We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Il Guercio di Puglia
Ranked #19 of 99 Restaurants in Alberobello
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Beaconsfield
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were a party of four and ate twice at this restaurant; pizza the first night and from the main menu the second. The pasta was superb and the lamb, veal and steak excellent. Vino della casa in a caraffe very acceptable and good value (white and red).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soulsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    194
    86
    27
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pizza with a view”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to this restaurant for a lunchtime pizza - we were not expecting haute cuisine, so we were very happy with what we had. We had a lovely view over the trullis and our pizzas were excellent. A tip - even if it is not on the menu - try asking if there is vino della casa - we did and a 1/2 litre of local wine only cost €4.50 whilst bottles were a good €10 more. Only downside - the knifes were just not sharp enough!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had dinner at the Guercio and was not very impressed. We decided to eat here since we saw the good reviews and thought that they would have delicious pizza and fish. The terrace is very overcrowded and loud, many families with small children visit the restaurant so it is not ideal if you wish to spend a quiet relaxing dinner. Being so crowded also means that the service is not very fast and the food is mediocre.
We decided to have a fish starter followed by a pizza. The fish starter was not bad, the pizza on the other hand was tasteless: not enough salt, undercooked. It also took me a long time to digest my meal which makes me think thatb everything was a bit heavy as I had not eaten THAT much.
The view over the Trulli is cute but I believe that the view and garden terrace do not make up for the rest

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puglia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Sadly declining but Pizza still good.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant a number of times and each time I seem to have a complaint. In future I will only return for Pizza. The menu food particularly meat is of poor quality, myself and friend both had steak, Tagilata and entrecôte, both tough, fatty and grizzly and very little meat. The patate al forno was at least a day maybe 2 days old, dry and tasteless. On complaining we were offered another meal when we refused a €6 was reduced from the bill. Not good enough and this is the last time I will order anything but pizza at this restaurant. There is no love or care in the kitchen. The pizza's are cooked by a different person and in a pizza oven.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We only had pizza but it was one of the best we ever tasted. If you're at Alberobello and feel like a good Italian pizza, this is the place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LenMalta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Guercio di Puglia also viewed

Alberobello, Province of Bari
 
Alberobello, Province of Bari
Alberobello, Province of Bari
 

Been to Il Guercio di Puglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing