We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Sosta di Ottone III
Ranked #26 of 50 Levanto B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2008

The owner was very helpful ..... before we arrived.

The hotel dog is the most welcoming and redeeming asset. Oh, theres a really irritating barking neighbours dog which will have you up from 6a.m.

This hotel is very remote and your own transport is an absolute must. Theres zippo in Chiesanova but a good local restaurant a 20 minute schlepp up the hill - dodging crazy local drivers -where the food is very good. Real local feeling.

For a hotel of this category its somewhat dissapointing that theres no bar, no tea or coffee facilities., nothing except a minibar. So bring your own.

Quite unwelcoming really as if you are an imposition on the owners. Arrived here starving and thirsty, and after schlepping our own bags down a dog poo path we were left isolated and had to find our own way back to the nearest town Levanto or Monterosso after not even being offered a drink of water!!!!

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank thefullmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2007

We found this tiny hotel on the internet for use as a one night stop on our way down to Rome.
It is located about 20 minutes from the main Genoa Pisa motorway just outside Levanto.
The hotel only has four bedroom suites.
It is located on the edge of a small hamlet.
Be warned that it is accessed by parking in a layby on the main road ( if you follow the directions exactly it was easy to find but would be difficult to find at night), walking up the road ( no pavment) 20 metres, crossing the road and following a footpath (50 meters long and lit at night) down into a hamlet where the hotel is at the end of the path on the left. We were a little concerned at leaving the car ( fully laden) in the lay by overnight but were assured the hotel had never had a problem.
You will not find a quieter location.
The hotel was in immaculate condition in a fully restored old building.
We wondered in and were met by the dog ( Grace - very friendley and always wanting to play) and Jo ( very pleasant American woman who helps her daughter / son in law to run the hotel).
Our bedroom suite comprised a large bedroom with double bed, a dressing room with another bed in it and a bathroom.The bedroom had fantastic views, was in perfect condition with antique furniture. The bathroom was a lovely, unusual, design with mosiacs to the wall and bath tub.
From the hotel we walked into the hamlet and exchanged 'bon journos' with the locals. You could walk on footpaths down to Levanto if you wanted ( we were told about 40 mins) but probably impossible in the dark!.
Levanto is about 10 mins in the car and is a small but lively resort.
If you want to eat at the hotel you have to book in advance, so as we were only staying one night and had not booked we eat out.
We had breakfast on a lovely outside terrace with views and peace that you rarely find - pity we had to leave for Rome. Would have liked to stay for another day at least to savour the atmosphere.
To be honest probably more like a very expensive, upmarket, bed & breakfast than an hotel - but is was great and worth the money. About 170 euros for the night for the two of us.
Jo and her daughter were very friendly and easy to get on with.
Jo recommended and booked a restaurant for us in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purcellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Imagine - 1000 years of history, true Italian 'style', romantic balconies - all subtly combined with ultra contemporary facilities - this is the Italy I just adore. For anyone who loves mountain tranquility, medieval villages studded like jewels into the wooded Appenines, wine dark sea glimpsed below, all interlaced with the above, then LA SOSTA is also for you.

Enjoy church bells reverberating across the valleys and the beautiful simplicity of the vistas whilst eating the freshest of al fresco breakfasts. The promise of the Cinque Terre villages and stunning Ligurian coastal voyages is ever present.

I hear September and October are fantastic months for good weather and the Cinque Terre villages are less crowded also. We found the owners and staff to be quiet and unobtrusive but very helpful when we wanted advice or information. We valued their help with choosing eating places for evening meals. For example, on our first night we sampled an excellent classic Ligurian fish soup in a popular Levanto restaurant which they recommended.

The family collie dog is a complete joy and impeccably trained.

Aim to organise your ascent or descent, whether walking or motoring. Plan your meals and have a torch for the last 100 metres or so back to the hotel at night!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Just spent 4 nights at Lasosta. Stayed in Ottone room with superb views from all 3 windows. Luxurious bathroom and very high quality tasteful decorations. Lovely terrace for breakfast and delightful outside areas to sit and read or simply enjoy the views. Very calm, peaceful ambience away from the bustle of the Italian riviera. Very useful to have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Elliesaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

La Sosta di Ottone is a country inn set in a medieval Italian village perched above the seaside town of Levanto. The renovated stone structure preserves its historic ambiance while adding modern amenities like soaking tubs, luxury sheets and towels, room refrigerators to keep your wine chilled and high speed internet - should you feel the urge to stay connected. The Inn is very clean, the rooms nicely, albeit sparsely appointed and the mattresses comfortably firm.

Enjoy breakfast on the garden terrace overlooking the spires of medieval churches and the Cinque Terre hills that plunge into the Tyrrhenian Sea along this rugged coast. Catered dinners are also available in the Inn's stone and beamed dining room. There are many restaurant choices available in Levanto and the neighboring towns - most reachable by car and/or train.

All of the Cinque Terre towns and hiking trails are conveniently reached by train from Levanto station - about five minutes to Monterosso and less than half an hour to the southern-most Riomaggiore. Day trips to Genova, Lucca, Pisa and Firenze are easily doable. A car or scooter is mandatory for purposes of getting to and from the hillside village of Chiesanuova, where the Inn is located, down to Levanto - about 10 minutes. The innkeepers and their staff are delightful, helpful and available. Ci vediamo!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RYG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

We stayed at La Sosta last spring and found it absolutely enchanting. The large room was very comfortable and offered spectular sunset views over the Mediterranean every evening. Great care had gone into every aspect of the inn's renovation -- the bathroom was spacious and well-designed, the bed linens and towels top quality, the climate control easy to operate and quiet, and the breakfasts were superb. Best of all, our hosts, Angela and Fabio, made every effort to make our stay oustanding -- from help with dinner reservations and parking, to fresh flowers in the room, to a four-course gourmet dinner prepared onsite that included: an antipasti of zucchini-onion tart garnished with local, tiny anchovies, a primi piatti of rotini with either pesto (a Genovese specialty) or Bolognaise sauce, a secundo piatti of roast veal slices with roasted potatoes, and a dessert of homemade pear tart. Angela recommended a crisp white Ligurian wine from their cellar, assuring us that if we didn't find it to our liking, she would be glad to take it with her. She didn't have a chance -- it was delicious and a perfect accompaniment to a perfect meal!

This was our first visit to the Cinque Terre region, but we're already looking forward to our next opportunity, and La Sosta will definitely be a major part of it.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sgdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank luepas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Valentina
Villa Valentina
#3 of 50 in Levanto
207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
506 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
465 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Sant'Andrea Levanto
B&B Sant'Andrea Levanto
#39 of 50 in Levanto
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sosta di Ottone III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sosta di Ottone III

Address: Localita Chiesa Nuova 39, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range: $260 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Sosta di Ottone III 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique Hotel & Kitchen: off the beaten track, four historic rooms, sea view and a Chef & Sommelier ... relax & savor in harmony with local heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your La Sosta di Ottone III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sosta Di Ottone Iii Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing