We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good both times!”

Ristorante Hostaria del Vicolo
Ranked #5 of 126 Restaurants in Sciacca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Piemonte
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good both times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We ate here twice, the first time en amoureux, the second time with friends. The first time was an unexpected pleasure, the second time fulfilled everyone's expectations.
News of my wife's diet (no gluten, no starch, no sugar) left the staff and chef unfazed. They cunningly adapted the dressing on their warm squid and prawn salad, and changed the accompaniment to her salt-roast fish.
I don't really like fish at all, but I was seduced by the trilogy of marinated fish and the monkfish medallions. Both were delicious. Washed down with a bottle of excellent Grillo from Tasca d'Almerita.
Second time around we all chose a meat main course, and the beef was excellent.
A couple of tips:
Don't try to drive right up to the restaurant. You may find a space in the Corso Vittorio Emanuele (which crosses the top end of the alley in which the restaurant hides); or below the ramparts.
Don't be put off by the unpromising alley - the walk down from the corso is only a few yards.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutchmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    147
    53
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yeah, you should eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were in western Sicily for a week and staying just outside Sciacca, after several days of enjoying the local cuisine this was an amazing enhancement to that. I always enjoy seeing how a Michelin rated chef interprets their local peasant cuisine into true culinary excellence with refinement and a light touch. Simplicity is the essence of cuisine in this region and at Hostaria Vicolo (which also by the way is a slow food establishment) they fully embrace this while managing to balance a truly haute take on local fare. Worth every penny, it's sort of expensive but as we live in Switzerland almost nothing feels expensive anymore when we travel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea0882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Food was great, location was literally a 2 minute walk from Locanda Al Moro. Its a very cozy romantic restaurant and I highly recommend it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank miss7721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
141 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Quality at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice food (but not outstanding), small cosy venue, good service. Prices are high, especially if you count in the cover charge (€9 for 2 adults and 1 small child). Not close to the best we had in Sicily.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JML01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Sciacca!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

September trip around Sicily - stopping in Sciacca to obtain birth certificates of great-grandparents. First night in we were unfortunate to have been recommended to just an ok spot by our B&B, so one day 2 we wandered around with open eyes for dinner - and walked into their sign and "street" - a typical tiny Italian alley. Quintessential Sicilian - from multiple local fish, to family traditions (including grandmother’s sardine soup, which was FANTASTIC), to all fresh pastas, etc.

When in Rome...Sicilian wines and local Marsala/ Trapani after-dinner bevs.

Mostly Italians on vacation, from mainland. Table next to us was a US Gastronomic tour.

Two of the dishes (wife and I both had different tasting menus) were our best dishes, on a two week trip throughout the island.

Service was great – Nino owner present and working, super friendly staff, chef came to table; all around terrific.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rddevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Hostaria del Vicolo also viewed

Sciacca, Province of Agrigento
Sciacca, Province of Agrigento
 
Sciacca, Province of Agrigento
Sciacca, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Ristorante Hostaria del Vicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing