We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with good customer service....”
Review of Verdura Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verdura Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sciacca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Whilst we stayed outside of peak season, we had a wonderful 8 night stay. The resort is well equipped; 3 golf courses, a spa and one of the best equipped gyms I have experienced at a European beach resort. The staff are genuinely friendly and eager to please and apart from being very welcoming, they are obviously proud to work at Verdura which I have rarely experienced on my travels.

There are 4 restaurants, (not all are open every evening in October) and whilst they provide a decent variety of Italian (particularly Sicilian) fare, they are very pricey, which is my only real quibble. Equally, the wine list is excellent and there is a good opportunity to sample quite a few top quality local wines by the glass in addition to an extensive selection by the bottle. Nando, the Sommelier is a real asset to the hotel and we were fortunate to accompany him on a wine tasting expedition to Di Giavanni, run by the very passionate Klaus, Gunther and Melissa, well worth an afternoon of anybody's time!

It was pleasing not to have the usual scrum for a place to catch some rays as beds were available by the beach, pool, near the pool or an the grass in front of all of the ground floor rooms. I can imagine however that this, like many other resorts is much busier in peak season.

Great for a few days away from the stresses and strains and some decent R&R!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spireite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Verdura, Direttore generale at Verdura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Spireite,

we would like to thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Verdura Golf & Spa Resort, we highly value all our guests' feedback.

We are very pleased you are fully satisfied by the service provided to you. Your feedback will be shared with all our employees who will certainly be very proud of your appreciation.

We would like to thank you for complimenting Nando for perfect service shown during wine tasting.

We trust you have taken back home with a lot of pleasant memories of your holiday and I would be delighted to personally assist you when you decide to come back to the Verdura Resort for an even more unforgettable experience.

With many thanks once again.

Best wishes,

Felipe P. Espinoza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Verdura is a fabulous hotel which we discovered as it is just down the road from my mother in law's b&b and we've dreamt of staying for a couple of years and decided to take the plunge to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary.

We were greeted by Flavia who I had emailed in advance asking for any tips to make our stay more special and boy did she do that! We were instantly upgraded on arrival to room 37 which was breathtakingly beautiful and HUGE! Moments after being guided to our suite there was a knock at the door and a bottle of champagne and strawberries compliments of Flavia!! She recommended that we eat dinner at the beach bar as there was a Rolex Gala dinner being held in the main restaurant that night. We'd imagined a candlelit dinner in very plush surroundings and so initially a bit unsure about the rustic feel of the bar...but the food made up for it all ten times over!! Our waiter Giovanni was so attentive and the Somelier Nando was a dream...we finished a superb meal with a glass of dessert wine each compliments of Nando to help us celebrate!!

It's a secure and private resort and has an effortless way of making you feel very special. Hubby would give this place 10 out of 10 and would definitely go back. I would go back if I lost 3 stone and won the lottery...that I'd feel I'd blend in a bit more!!! :-)

The wifi thing is the only real thing I could fault....very expensive and though charging for wifi is the norm in Sicily...I think on this one occasion Mr Forte should treat us all...that way we could all rave online about how great Verdura is for free whilst we're there and being spoiled rotten!!!

Room Tip: 37 was to.die.for....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Verdura, Direttore generale at Verdura Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Mrs Eleanor,

we would like to thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Verdura Golf & Spa Resort, we highly value all our guests’ feedback.

We are very pleased you are fully satisfied by the service provided to you. Your feedback will be shared with all our employees who will certainly be very proud of your appreciation.

We trust you have taken back home with you a lot of pleasant memories of your holidays and I would be delighted to personally assist you when you decide to come back to the Verdura Resort for an even more unforgettable experience.

With many thanks once again.

Best wishes,

Felipe P. Espinoza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The resort looks well kept with nice and spacious rooms, good quality restaurants and buffet breakfast. The outdoor pool is well designed and the spa offers reliable services. The negatives are the many flies that make staying by the pool a lot less pleasant and a few people in their staff who are not as competent and professional as a five star resort demands. In addition to that, we also saw two street dogs hanging around within the complex who was again surprising to see for a five star standard

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family and I (husband plus kids aged 3.5 years and 1.5 years) just returned from a great week at Verdura. Overall we were really pleased:

- great pools, including a massive outdoor pool and indoor lap pool at the spa
- lovely and spacious rooms. We had two interconnecting rooms and I would recommend requesting ground floor, especially if you have kids, as you get a great terrace looking onto the sea across a lawn. I also recommend requesting one of the rooms at the front (ie not the second row where you look across other rooms to the sea.)
- the whole resort benefits from masses of space. Huge lawns, long beach, enormous spa, massive pool- everything feels generous, spacious and relaxing. You never feel crowded like you can at some resorts.
- the food was good. We can sometimes get bored of food after a week in a resort, but not here. The only slight niggle might be that the lunchtime pool bar menu was a bit limited after a week
- Generally great service, particularly appreciate how friendly all the staff were with the kids

A few areas for improvement/tips:

- we booked with Scott Dunn who run an exclusive kids club for their clients in peak season. This wasn't a great advantage for us, as their kids club was right by the entrance so far away from all the resort facilities (2.5km from our rooms) so we felt the kids were not taken out much, and also tough to drop your kids off. If you want them to spend all day there, then its workable as the staff do a morning pick up, but if you want to use the kids club for an hour or so while you have a massage/play tennis it isn't workable as its almost an hour round trip (15 min wait for a hotel car/buggy plus 10 min drive, another 15 min wait as the hotel buggy wouldn't wait, and then 10 min drive back.) The hotel kids club by contrast was located right by the main pool and in the centre of the resort, so we found ourselves using this much more. We couldn't leave our kids alone there due to their ages, but the staff there were great.
- the resort is really big. If you want to play tennis or golf and not be dependent on waiting for (slow) hotel buggies, I suggest booking your own, and reserving in advance as they get booked up. Not cheap at EUR70/day.
- wifi was EUR100 for the week. I really think in a top resort this should be free, and this just feels mean.
- the beach is artificial, which we realised before we went, but it isn't really sand, more small stones. Our kids love making sandcastles and digging, and couldn't do this. We've been to artificial beaches before which were much better for kids. The sea was a bit choppy for kids to swim, but we had a few storms when we were there so this may be atypical.
- Service at Amare (the beach seafood restaurant) was the only low point. We love fish so ate their three times, but each time had a bad service experience. The other restaurants, by contrast, were great. Zagara was our favourite for food.

Overall we would come back for the rooms, space, service and food, but would not use Scott Dunn again unless they relocated their kids club into the centre of the resort.

Room Tip: Ground floor, front row so uninterrupted sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emmafLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent a week there in August. I have 3 kids (9, 7, and 3). We had 2 interconnecting rooms. We have done good family holidays before (four seasons in Sharm etc...) and I think this really is a tough one to beat. The Juventus football school for the kids was terrific / kids club friendly and fun and food for kids and adults was very nice. Staff friendly and rooms were equally lovely. Honestly struggling to find anything constructive that isn't just positive. Can't work out why we would not return. People do talk about the cost in previous reviews but i am not sure what else to expect from a top resort - it's not cheap but I didn't expect it too be. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickgreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A truly fantastic resort. Huge grounds. A very long beach. A big swimming pool. Far away from the road, so it's quiet. 4 restaurants that serve food that taste differently from one place to the other and is always very good. Very well appointed rooms with seaview.
There are always places available at the beach, at whatever time of the day you decide to go there. When we stayed the resort had a 98% occupancy degree and we never had to look for a good spot. They were always available for us.
The staff is very well trained and is clearly instructed to use "yes" as the default reply.With a friendly smile on top of it.
One negative remark: we found the gym to be too warm. Yes it was mid summer and yes we went to the gym by mid day, but still. That's the one area that could have been improved.
If you have kids they'll love the place too. You could regularly see the kid's club walk by, being led by 2 monitors and they always seemed to have fun. It's almost impossible to list all the available activities here, but you'll find them on their website of course.
On our way back home we were trying to find a resort elsewhere that we liked more than this one..... and we could not come up with one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Sir Rocco Forte knows the blink formula: good location, excellente service, SPA, star chef, sport and entertainment for guests with money.
Verdura is a very good golf resort on the coast next to Sciacca, absorbed between the seaside and the countryside, a true oasis of green: palms, orange and olive trees, cacti, lavander and more.
The rooms are nice, big, modern, with balconies facing the coast, canopy beds and ortigia amenities.
Service is suuuper kind. From the first person you meet at the reception, to the concierge, waiters, housekeeper, all local with a smile for you. I have been really impressed, think you.
I had lunch at amare, a restaurant at the seaside really nice and cosy and at la zagara, more classic, but ok.
The tennis club is run by Roberto with the same formula of the forte village, young players from all over the world according to different level of players and I had fun.
The beach is very small and the water not so clear, but if you want disconnect from the stress of daily life is a good choice

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sciacca
28 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
119.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,308 reviews
118.3 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
118.3 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
25.9 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
119.2 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdura Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdura Resort

Address: Strada Statale 115, km 131 | Contrada Verdura, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sciacca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sciacca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sciacca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range: $324 - $1,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Verdura Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the warmth, passion and beauty of Sicily, Verdura Resort is a five-star destination for an unforgettable holiday experience. It is the first resort in the Rocco Forte Hotels, and takes our trademark Art of Simple Luxury to an outstanding new level. Just 203 rooms are set amid 230 hectares of beautiful Sicilian countryside, providing the rare luxury of exclusive privacy and space.Make the most out of your holiday in Sicily and live a collection of exclusive once in a lifetime experiences: simple luxury resort in-line with the Sicilian tradition, unique archaeological sites, unforgettable dinners under the stars by Fulvio Pierangelini, a world-renowned name in the culinary set, an award winning spa, a unique golf destination and world-class tennis and golf tuitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Verdura Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf And Spa Resort
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf Hotel Sciacca
Verdura Resort Sciacca, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing