We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Manor house B& B which more of a hotel”
Review of Villa Trigona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Trigona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very comfortable large suite of 2 rooms overlooking wonderful countryside
The dinner was excellent and is recommended as restaurants i Armerina are limited

Good location for Roman Villa and Greek site at Morgantina

Room Tip: Go for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venturer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 393 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We found this agriturismo in a guide book and decided to stay there while visiting Piazza Amerina... it is close to the Villa Romana del Casale with all the incredible mosaics. It is in the countryside and is a working farm, still run by family who live there. Our room was small but very clean and adequate. The breakfast was delicious with many choices of baked goods and fruit, cheese and salamies. But dinner was even better!! One sits in a small intimate dining room with all the other guests and they start with a lovely antipasto typical of Sicily, one of the BEST we have had, water and a 1/2 L of wine. THen on to the pasta course, which was delcious pesto... the basil in Sicily is very "minty" tasting... more wine on request... then the meat course which was thinly sliced pork with fresh grilled eggplant and zucchini and then the "best" red wine a Nero d'Avola which was bold and dry and lovely fruit.... and by that time I was actually too full to have the light panna cotta with an almond sauce, I think and of course espresso. When we told our waiter how much we loved the Nero d'Avola wine, he left the rest of the bottle (still about half full) on our table and we shared it with some very nice British folks at the table next to our with whom we had a wonderful conversation during dessert...ALL that food at dinner was only 52E , less expensive than most of our other dinners.

Room Tip: be sure to stay here for dinner! our room was on the first floor and small but fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmrxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first stay in a countryside Agritourism Villa and it was charming and located near Piazza Armenia in Sicily. The villa was renovated and turned into a hotel just four years ago by the Trigoni family. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The staff is accommodating and charming. We arrived late afternoon in time for dinner in the outside terrace. The meal was so delicious and the courses just kept on coming with local recipes and wines and this turned out to be the highlight of our one night stay. It is a very old villa and furnished with plenty of original antiques and furniture. The only disappointment was that although in the quiet countryside with very private grounds we were kept awake by the barking of the neighboring dogs and crowing of roosters, even when we tried closing the windows of our large and comfortable suite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okemospike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

my husband and I stayed at Villa Trigona for one night. The house is quite lovely and the staff very helpful. We were very disappointed about the dinner. I would not call it a slow food experience. I also don't understand why we were entertained with english and american music.
Certainly not an experience I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlav745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A wonderful old Villa, full of character. The ample grounds, comprising several walks, and surrounding countryside made for a peaceful setting. The room and communal areas were charmingly rustic. The food was very good. The owners and staff were friendly and welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights at the very beginning of our week-long holiday, and for us it was a perfect start, enabling us to unwind before movng on to Siracusa. They are clearly still working on parts of the grounds, eg laying gardens, but don't let that put you off staying at this lovely villa if you are planning a trip in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautifully situated agriturismo. Spacious rooms in lovely old farmhouse. New swimming pool was opened early for us and is a great addition to the facilities. It's a bit new at the moment - the remnants of the building work to put it in place are still obvious, but I think that by next summer it will look more at home. Enjoyed our dinner here and would definitely return if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike_tedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was incredibly hot, 44 degrees when we arrived and even the staff said this was unusual for Sicily, we were feeling so uncomfortable but were revived by Villa Trigoni's lemon sorbet. As a previous reviewer said the villa's rooms are quaint and old fashioned but this added to the charm of the place for us. The villa is very newly renovated with a pristine pool and was previously the summer residence of the Trigoni family. The family is prominent locally and provided the funds to build the cathedral in Piazza Armerina. We decided to eat on the recommendation of a guest and were glad we did, the food was fabulous and the best and most authentic of what we encountered in Sicily. There was typical anitpasta, a pasta Norma course, roast pork and delicious panna cottta accompanied by two different local wines and a liqueur, altogether a fabulous meal eaten outside in the courtyard under the vines. The air conditioning was reliable and the fridge provided was most welcome at this time of year. The staff were delightful and provided guide books for the local attractions and the Roman Villa. Honestly, I can't think of a way in which the Villa could have improved upon things and Signora Trigoni was on constant guard to make sure things went the way they should. We will definitely make a return trip here on our next trip to Sicily.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoupouneLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piazza Armerina hotels
1.3 mi away
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
#1 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Giardino delle Zagare
Giardino delle Zagare
#3 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
18 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Al Ritrovo
Hotel Al Ritrovo
#2 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suite d'Autore
Suite d'Autore
#4 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
170 reviews
5.2 mi away
Agriturismo Gigliotto
Agriturismo Gigliotto
#11 of 17 in Piazza Armerina
387 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Salemi
Agriturismo Salemi
#2 of 17 in Piazza Armerina
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Trigona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trigona

Address: Via Santa Croce | C/da Bauccio, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Piazza Armerina
Price Range: $65 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Trigona 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mansion built between 1700 and 1800 offers accommodation in suites and rooms. The rooms which feature air conditioning and are fitted with en-suit bathroom. The Villa is situated less than 1 km. from Piazza Armerina and is surrounded by 50,000 sq. m. or green countryside. Ideal for relaxing tourism, cultural and gastronomic stays. Excellent meals exclusively cooked for the Villa’s guests can be enjoyed upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Trigona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trigona Hotel Piazza Armerina
Villa Trigona Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing