We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special and unique place to stay.”
Review of Casale Romano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casale Romano
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Motta Camastra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Casale Romano felt like a very special place to stay. Sabina and her family gave us a lovely welcome and looked after us with an excellent balance of close attention and respect for privacy and independance. A wonderful atmosphere was created at dinner and we were treated to an exciting and tasty menu of locally sourced Sicilian dishes, served up with home produced wine and lots of good cheer. The room was simple but comfortable and minor issues were resolved promptly.
An excellent location for exploring this corner of Sicily. We alternated between beach, mountains and culture. Particular highlights were Isola Bella, Etna and the mosaics at Piazza Armenina. Driving took longer than we expected from the map and most days we arrived back after dark, but always to a friendly welcome from Harold. There was so much to see and do that we only managed to spare one vey pleasant day to spend by the beautifullly situated pool. An excellent fortnights holiday based in a hotel where the friendliness and thoughtfulness of our hosts ensured we felt comfortably at home at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porcupino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 169 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2009

When Sabine is around, this basic hotel hums. She is an excellent host and she provides good service, but not everyone else in her team does and we did not really enjoy our stay. This is a balanced report, so here are the minuses and the plusses.

Rooms: We found rust stains under the metal dispenser for liquid soap in the bathroom basin and endured the temperamental and irregular hot water supply. We didn't like the the rubberised room curtains in the bedroom that didn't pull open; and surely it is unnecessary to have lighting in the room that is too dim to read by.

Service: We were horrified by hot water for tea served in a glass teapot with a jagged broken spout (and no apology). When we asked for Prosecco for a celebration drink, we got a fizzy wine with no fizz (and - after the cork had been removed without a pop - no opportunity to taste it before it was poured out for everyone ).

Food: The food was simple but not bad, however they served tiny little fish at dinner which they said was actually baby cod. Whatever it was, the Mediterranean is getting fished out – they should wait for their fish to grow. Bread at breakfast was good but by dinnertime some of it was so tough that you could hardly chew it. There was no fruit at breakfast or vegetables (except cold potatoes) at dinner; and there was no choice so one of us who doesn’t eat fish was in trouble. At breakfast you don't get orange juice unless you ask for it - we found that out too late.

The score of 3 represents an average. The plus points are many and appear in other Tripadvisor reports. Excellent location in lovely countryside for walking in the hills or visiting the beach and local towns. Good value for money. Lots of advice from Sabine on what to do and where to go during the day. She is clearly a hostess who wants her guests to be happy. Following the disastrous non-fizzy wine incident, we arrived home after a birthday dinner in nearby Taormina to find our friends’ room had a ‘Happy Birthday’ sign up and a bottle of Prosecco with a chocolate cake to go with it. That’s Sabine for you. When she’s around, this place hums.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Sabine and her team did a marvellous job at welcoming for the week. Although we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, we often took evening meals at Casale Romano too which costed surprisingly little. Delicious traditional Sicilian cooking, with the emphasis on fresh - no frozen food here! Furthermore, the menu changed every night with no repeats throughout the week.

The room was very nice, air conditioned with a nice view of various fruit trees and the hills.

The thing we liked the most about Casale Romano was that despite it being one of the busiest tourist weeks in Sicily when we were there, it provided a really nice retreat away from the masses and a swimming pool.

Highly recommended and great value - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteJac_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I stayed at Casale Romano with my Italian Cousin for one night at the end of a visit to family in Sicily. I am only sorry that the visit was for only one night. The welcome and service was excellent. The swimming pool was very clean and it was a peaceful place to spend some time. The food was also excellent - Sabina sourced local ingredients and cooked simple but delicious Sicilian food.

I would recommend this guest house as a wonderful place to explore this area of Sicily. The owners go out of their way to be helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Casale Romano is a real "home from home" Sabena and her familiy made us feel welcome from day one.. She was prepared to spend time to assist us with our travels in country and she was able to guide us to places of interest that weren't well sign posted.

You need a car here to get around and the smaller the better because getting through towns and parking is difficult, but again Sabena comes to the rescue with some great local advice and guidance.

Evening meals are prepared by Sabena and her staff and while we were booked for BB our first dining experience was so good that we just stayed with it for the 2 weeks!!! We didn't have the same menu twice and were served real local Scilian meals every time.

The whole experience was wonderful and we were made to feel part of Sabena's family. Nothing was too difficult for Sabina; children were welcomed and valued and Harold the dog looked after them in the beautiful pool.

This was one of the best holiday experiences we have had and would recommend it without reservation.

Walter & Carole from Northern Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellyfishsting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

....you could do a whole lot worse than starting right here.

Our first trip to Sicily was pretty much everything we wanted it to be. This small, family hotel helped a lot to contribute towards this. We had GoogleEarth'd the location before we arrived, so we knew roughly what to expect; we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated in a very nice valley looking down toward the coast, surrounded by gorgeous hills.

It was for us just where we needed it to be. Convenient for the interior and its rural delights, but also quiet near to the more busier resort of Giardini-Naxos/Taormina. Hire car is essential as you might expect.

Service at Casale Romano was extremely good. We did experience some slight confusion on arrival, but this I can only attribute to the package company we used to book the hotel. If you're going to use a main-line company, check what you are gettting first - don't trust generic web-booking engines.

That last bit sounds negative doesn't it ?

Don't worry... the welcome you receive from Sabrina, her husband & Harald (well friendly dog) more than compensates !

My family can probably test the patience of most cooks around the globe, and the staff at Casale Romano rose to the occasion. Every meal ( we chose 1/2 board ) was individually tailored to meet our needs ( no cheese for Son, no meat for Wife etc. etc. ). There was no menu as such, but it really didn't matter - each dinner gave us a real flavour of the country. Fantastic.

We met some lovely people at Casale Romano ( principally Irish - you know who you are ) and Sabrina's free helpings of Limoncello after meals helped send us off to bed sated and happy.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moggsie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We arrived at Casale Romano and what the most wonderful welcome by Sabrina who invited us to join her and her family for a meal - all home cooked and very tasty! It was a welcome and most appreciated surprise after our flight to Sicily. Our was lovely - spotless and very romantic. The setting of Casale Romano is very peaceful and pretty. The pool is a great place to laze about. Harold the dog is adorable too!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tl4287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motta Camastra
2.9 mi away
D'Orange D'Alcantara
D'Orange D'Alcantara
#1 of 1 in Francavilla di Sicilia
514 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
888 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alcantara Resort
Alcantara Resort
#1 of 1 in Gaggi
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mareneve Resort
Mareneve Resort
#3 of 4 in Linguaglossa
119 reviews
3.4 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
#3 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
229 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Romano

Address: Contrada Rinazzo | Via Nazionale 5, 98030 Motta Camastra, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Motta Camastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Motta Camastra
Price Range: $66 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casale Romano 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casale Romano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Romano Sicily, Italy - Motta Camastra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing