We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great kitchen !!”
Review of Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antico Borgo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arcevia
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this wonderful small hotel. The location is great - very remote and relaxing - but just about 30 minutes from the sea and in the middle of the white wine area of Marche.

Our suite was nice and tasteful with a very cosy bathroom. Outside is a little patio to enjoy the sun in the afternoon. Also there is a pool and a sundeck with fantastic views over the hills of Marche.

The owners - Samira and Fabrizio - are great; always friendly and very helpful; really nice hosts!

But the best of all is the food, offered a la carte or halfboard. Fabrizio is a great chef and his restaurant, being in a bigger city like Firenze, Rome or Milano, would easily earn at least 1 Michelin Star ....

Thanks for a unique stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Take the Suite - spacious room with a nice bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 208 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet spot in a beautiful national park and is close to the spectacular Frassassi caves. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, and able to give individual attention as there are only a few rooms. The hotel and restaurant are in tastefully renovated old buildings with lashings of character. Our room had exposed stone work and wooden beams yet a stylish modern bathroom. The restaurant had a very pleasant atmosphere, and our meals were cooked according to our individual preferences. The presentation and flavour of the food were delightful and the portions just right. The local wine was good too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Countryhouse Antico Borgo is run by Fabrizio and his wife Amira. They started with this Borgo a few years ago after severe renovations of this 600 year-old construction in order to accommodate guests in 6 luxury rooms. During our 2 weeks holliday in Italy we originally planned to stay 1 week in this Borgo and 1 week in another hotel in Umbrie, However we ended-up staying here the entire holliday, because we liked it here so much! The place is isolated in the countryside, however with a car you can easily visit the countless ancient walled villages and cities in the area and the beaches of the Adriatic sea are within an easy hour drive.
Fabrizio, the chefowner knows how to keep you within his cosy restaurant of the Borgo for your meals. He is an excellent chef and after your first dinner here, you want to taste more! However don't expect any maritime dinners of fish or seafood. Fabrizio's speciality is meat and delicious Italian pasta's. All individual meals are of high quality and made of fresh ingedients which you can combine with excellent wines from the Borgo's list. As we locally heard, this restaurant is nominated for an entry in the Michelin guide of 2013 and we definitely can recommend this place for a quiet holiday in the beautiful Marche countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eijsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Everything about our stay here was perfect. The host and chef, Fabrizio, is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. My boyfriend and I were the only people staying the night we were there, so he upgraded us to a gorgeous room (though I am sure they are all beautiful), and cooked us an incredible meal even though we had no reservation at his restaurant that evening and he had no other staff there to help (because we had no reservation, which was totally fair!) We said we would be fine getting a meal somewhere else, but he really wanted to make us comfortable, and he certainly did. The price of our stay and dinner was shockingly inexpensive for the incredible value. Highly, highly recommend Antico Borgo to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensd929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very nice location to start the Vespa tour , every day in a different direction . A part of the country,less known by tourists but very beautiful. After a long day touring in the country side , a great dinner with a nice wine from the region. This is life.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My partner and I spent four days at Antico Borgo as we took day trips around Le Marche, and it was the perfect place to enjoy the region. The inn is nicely decorated, and it's located on rolling hills in farmland; on nice mornings, their simple breakfast outside is really pleasant. The rooms are warm and pretty -- although access to some is via a narrow staircase -- and everything is well maintained. The best features, though are the host/chef Fabrizio and his wife, who are very warm, friendly and relaxed innkeepers. Fabrizio offers a 20 Euro/person dinner package for guests, and our recommendation is to take it. Each night it was a pleasant surprise to see what he had prepared in four courses, and while each guest gets the same meal, he's happy to make substitutions upon request. (We've known some rabbits personally, and were served beef instead.) The food reflects the Le Marche region; it's fresh, simple and incredibly tasty. Truffle lasagna -- so good! For GPS users, note that the address delivers you a couple hundred meters down the road from the actual entrance. Our stay was really nice, and this is a great option for folks who want a home base to explore the region.

Room Tip: Note that some rooms are a little hard to get to with bulky suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Perfect location of the Marche vinyards, and the landlord Fabrizio can share useful advice on what to try. The room (we had the suite) was comfortable and spacious, and had a nice country-house feel. We enjoyed the private terrace and also the swimming pool is great after long hot days of visiting. we had dinner once in the restaurant, and enjoyed the imaginative food and good wine recommendation. Not sure if I like the music coming from loudspeakers all day long, but to be fair, the volume was at adequate levels. There's a playground (great for kids) and a dog (friendly). and it is easy to reach from Ancona airport. Great little place for a get-away into the Italian Dolce Vita. I can imagine this place to be a good option also for family gatherings or small groups, with the choice of interconnectable rooms and then the shared use of terraces.
I congratulate the owners who decided to leave uninspiring Belgium to open this place and combine work with pleasure! Smart choice!

Room Tip: If you want more space, incl. your own terrace, take the Suite. There is another larger room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoxBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcevia hotels
6.1 mi away
Il Paradiso del Re
Il Paradiso del Re
#2 of 2 in Arcevia
35 reviews
2 mi away
B&B Bosimano
B&B Bosimano
#12 of 14 in Arcevia
7 reviews
6.9 mi away
Palazzo Capuccio
Palazzo Capuccio
#2 of 5 in Arcevia
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Fontanelle
Le Fontanelle
#11 of 14 in Arcevia
3 reviews
4.8 mi away
Agriturismo La Cantina di Bacco
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Leccio
Agriturismo Il Leccio
#10 of 14 in Arcevia
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo

Address: Frazione Castiglioni 86 | Localita Piagge, 60011 Arcevia, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Arcevia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arcevia
Price Range: $59 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Borgo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the sea (25 km from Senigallia) and mountains, Antico Borgo is born in the hills and countryside of the Marche, a few steps from Castiglioni, one of the castles Arcevia. We will close from 08/2017 until 05/2018 for improvements to serve better our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing