We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Sciacca”
Review of Melqart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melqart Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sciacca
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel in Sciacca”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visit this hotel in September 2011, the hotel was brandnew and very cozy. My wife liked this hotel that much, that we stayed for an extra day. Very friendly staff indeed and the breakfast, of course.....we were very pleased and definitly we are planning to vist Sciacca again to stay in the same hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaspar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    134
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
135
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the rooms too, as everything is quite new. We stayd in a room with balconi which we used in the morning and evening.
In the room you could hear the neighbours talking and the tv but no noise from the street.
We only had one night because the next day the aircon broke and we did not want to stay because of the heat. The worst thing about this was that no one tould us about the break down, we had to discover it our selves. Further more the hotel at first tryed to get payd for two nights as we moved out in the afternoon.
Except for that the staff was friendly. The breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My friend and I spent two nights at the Melqart Hotel, paying a total of 150 Euros, inclusive of breakfast and taxes. We thought that represented excellent value for money. What will we remember about the hotel? Firstly, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff; and secondly, the wonderful fresh orange juice served at breakfast (the local oranges, from Ribera, are considered to be very superior). The room was small and the lighting a little less than adequate, but it was very clean and well-appointed. The air conditioning worked efficiently, although we had difficulty at first in working out how to adjust it. There was free wi-fi Internet access in the room - a big plus for me. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast very much: it was well above average for an Italian hotel. We had no difficulty in finding free parking spaces outside the hotel.

The hotel is just a stone's throw from the port and there are a number of decent restaurants within easy reach. We would recommend Porto San Paolo (overlooking the harbour) and Gaie di Garaffe, next door to the navy club (the hotel receptionist will tell you how to get there as it's quite difficult to find). Agrigento, with its amazing Greek temples, can easily be visited from Sciacca: it takes less than an hour to drive there. The village of Caltabellotta, perched on a 950 metre high crag, is also well worth a visit. In Sciacca itself, the highlight for us was the Church of Santa Margherita - both its beautiful Renaissance side portal and its breathtaking Baroque interior. be warned that if you don't have your own transport, the climb up to the town centre is a steep and not particularly pleasant one: there is a long flight of steps close to the hotel, but it was littered with broken glass and I wouldn't have wanted to ascend or descend it in the dark.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Melqart warmly and would certainly stay there again if I ever returned to Sciacca, which is a most pleasant resort and spa town, all the better for being slightly off the beaten track. I have to confess that I had never heard of it when I first started planning our itinerary!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The hotel seemed to be fairly new. The design is modern and therefore the hotel could be located in any major western city in the world. There is nothing noticeable or special about the place. The room was large, convenient and clean, the bathroom was beautiful, large, modern and clean. The mattresses were excellent. Our room (24) was a bit on the dark side as the window was fairly small. The heating worked well.
The Italians are not big with their breakfast offerings - at least here you had some quality, all was very edible and the selection was satisfactory. Would I stay there again? Yes, anytime, because I believe there are not many other hotels in Sciacca that offer that good of a value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrauStrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priovidence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My wife and I were led to this cozy place on the harbor by a very helpful gentleman we had asked directions from. It was the middle of March and we didn't need reservations. We rated the bath the best in our two week tour and the manager sent us to the Restaurant Porto San Paolo
for what I consider to be the best meal of the trip; a short walk along the harbor.
In short, good hotel at a reasonable price in a great location with a great view of the harbor.
The people we encountered in the town above the harbor were incredibly friendly and helpful.
-multo grazia, Sciacca

-Bill Walsh
Cranston, Rhode Island. USA

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Modern, funky hotel on edge of Sciacca. Receptionist from US and now lives in Sciacca was very helpful. Hotel located across street with abandoned commercial buildings, not very appealing. Rooms, service very good. Clean and spacious. Need car to get to town for very good pizza which is a local passion in Sciacca. There are a number of seaside eating places within walking distance, however, appealing to younger, noisier crowd. At 80 Euros, a good alternative (if you have a car) to pricier hotels in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford,UK
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

New hotel and we had a lovely modern room. Balcony had nice reclining chairs and table. Good breakfast with juice, fresh oranges, cereal, ham, cheese, rolls and croissants. Good position for walks along the harbour and nearby harbourside restaurants - the hotel kindly made reservations for us. We didn't tackle the long flight of steps up to the central square, but drove to the square one morning instead for a wander round the town. Very pleasant and helpful staff.
Being picky, there were just a couple of things: The level of lighting in the room was quite low and we would have liked a second chair in the room - there was just one chair at the desk. We did have trouble with the heating (couldn't turn it down or off) but I'm sure this was a problem which would have been put right - we mentioned it when we checked out and they said they would get the technician to look at it.

Room Tip: Good to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sciacca hotels
6.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aliai
Hotel Aliai
#7 of 10 in Sciacca
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Calandrino
Hotel Villa Calandrino
#9 of 10 in Sciacca
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Palocla
Hotel Villa Palocla
#8 of 10 in Sciacca
106 reviews
6.1 mi away
Torre Macauda
Torre Macauda
#10 of 10 in Sciacca
446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Torre del Barone Club
Torre del Barone Club
#4 of 10 in Sciacca
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melqart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melqart Hotel

Property: Melqart Hotel
Address: Via Mulini 10-12-14, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sciacca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
#4 Family Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melqart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MELQART HOTEL presents itself along a beautiful stretch of coast on the south-west part of Sicily. Strategically located between the beautiful beaches,harbor,city center and spa facilities. Sciacca is an area of archaeological interest located between the temples of Agrigento and those of Selinunte. The hotel is a modern and welcoming structure, equipped with meeting room, breakfast area cafè area.It's rooms consist of single, twin, double, triple and quadruple rooms, air-conditioning, private bathroom, refrigerator, satellite television, free WI-FI and gives the utmost hospitality and total availability of personnel that will provide comfort and relaxation to their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Melqart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melqart Hotel Sciacca, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing