We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
il Gabellota Resort in Trulli
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very clean, beautiful, and authentic Trulli house to stay in. I strongly recommend to stay one night in Alberobello and stay in a real Trulli house. This is the cheaper and worthy hotel comparing to the others. Good location and nice staffs. Francesco and other staffs were very helpful to show me where to go to the train station next morning, where to visit the small town. Even I asked a lot of questions before the trip, they spent time to email me back. During the time they were about to close at night, they still answered my questions. They also deduced the breakfast fee for me since I left earlier next morning. The breakfast is included. Oh they didn't charge deposit fee before arriving.

Room Tip: Book from them directly then they won't charge you deposit fee. But be sure to show up to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairewa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrulliTrip, Responsabile reception at il Gabellota Resort in Trulli, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,
we are happy to see that our efforts are so appreciated, at Trulli Holiday nobody is a stranger!
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    129
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
146
282
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were staying at the Trulli about 20 minutes walk to the west of the town. There are a few trulli's and trullo in the town but we were well pleased with choosing this one. Francesco Baldini and Pasquale are the men who sort you out. If not them, you're at the wrong Trulli.
The accommodation is excellent , security excellent and the pool and gardens are superb. Sitting on a July night, bottle of Alberobello vino rosso, comy chairs, great lighting and a big sky with the one you love.....what more? Amore, amore ,
Thanks
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrulliTrip, Responsabile reception at il Gabellota Resort in Trulli, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
It is always a pleasure to see our guests' enthusiasm!
Pasquale and Francesco greet you and all of us invite you to come back and drink another bottle of red wine... in one of our trulli, of course ;)
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Me and my three friends stayed one night in the beautifull spacious trullo no 32. Right at the begining we regret it was just one night. Trullo was much more that we expected. Has everything to stay longer- pretty garder with grill place, three bedrooms ( two with double bed and one with one bed - not for claustrophobic person), two bathrooms, picturesque kitchen and spacious living room. Everything clean, elegant and functional. Alberobello is really worth to stay overnight but even during the day it was not as crowded as we ecpected. In the office we have got a very nice service with a drive to our place ( had heavy packpack so it ment a lot); the next day we could leave our baggage in the office to make a little more of sightseeing. We have got maps and full information about town. Realy nice man! Breakfast was a feast comparing to other B@B. In the nice restaurant in the main piazza ( piazza is nice, small and not crowded therefore nice place to enjoy good breakfast ) we had a great choice of all the goodies as a buffer. Much more than we could eat.
Trulli Holiday was a really good choice and I wish to return to that magic country of trulli!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasmina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrulliTrip, Responsabile reception at il Gabellota Resort in Trulli, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
so happy you enjoyed your stay at Trulli Holiday!
All the staff is Always committed to offer the best service to our guests.
We look forward to meet you again in the future, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Together with two friends my wife and i stayed several days in a Trullo house in the heart of Alberobella.
The house was clean, spacious and cosy in spite of cool weather. It's location near to the piazza and Main Street made it convenient for shopping and site seeing.
Parking can be problematical but the holiday company provided us with secure parking in a local builders yard.
We took breakfast at a near by caffe where the quality of food was average and of limited choice if we were not there before 8.30.
We would recommend a stay in a Trullo as an unusual experience and a stay with a difference.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful
and were willing to give advice freely.
Peter M Richardson

Room Tip: Choose Trullo number 5 for a two bed roomed facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrulliTrip, Responsabile reception at il Gabellota Resort in Trulli, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you, Sir!
we want to inform you (and future guests) that now we manage our own restaurant just adjacent to Trulli Holiday reception and whose name is Tipicamente.
See you for the next stay! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The trullo we hired with friends(No.5) slept 4 in 2 bedrooms, it was much more spacious than we expected and very well appointed, with a large bathroom and living area including a hob, fridge and sink area. The town is idyllic especially after the tourists left for the day, we felt like residents, in a little hobbit type building. Walking to the Trullo church Chiesa Sant' Antonio and the Trullo Sovrano was easy as they were so close. The town with its piazzas has a plethora of cafes and restaurants so there was plenty of choice for our three day stay. Francesco and Pasquale were extremely helpful in the office and we were given lots of useful information including maps of the town. We used the coin operated laundry within a short walk, where all information is in English and easy to operate.

Room Tip: Ask for No. 5 via G Verdi if you need two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrulliTrip, Responsabile reception at il Gabellota Resort in Trulli, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Glad to make your stay so successful!
Pasquale and Francesco wish to thank you and all of us hope you can come back someday.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I spent two night in a rather modern and spacious trullo. It has a double bed and a single bed/day bed. The property is clean and well equipped with heater, compact bathroom, tv and dining area. We love the place although I was hoping to stay in a traditional trullo.
The office is easy to spot. Walk 10 minutes uphill from train station towards the direction of the town center and it is located on your right hand side, first corner unit, the same direction you would see the Basilica Santi Medici. Staff are very friendly and helpful especially Donato who picked us up from the station the night when we arrived. The local map provided was very useful with good recommendation of restaurant. The breakfast in local cafe was rather simple, a croissant and a hot beverage.
Alberobello is a beautiful fairy tale like small town. Everywhere is walkable. Half a day or one full day is enough to explore the place. Put up a night or two, and stay in a trullo, it is a wonderful experience. And see the quieter and less touristy Alberobello at night. One would wonder if smurfs live inside the trulli.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janelp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrulliTrip, Responsabile reception at il Gabellota Resort in Trulli, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Maybe in some dark corners of trulli you will be able to see some tiny blue creatures...
Joking apart, thank you very much for your positive commentary, the staff always try to make our guests's stay the best one!
Hopefully you can come back and see us again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent only one night in a small trullo. It was the best experience during our vacations. It looks like a dwarf hut, but there are all equipments and facilities inside, including a kitchen corner, AC, a big TV, a fridge etc. The breakfast in the nearest restaurant was excellent too.
A manager helped us to park the car nearly (free).
And Alberobello at night is the absolutely different town than under the sun light. White walls, dark cones of trullos and there aren't crowds of tourists. Unbelievable sight.
By the way, it doesn't cost a fortune, so I strongly recommend this accomodation, especially for children (young or a bit older)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndryKuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrulliTrip, Responsabile reception at il Gabellota Resort in Trulli, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
You know, someone call by joke the trulli the "Smurfs' Houses". But indeed they look like they belong to ancient fairy-tale worlds.
Thank you for your appreciation and glad we helped to enjoy Alberobello in the best way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alberobello hotels
0.7 mi away
Trulli Holiday - Resort
Trulli Holiday - Resort
#1 of 19 in Alberobello
1,101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Chiusa di Chietri
0.8 mi away
Le Alcove "Luxury Hotel nei Trulli"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Olimpo
Grand Hotel Olimpo
#6 of 19 in Alberobello
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alberobello BB
Alberobello BB
#36 of 52 in Alberobello
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tipico Resort in Trulli
Tipico Resort in Trulli
#1 of 52 in Alberobello
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to il Gabellota Resort in Trulli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about il Gabellota Resort in Trulli

Property: il Gabellota Resort in Trulli
Address: Strada Comunale Gabellotta 5, 70011, Alberobello, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Alberobello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Alberobello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Gabellota Resort offers you the opportunity to enjoy the Puglia countryside while staying in a Trullo or a stone room. These ancient stone buildings, part of UNESCO World Heritage, are typical of Alberobello. All accommodation is air conditioned and comes with a TV and minibar. Some have a small kitchenette. Some of the Trulli have a private patio area and a conical roof, and are surrounded by a floral garden, while studios have vaulted ceilings. Il Gabellota Resort has an outdoor pool, hot tub in the garden and free WiFi throughout. It is around 15 minutes' walk from Alberobello centre. Breakfast is served in the property's breakfast room. On site- private parking is free and Monopoli and other seaside towns along the coast are around 30 minute's drive away. The Castellana Caves are 15 km away. Staff provide an attentive service and offer useful tourist and travel information. Couples particularly like the location — they rated it 9 for a two-person trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your il Gabellota Resort in Trulli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Trulli Holiday Hotel Alberobello
Il Gabellota Resort In Trulli Alberobello, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing