We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great views and serenity”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel above Levanto has beautiful views and comfortable well equipped rooms.
The staff are efficient and welcoming, buffet breakfast was fine - breakfast with the stunning view - and the atmosphere relaxing. Spacious terrace to sit and unwind.
The shuttle service to the town and train station worked well for us and we got good advice where to eat dinner and transport information. The hotel serves only cold meals but we enjoyed the one evening meal there.
We were impressed with all the members of staff - always full of information - our rooms exceeded expectations.
All in all I recommend Hotel Al Terra di Mare, conveniently located for the pretty villages of the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - the views are great.
See more room tips
Green Features: Impressive practices - definitely an environmentally friendly hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    99
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
60
201
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel was nice, though not easy to find, especially seeing as our Internet Maps function was not working. The room was spacious, no view at all, hard bed and pillows (typical of 3 star hotels in Italy, though usually 4 star hotels are better, i.e. softer beds); nice bathroom, shower only. The staff were pleasant and helpful, though no-one mentioned the 10 euro charge for the 3-4 minute ride when offering shuttle rides to and from the town. Breakfast was okay, nice on terrace. If you want to use the in-room safe, you must request a key. Air conditioning only works when door and window are closed. Room smelled a little musty when we first entered, but the smell dissipated after we had the air on for a few minutes.
Levanto has few redeeming features, certainly not its restaurants nor any innate natural beauty. The beach is narrow and limited, but full of chairs and umbrellas to rent. The only reason to come here is because it is a gateway to the Cinque Terre towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, or at least one that is not on the main walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

In a beautiful setting. Look past the pylons though. The sea is a long way away also.
So peaceful. Beautiful terrace to sit and relax.

The room we had was very expensive for the quality and position. No view no seating area. Net curtains otherwise you look into room opposite. No curtains. Very bright light on somewhere.

I would not use this hotel for visiting the cinque terre region. You need to rely on the shuttle car.
Or have your own transport but really you are there to relax not drive. Our train was cancelled we were only in the next village... When the next train arrived we had missed the last shuttle and we had to walk back from the station. We did have a torch. A necessity. A very long and steep climb in the dark. Without a torch it would be dangerous to do.

Room Tip: Pay LOTS more money to get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a lovely place! Set high on a hillside overlooking the sea, this charming hotel offers a great respite from the tourist crowding the Cinque Terre towns. Great swimming pool, awesome patio and best of all, peace and quiet. The only sounds you hear are the church bells in the distance. To get to Levanto, which is filled with fabulous restaurants, and the train to Cinque Terre, you'll need to rely on a car, a taxi, the hotel shuttle or an extremely sturdy set of legs. The uphill climb to the hotel from the main road is a bit of a challenge. But well worth any effort because the place is truly delightful.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a view with a view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentFlyer513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Lookout, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay away from the crowds at CinqueTerre. The hotel and staff were lovely and the breakfast very satisfying. We highly recommend this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay in Levanto along with CT.

Room Tip: We didn't get a terrace with a view and maybe we should have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Writing this from the hotel terrace overlooking the stunning scenery of Levanto, down to the sea. I don't think there is anything we can fault with this hotel. The location is great - overlooking Levanto and high enough up the valley to feel completely secluded and peaceful. The hotel itself is reasonably new but retains the Italian terrace look and feel. The rooms are large, clean and well equipped. And, most importantly, the welcome from the reception staff was warm and friendly and we were given plenty of time to unload the car and get our luggage to the room before "officially" checking in.

The hotel offers a lovely outdoor edgeless swimming pool with views to die for. Free towels and poolside drinks, snacks and ice cream make it feel that extra bit special. The terrance for drinks, breakfast or cold meals is lovely with various different areas so that you can escape if necessary.

Location wise the hotel is VERY high up from Levanto town but offers a regular and reliable shuttle service to the station and the town for €5 per room each way. This allowed us to get to town in the evening (last shuttle back at 11pm) for dinner and to the station to head into the Cinque Terre to explore in the morning.

Other benefit are free wifi and undercover, free parking. All in all, you cannot go wrong with this great hotel and we'd definitely recommend it to anyone. We'll certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I recently stayed at Al Terra do Mare B&b with my sister. I can't say enough good tangs about my experience! The location is fantastic, close enough to the action but far enough so you can have time to relax and enjoy the scenery without the mob and noise. The hotel has a van that takes several trips throughout the night up to 11pm to take you down to the train station so you can start your travels. The place is very clean, the breakfast served is delicious. The family who owns the place is there all the time and make you feel at home. I highly recommend his B&b. I will definately be back! By the way, I was visiting with my sister but I highly recommend this place for a couples trip. It is very romantic .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level so you can enjoy the scenery and leave the windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trirun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#10 of 15 in Levanto
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Terra di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Terra di Mare

Property: Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Address: Localita Gallona, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Levanto
#4 Family Hotel in Levanto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Terra di Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Levanto, the door to the Cinque Terre, Hotel Al Terra di Mare recalls a small Ligurian village, surrounded by silence of vineyards and olive-trees. The hotel is designed as a typical village and the rooms have an independent entrance on picturesque alleyways leading to the Piazzetta, a panoramic terrace overlooking the valley and the sea where the bar is located (with free WiFi). The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, have free internet access (Wi-Fi and cable), air conditioning, minibar and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms overlook the narrow streets, others have panoramic views over the valley or the sea, and some have balconies or terraces. In summer you can enjoy a beautiful outdoor pool where drinks and ice creams are available in the cool shade of the pines. Breakfast is served on a nice terrace overlooking the sea, it offers a rich buffet of fresh and local products.The hotel has free parking, a garage, a shuttle service to the beach, the center and the train station (2 km away). Using solar energy with photovoltaic and solar panels, installed on the roofs, the hotel meets most of its energy needs fully respecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Al Terra di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Terra Di Mare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing