We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very tired place”
Review of Hotel Salsello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Salsello
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bisceglie
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A very tired place”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited this hotel slightly off season in the middle of may, weather was poor so needless to say we didn't use the beach facilities. I can therefore only comment on the hotel itself.

For starters it's not very clear where the hotel parking lot is. Safe parking is a necessity in Puglia and I suppose this one was safe enoughsince nothing happened, but I didn't see any camera surveilance nor gates or guards around for that matter.

The main lobby is terribly dated, giving you the feeling that you're a delete scene from the Scarface or something similar (in other words 80's). Staff at the desk acted cold and were borderline rude.

Coming out of the tiny elevator the hallways were even more dated than the lobby. Rooms are clean and of an OK size but the bathroom and room were probably built and decorated in the late 80's early 90's. Also the balcony is tiny and not very nice looking.

Free Wi-Fi is included, you get a user name and code at the desk, even though the note with the code says that it will cost you to use the code that's not the case, it's free and works well.

TV is old with Italian, English and German channels.

Breakfast was actually OK, with a pretty good selection and breakfast staff was much nicer than the staff members in at the reception.

Good things: Price, They accept pets, Cleanliness, Location, Wifi and breakfast
Bad things: Staff, Parking, Dated decor and furniture.

It's OK for one night, but it's not the place for a nice getaway if you ask me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    166
    114
    54
    42
See reviews for
101
187
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Italy with friends (3 couples), taking in Bisceglie and staying in the Salsello. The staff were friendly and helpful and the large double rooms were comfortable with small balconies and air conditioning, even a small fridge. Breakfasts are served in the hotel with a good buffet selection including the usual bread, pastries, fruit and yoghurt although whilst there was meat and cheese there was no hot selection on offer.
We thought it was a great location with its proximity to the beach and own private lido and near enough to the pretty old town and port to be walkable even in 30 degrees. The facilities include a pool, sun deck and bar/restaurant (in a separate block) with free parking too. We swam in the sea from both the lido and the beach and used the pool too, the lido is definitely to be recommended and although there is a charge, this is discounted for hotel guests and we would say well worth it.
We had not been to this part of Italy before and were delighted with the old towns, little fishing ports, many churches and miles of olive groves. We sampled the local wines and visited the market, it was enchanting and really felt 'unspoilt'.
We met friends who live locally (and who booked the hotel for us) and came to know the delights of post prandial ice cream eating at midnight! There is a small cafe on the sea front just 100m from the hotel and beyond it a super ice cream parlour open until the small hours - fabulous!
We were attracted to the restaurant with its open terrace overlooking the sea so tried it one evening, unfortunately, the meal turned out to be both the most expensive and poorest quality of our entire trip.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a view of the sea but those at the side may be quieter, as always higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel has outdone themselves! Wow 100 times is all I can say. They are so very accomodating and the service is always with a smile on their faces and joy in their voices to assist you. You will receive around the clock personel at the front desk that are always at your disposal and trust me, at any hour. You have free wireless internet in your room (which works - which in Italy is almost unheard of), you have your own Air conditioning control unit in your room and again for Italy. . . The air works 100%! They have little refigerators that you can put in whatever you want in it and not be charged for using them (or the maid tossing out your things which happened to me in Croatia). You may order breakfast in your room without being charged a supplement. And the breakfast is wonderful, filled with the normal Italian pastries, capuccino, yogart, fresh fruit and oj.

The services don't stop flowing there, there is free parking. Discounted space for you on thier very private beach front which is also staffed well and has excellent services. They have a wonderful beachfront resturant as well that is.open for lunch and dinner. . . No need to order, let the waiters who all speak English choose for you and you will have a culinary fantasy come true.
For me this home away from home is where I will always stay in Puglia!!!! And the only place I would put my clients! They are a 5 Star Gem for me!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Bisceglie was our last overnight stop before heading back to Rome for our international flight the next day. We visited the Grotte Di Castellana and Castel del Monte before stopping at the Salsello Hotel, which was one of the cheaper accommodations we found along our route.

The Salsello Hotel is a sizeable hotel facing the Adriatic Sea. The 3 person sharing room is on the cramp side but I don’t have any issue with it given the price we paid (it was cheap and it included breakfast). If you are lucky, I believe you can get a room with a sea-side view. There weren’t many places to dine nearby so we ate at one of the restaurants at the hotel. Nothing memorable except for the balsamic vinegar, which prompted me to buy some back as gift.

In my opinion, Castel del Monte is the major attraction nearby but it’s still 2-3 hours away from Bisceglie. If you plan to visit the Castel and are considering a place to stay overnight, the Salsello Hotel is one option to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonjw0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Salsello for five nights in November 2011, and were very pleased with everything. We enjoyed our room's balcony with the view of the beautiful Adriatic. The staff were very helpful, assisting us is planning day trips without a car. The breakfast was particularlly good, as was the staff there, especially Paula. We hope to return to this beautiful area and to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrdrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed five nights here. Room large and clean. Only criticism is that we only had a wardrobe. A draw unit would have been nice to save leaving all our smalls in the suitcase.
Food very good. Did not experience shortages at breakfast as another contributor did. Staff friendly.
The shower cubicle was fine, if you find trouble fitting into it then consider cutting back on the cakes.
The pool was still full of green algae as already stated by another contributor but the sea is just across the road and plenty of people were still swimming in it even in October.
Biscelgie is a quiet town with no tourist facilities so unless you enjoy watching or experiencing Italian life then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primroseCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Generally a good hotel, the rooms are big and airy with (little) balconies and lovely sea views. The bathrooms are large - I didn't think the shower was that small unlike other reviewers, I've experienced smaller in Italy! Both the bathroom and the bedroom were very clean, but my bed wasn't that comfortable, it was a bit lumpy. The air con worked well and there was plenty of wardrobe space. Perhaps some of the decoration is a bit dated but it didn't offend me - everything was clean and everything worked!

The breakfast was a bit of a let down - the breakfast room is in the basement and on our second day there were no small tables clean for us to sit at. We had to wait for a member of staff to clear the table, even though it wasn't very busy. There was also no bread and no croissants at all at 9am, we had to ask for things to be topped up.

The staff were perfectly nice and dealt with us efficiently. Overall we were satisfied with our stay, and the hotel is very convenient if arriving late at Bari airport.

Room Tip: We had rooms 202 and 203, both have front sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisceglie
0.2 mi away
Nicotel Bisceglie
Nicotel Bisceglie
#5 of 5 in Bisceglie
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Memory Resort
Memory Resort
#2 of 5 in Bisceglie
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa
Hotel Villa
#1 of 5 in Bisceglie
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Riva del Sole
Grand Hotel Riva del Sole
#1 of 5 in Giovinazzo
359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Bonomi
Hotel Palazzo Bonomi
#3 of 5 in Bisceglie
89 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza
Hotel La Terrazza
#5 of 5 in Barletta
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salsello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salsello

Property: Hotel Salsello
Address: Via Vito Siciliani 41-42, 76011 Bisceglie, Italy (Formerly Salsello Hotel Puglia)
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani > Bisceglie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bisceglie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salsello 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Salsello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing