We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Alberobello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

perfect evening great freshly cooked food rthe chef was charming and came and spoke to each individual despite being so busy fresh food perfectly cooked and really good value

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank angelaa60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    976
    335
    71
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Booked in the morning for a table at 22.00hrs that night. Got a nice table for two by the door. Very busy with a big family of twelve having a celebration meal. Very noisy, but this was to be expected. Chose spaghetti with chilli, garlic and olive oil. My husband had pasta with saffron sauce. Both very tasty. We both ordered lamb chops with dark greens which were deliscious! We had also ordered some chips but they forgot these - no big deal. For desert we had the mystery 'desert with custard'. There were four small puff pastry squares filled with a fondant style custard .White wine was very good and two express coffees. Although the food was good, the portions were a bit small and the meal quite expensive: about 77 euros roughly. Overall quite good; give it a go.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank non-bias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
260 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A lifesaver in a cellar in Alberobello”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Anyone who have tried to have lunch after 2 o'clock in southern Italy must now of the problems. There is no place for you, they are eighter full or closed. La Cantina is the eception. Opened the doors and let us in, all smiles and comfort. Lovely place and personell. Thanks

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Deserves all the accolades and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Really enjoyed our meal here. Fortunately we booked a table - and the number of people being turned away was amazing. Small restaurant. Chef, and commis chef - 2 waiting staff. All open plan so you can see the action in the kitchen.

Excellent antipasti. Tried the foccaccias of the day which were excellent.

Main courses were pasta of the day, (semi wholemeal orechiette with prawns and courgettes), Porcinini tagliatelle and orechiette al ragu.

All excellent. Not too large a portion so if we'd skipped the antipasti we could have stretched to a main course.

Chocolate souffle and almond biscuits rounded the evening off nicely.

We really enjoyed the intimate and friendly atmosphere and would return next time we're in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WJOSHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in a very pretty town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Another beautiful town in Puglia and another great restaurant. Park the car and wander the town a bit, then sit down for a great meal. Its akin to a small Italian restaurant you see on a cooking show. You see the two chefs cook in the back and are served by one or two waiters. The chef and the principal waiter could not be nicer. All our dishes were great, good wine list and a pretty room. Recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tengohambre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Alberobello, Province of Bari
Alberobello, Province of Bari
 
Alberobello, Province of Bari
Alberobello, Province of Bari
 
Alberobello, Province of Bari
Alberobello, Province of Bari
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing