We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis at the end of a long day”
Review of Melqart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melqart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sciacca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis at the end of a long day”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was late in the day and the Melqart was the third hotel we had tried in Sciacca. And we getting grumpy! However Zina put us at ease, helped open the door to our room, lent me a power plug converter and recommended a great restaurant for dinner. The hotel is new and clean and welcoming and very close to the fishing port - great for photographers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    134
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
134
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

An excellent stay at the Melqart helped by Vincenzo the very accommodating manager and Zina at the front desk, who is from New York (of Sicilian parents). She is stylish and charming. They were helpful and full of information. The hotel is clean, modern, the bathrooms were so great - a big shower! Good breakfast.

While we love the character and charm of the hotels and B&Bs around Sicily in old palazzos, it was really nice, for a change, to stay at the Melqart with its modern facilities, especially the bathrooms. Everything is well thought out. Well done Hotel Melqart. Wish we could have stayed longer.

You can park right in front of the hotel. We had 2 cars and had no trouble finding space, especially if you come back from dinner later in the evening. The hotel is close to the legendary Zio Aurelio with the best lemon granita in all of Italy. Zina or one of the staff will direct you.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony and peek sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Near harbor where there are a couple of good restaurants. Up some steps to main part of town for shopping. Really helpful woman at front desk who speaks good English. Breakfast had greay cappuccino. Cheeses cold meats boiled eggs, fruit. Rooms with good A/C andleasant decor.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the port if you want water view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

When we first pulled up the hotel, we were a bit put off by the falling down warehouses across the street and seeming lack of a parking lot. However, once we got inside we realized that the hotel was clean, modern and welcoming (and the desk staff spoke English well). Our room was spacious and even had a balcony. However, due to the heat, we did not get any use out of it. The walls were also a little thin, and we could hear our neighbors at times. The breakfast was very good, although I would recommend getting there early. Although the hotel is located along the waterfront (and not in the old part of the city) the walk up to the town wasn't that bad (it does have a few flights of stairs though). Plus, the hotel is located near some very good seafood restaurants so make sure to take a walk along the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TACK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Relatively easy to find and the English speaking receptionist was helpful. Good modern rooms but perhaps a little soulless. Ideal for visiting the afternoon fish market and associated banter and bartering but a steep climb up to the main centre ( limited) shops and most restaurants. I thought it was Ok but wife didn't find it that inviting or comfortable perhaps because very few guests. Breakfasts quite good. Not bad but there may well be better in the town even at this.reasonable price level.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJF111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visit this hotel in September 2011, the hotel was brandnew and very cozy. My wife liked this hotel that much, that we stayed for an extra day. Very friendly staff indeed and the breakfast, of course.....we were very pleased and definitly we are planning to vist Sciacca again to stay in the same hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaspar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
264 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the rooms too, as everything is quite new. We stayd in a room with balconi which we used in the morning and evening.
In the room you could hear the neighbours talking and the tv but no noise from the street.
We only had one night because the next day the aircon broke and we did not want to stay because of the heat. The worst thing about this was that no one tould us about the break down, we had to discover it our selves. Further more the hotel at first tryed to get payd for two nights as we moved out in the afternoon.
Except for that the staff was friendly. The breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sciacca hotels
6.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aliai
Hotel Aliai
#6 of 10 in Sciacca
261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Calandrino
Hotel Villa Calandrino
#9 of 10 in Sciacca
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Palocla
Hotel Villa Palocla
#8 of 10 in Sciacca
103 reviews
6.1 mi away
Torre Macauda
Torre Macauda
#10 of 10 in Sciacca
446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Torre del Barone Club
Torre del Barone Club
#4 of 10 in Sciacca
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melqart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melqart Hotel

Property: Melqart Hotel
Address: Via Mulini 10-12-14, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sciacca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
#4 Family Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melqart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MELQART HOTEL presents itself along a beautiful stretch of coast on the south-west part of Sicily. Strategically located between the beautiful beaches,harbor,city center and spa facilities. Sciacca is an area of archaeological interest located between the temples of Agrigento and those of Selinunte. The hotel is a modern and welcoming structure, equipped with meeting room, breakfast area cafè area.It's rooms consist of single, twin, double, triple and quadruple rooms, air-conditioning, private bathroom, refrigerator, satellite television, free WI-FI and gives the utmost hospitality and total availability of personnel that will provide comfort and relaxation to their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Melqart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melqart Hotel Sciacca, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing