We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lunch following visit to Roman mosaics” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ruota

La Ruota
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
TN
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch following visit to Roman mosaics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

7 of us were taken here by our driver-guide, Christian Guardione of newtravelservices.net. I loved it! The local cheeses, the olives, the bread and house wine would have been sufficient, but my pasta and the wonderful small cannolli were splendid. Wonderful atmosphere (sadly it was too cool to eat outside), very helpful staff, and excellent fare.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    70
    44
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent place. Thanks, TripAdvisor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Planning our trip to see the fabulous Roman mosaics near Piazza Armerina, I scanned Trip Advisor for recommendations for a light lunch and came across this place. Good thing I had read the reviews, or we should not have been particularly attracted by its outward appearance. (Bring on Alex Polizzi, of Ch5's "Hotel Inspector" !)
Inside it was unexpectedly pretty, with yellow linen tablecloths and napkins, and resplendent with badges denoting Michelin-guide accreditation.
The menu is sensibly limited, which encouraged us to feel everything was created on-site. We were only looking for a snack, so both ordered antipasto and salad. We felt everything was locally sourced: cheese, salami with pistachios, subergine, pepper, sundried tomato; and the salad leaves. Having been so austere, we thought we would look at desserts. Just two listed, so we took one of each: "almond biscuit" - three small, soft almond semi-crisp buns; and a delicious crispy pastry roll filled with light ricotta cheese, with the ends dunked in crushed pistachios. Both equally yummy. We wished we could have eaten a full meal, as it would no doubt have been delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Repast after Mosaics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We chanced on this after our visit to the Villa Romana del Casale and had lunch. A very reasonably priced menu (less than €20 per head including wine). A good selection of food and wine and just the thing before our long drive. The majority of other diners were Italian, which is always a good sign. Whilst the restaurant was full the waiters did not take long to take our order and serve our food and wine. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great local recommendation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We did a trip to Caltagirone and Piazza Armerina, and had planned to eat in Caltagirone, but our driver suggested we wait to eat here. Pasta all homemade and cooked perfectly. A rather limited number of choices on the menu, but with good variety and all with good flavors and texture.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Spot near the Villa Romana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We spotted this little restaurant/B&B on the way to the VIlla Romana del Casale. Most of the places closer to the site are a bit sketchy so we pulled in here to check it out. We were very pleasantly surprised. They have a lovely outdoor eating area and the place is very clean and welcoming - hard to tell that from the road! The selections are good and the food was quite delicious. Their house white wine was very light and refreshing. We all had the seasonal fresh artichokes and pasta dishes, all of which were well prepared and tasty. I would definitely recommend this little restaurant for a enjoyable meal in an easy location to reach when visiting the Villa Romana. Very reasonably priced, too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MississippiQueenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ruota also viewed

Piazza Armerina, Province of Enna
 
Piazza Armerina, Province of Enna
Piazza Armerina, Province of Enna
 
Piazza Armerina, Province of Enna
Piazza Armerina, Province of Enna
 

Been to La Ruota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing