in other reviews.
The rooms were clean and spacious but too modern in my opinion (I like the "alpine" style). I believe that all have a balcony and our room had a jacuzzi bath (on request), well worth it.
Now the negatives:
There was massive disruption in the hotel due to a large group of Swedish people (39 of them including ill mannered and badly behaved children from the age of 10 to late teens). They slammed the doors at night, ran in the corridors, shouted, used foul language in front of our children). We have never encountered such ill mannered people in our life. The parents could not careless and they let their children do whatever they wished. They broke equipment in the Hotel too. This kind of people should be banned from hotels and ski resorts altogether especially in big groups like this. We approached the Manager on several occasions and except for one night when it was relatively quiet, the remaining nights were quite a nightmare. I decided to approach some of the teenagers myself and it led to further disruption (banging 3 times on our bedroom door between the hours of 10.30pm and 00.20am on our last night).
Although our rooms were on the 3rd floor, on several occasions, the disco (on groundfloor) could well be heard until the early hours of the morning from some of our bedrooms. The snowcats were also very noisy until very late in the evening.
I would not return to the Hotel Portavescovo because I prefer quieter and smaller hotels. I would return to Arabba as it is pretty, not too busy during half term (hardly any queues at the chairlift).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a jacuzzi. Ask for a room as high as possible in the hotel as the disco can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggieHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

If you're an intermediate skier, Arabba is a well placed on the "Sella Ronda" route around the massive limestone block of mountains that is the Dolomites - the most beautiful ski area in the world - with one of the biggest areas of interconnected runs. Note that there are only red runs into town so, if you're going to get the most out your trip you do need to be a reasonable skier.

The hotel is in the town - good for shops and bars but it's NOT ski-in, ski-out - there's a little struggle to the start of either the clockwise or anti-clockwise sella-ronda routes. Not far to either 200 yards maybe - but a bit of a struggle for us oldies.

Rooms that we have stayed in are a good size and perfectly comfortable - the hotel had a refurb about 4 years ago I think - but why the cheap laminate flooring? The showers are very good and hot - but skiers who hanker after a bath will be disappointed. Though there is a steam room, a pool and a hot-tub (for which they charge extra).

Food is excellent: a really good breakfast buffet. For dinner there's a really good anti pasta buffet followed by a choice of pasta starters and a choice of a couple of simple but beautifully seasoned meat dishes for main course. Service is also excellent.

There's a busy after-ski bar at the front of the hotel. But beware Wednesday nights - in the half-board chalets around town it's staff night off - so the bars compete for business - it seems mostly by turning the music up LOUD. VERY LOUD and right through till 1 am. No problem if you're under 25 or have a room at the back. Not fun if you are over 60 and live within earshot.

If you like keeping up with the news on the telly while you're getting up or going to bed - if you're an English speaker you'll have to be a CNN enthusiast (definitely count me out - it's totally Americentric and far right wing at that!!!) - it's the ONLY English channel they offer. Lots of German and Italian of course.

We've stayed there two years in a row - so we think the advantages override the minor faults. But it would be good if they kept improving. This year for the first time there's a reasonable - and now FREE broadband wi-fi connection which seems to get through to every room as well as all public areas. An excellent improvement - so thanks for that.

Room Tip: ASk for a room that's NOT above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanMcAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arabba hotels
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Arabba
Sporthotel Arabba
#5 of 14 in Arabba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#1 of 14 in Arabba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Evaldo
Hotel Evaldo
#2 of 14 in Arabba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#12 of 14 in Arabba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.0 mi away
Festungshotel Al Forte
Festungshotel Al Forte
#3 of 14 in Arabba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Serena
Hotel Garni Serena
#7 of 14 in Arabba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portavescovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portavescovo

Property: Hotel Portavescovo
Address: Via Plan Boe 28, 32020 Arabba, Livinallongo del Col di Lana, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Livinallongo del Col di Lana > Arabba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Arabba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portavescovo 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Portavescovo is placed in the center of Arabba close to the slopes and lifts of the Sellaronda. The welcoming and comfortable rooms have bathroom with shower or tub, satellite tv, wi-fi, telephone, safe and balcony. The ski equipment can be stored in the heated boxes in the skiroom. The wellness area offers swimming-pool, sauna, steam-bath, gym and massage room. Special care for the cooking with local and italian meat and fish dishes and an antipasti and vegetable buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Portavescovo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing