We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and excellent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quiet and excellent rooms”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

There is lots of good info on the worthiness of this hotel in other reviews. Biggest pluses: it is service oriented, super clean and in a pretty location. Drawbacks: 30min + walk from town (uphill or downhill depending on which way you are going) and therefore the station; if you have a car parking is expensive at station (train only way to get to cinque terre) or anywhere in town and virtually no free parking available; no restaurant at hotel so you have to eat in town; hotel provides shuttle to and from town (10 Euros return/ room) which runs to a timetable and has 2 drop off/ pick up points, the station and the tourist Information near the beach. Is it worth it? If you are only going to Levante to visit cinque terre get a hotel in town. It is probably worth paying the hotel parking surcharge if you have a car or it is an easy walk to the station if you don't. If you want a little more and are spending a few days then this hotel is an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a superior double is worth it in this small hotel. Great sized room with big windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    97
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
57
193
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is perfect for escaping the hustle and bustle of Cinque Terre. It is a quiet location that overlooks Levanto, a nice little beach town. By train you are just a few minutes to Cinque Terre.

To explore Levanto, the hotel offers an inexpensive shuttle to town and will even pick you up later in the evening - so we had no need to rent a car.

Our room was large and clean. The common areas had wonderful views. There was even an infinity pool where you could swim and gaze at the ocean in the valley below.

Breakfast was served every morning and the bar stay open late enough for a final drink on the terrace. The staff was delightful and always willing to provide help and information.

I highly recommend the spot!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This a calm, relaxing hotel in the hills overlooking Levanto (a very lovely town). The hotel offers on-demand transport to the town very cheaply, so you really don't need a car to stay here. It's well situated in Levanto which means you can get easily to the Cinque Terra towns and walk between them if you want to.The hotel is spotlessly clean, has large rooms (we had fantastic views down the valley to sea) and most have private balconies. There is a good size pool and plenty of little nooks so that you can get away from other guests if you want to. It serves full, fresh breakfasts with lovely coffee. The bar is always open. The staff are incredibly friendly, informative and very welcoming. Overall, it's a wonderful place and I'd definitely return...maybe for longer next time.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view the deluxe rooms are excellent but they are a little noisier as they are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We needed a break from the city after arriving from Firenze. Initially concerned that we may be too far out but the shuttle was available daily and we used this without any problems. There is a fee for this service that we initially thought was free. The rooms were fairly large and the beds although firm were quite comfortable. The location of our room was nothing special. Tucked in the back with a small patio and no view. Our other companions were able to get a room in the front of the building with a view to the sea. Our bathroom had a window with clear glass and no covering which was a problem. I brought it to the attention of the staff and it was taken care of by the time we returned that evening. Breakfasts are served in either the enclosed dining area or on the patio overlooking the the mountainside that slopes to the sea. One of the hotel staff Mirko was exceptionally helpful and truly tried to be attentive and hospitable. Levanto is a beautiful seaside community just outside the Cinque terra but easy to reach via the train or boat. It was less crowded , less hilly and seemed to have fewer folks on the beach. After visiting the cinque terra I think I would prefer Levanto.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armynurse7393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is situated very close to Cinque Terra (CT) and therefore is very convenient if you want to visit the area.
Is in an uphil and in a nice very area.
The staff are very useful and very helpful
The hotel room... very clean and "new"
The swiming pool convenient!
Excellent view of Levanto!
This is a hotel I would visit again and again. Ideal for families and couples.

The negative parts:
Bar closes at 11:30 in summer but is understandable since it is a quite hotel
Lights go out at 01:10! So if you wonder outside after that time you might need a torch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel lies in the hills some 1,5 km from Levanto. It has many smaller houses and little alleys in between. The atmosphere is very nice and the owners are very friendly and always willing to help. The pool is nicely located some 50 meters down from the hotel so it does not disturb the non-swimmers. We took 2 rooms with seaview. The lack of a balcony is immediately compensated by the large terrasses of the hotel. The hotel has no restaurant but serves cold dishes for dinner. Breakfast is superb.
We liked the quiet atmosphere of the hotel, the beautifull view over the sea and the hills and the firiendly staff. The shuttle to Levanto is convenient (at a price) and although it has a timetable it can actually be called at any moment.
The boat trip to cinque terra can start from Levanto but if the schedule does not fit exactly, the train serves as a good interconnection. Don't take the train for all villages of cinque terra as you will not be able to see anything (it runs through tunnels).
We were fortunate to visit the hotel at the 25th of July when the patrionat festival was there. Impressive!
A very nice place to stay if you visit cinque terra!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Wonderfull hotel and place.
Big and nice rooms for Italian standard, lovely pool, friendly staff, good shuttle to the centre, good breakfast,...
Only downside is the distance to Levanto and Levanto itself.
We have been to nicer places than Levanto in Italy i am afraid. Good base to check out Cinque Terre on the other hand.
Free beach is available but only so and so as well...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobydick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 15 in Levanto
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Terra di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Terra di Mare

Property: Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Address: Localita Gallona, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Levanto
#4 Family Hotel in Levanto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Terra di Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Levanto, the door to the Cinque Terre, Hotel Al Terra di Mare recalls a small Ligurian village, surrounded by silence of vineyards and olive-trees. The hotel is designed as a typical village and the rooms have an independent entrance on picturesque alleyways leading to the Piazzetta, a panoramic terrace overlooking the valley and the sea where the bar is located (with free WiFi). The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, have free internet access (Wi-Fi and cable), air conditioning, minibar and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms overlook the narrow streets, others have panoramic views over the valley or the sea, and some have balconies or terraces. In summer you can enjoy a beautiful outdoor pool where drinks and ice creams are available in the cool shade of the pines. Breakfast is served on a nice terrace overlooking the sea, it offers a rich buffet of fresh and local products.The hotel has free parking, a garage, a shuttle service to the beach, the center and the train station (2 km away). Using solar energy with photovoltaic and solar panels, installed on the roofs, the hotel meets most of its energy needs fully respecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Al Terra di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Terra Di Mare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing