We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piazza Armenia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Piazza Armerina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a rustic B&B, located on the other side of the old town. Has views of the duomo. Rooms are big and spacious. There is a great variety for breakfast, with lots of fruit. The only thing that was not good was the shower was not cleaned very well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan591025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and given a choice of rooms, both of which were excellent. Plenty of space, good bathrooms, spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast around a large table with other guests - it felt like we were staying with friends! The owners were very helpful and gave us good advice on touring the town and the area. The B&B was a little way out of town, so we were glad we had a car, but that was the only possible downside - and the location was very peaceful with great views of the centro storico of Piazza Armerina (which is a delight!). I can warmly recommend this place for a short stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room, with its own access and a great view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helgahw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for only one night at this hotel. We arrived by bus in the morning, eager to visit Villa Romana del Casale. We had to take a taxi to the hotel cause it was a 15 min walk from the bus station and we had all our lugagge with us. Once we arrived at the hotel we knew we had made the right choice. The hotel is very cozy, the staff was extra friendly, the room was ready right away and they even offered us some coffee and water.
We walked down to the bus stop to take the bus that would take us to the Villa Romana del Casale. That same bus stops at the Duomo if you want to visit it. The ride itself was very interesting. It seems that everyone knows each other at Piazza Armerina!
After visiting the Villa we went back to the hotel by bus + short walk. The rooms are OK; the view from the terrace is very nice. But what is wonderful about this hotel is the owner, Luciano. It felt as if we were staying at a friend's house! Luciano incourages interaction between the guests and it is true that the people that come to this place are particularly interesting. As mentioned in previous reviews, breakfast is great and we chose this hotel beacuse of this. It is incredible that we ended up finding so much more interesting experiences!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this B&B. Luciano the owner and his staff were very friendly and welcoming. A delicious and bountiful breakfast was provided. It is about a 10 minute drive from the historic city center. Being outside of the city center it does require that you drive in to get dinner. By the end of the day after touring Morgantina and visiting the mosaics we were tired of driving and negotiating busy one way streets so we opted not to eat dinner in the city and instead buy sandwiches on route to the B&B and enjoy a bottle of wine with them on our lovely terrace and relax. Very pleasant indeed. This B&B attracts very nice people from all over the world.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The pluses: Great owners were there in the morning, clean room, good breakfast, nice view of the town from the terrace, reasonably close to Villa Romana Casale.

The negatives: A little hard to find because several of the signs were hidden by brush and the GS did not recognize the address, too far from town to walk in, questionable price /value relationship.

We arrived midafternoon after visiting Romana Casale. We got settled in our room, and because we did not want to deal with finding parking, had them call a taxi for us for a trip into the town. We started at Piazza Duomo, the highest point in town, and worked our way down.

After a nice simple dinner, we returned by taxi and enjoyed some wine on the terrace, looking back at the town.

The total for taxis both ways was about 22 Euro. Adding that to the cost of the room, it was not a very good value compared to the other places we stayed on this trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This B&B is very popular and was fully booked with older Europeans when we arrived. Our room was a bit cramped (with two beds) but had a lot of character. The view from the terrace over the city is very memorable indeed, although it isn't possible to walk directly down to the town. The B&B is very well equipped although the communal breakfast table might not suit everyone. Having said that, the breakfast was very good with good cheeses and local specialities. There is parking available under some low overhanging trees in the yard. The owners were friendly. The B&B is well located for the Villa Romana del Casale with its spectacular mosaics. Counterintuitively, to access the Villa Romana by road, one has to drive East into Piazza Armerina and then follow signs West through the town passing under the SS road. It is worth getting there early to avoid the large crowds and groups which can spoil the viewing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only had one night at this very delightful B&B, just outside the town, looking across the ravine at the Duomo was v. special. The breakfast served here was definitely the outstanding one of our 9 days in Sicily, staying at 6 different locations. A bounteous table laden with delicious specialties.
Just wished we had planned on a couple more nights here, as there is so much to be visited and seen within a short distance, in addition to the incomparable Villa Romana dei Casale - of all sites in Sicily definitely the most amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigelachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piazza Armerina
2.2 mi away
Hotel Al Ritrovo
Hotel Al Ritrovo
#2 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giardino delle Zagare
Giardino delle Zagare
#3 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite d'Autore
Suite d'Autore
#4 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa Rossa Country House
La Casa Rossa Country House
#5 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Paradiso
Park Hotel Paradiso
#6 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
319 reviews
12 mi away
Federico II Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro

Address: Mattarella s.n.c., 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Piazza Armerina
Price Range: $93 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a panoramic position overhanging part of the historical centre of Piazza Armerina, bed & breakfast "La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro" ( the house on the golden hill) Relais de Charme will be glad to welcome its guests in an old house dating from the end of the 19th century, which has been restructured and renovated with the help of typical Sicilian building materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Sulla Collina D'Oro Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing