We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, historic getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sosta di Ottone III

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sosta di Ottone III
Ranked #32 of 49 Levanto B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, historic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for a unique place to enjoy the beauty and culture of Cinque Terra, you must go to LaSosta d'Ottone. The inn is tucked away in the beautiful hills overlooking the sea. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The staff is exceptional and make you feel welcome and relaxed. They helped us plan our day, recommended spots where the locals go and excellent restaurants. We've made LaSosta a destination must whenever we are in Italy. During our visits, we've met several guests from various parts of the world who shared our sentiments about LaSosta. The inn is one of those places that memories bring you back. MSR, Charleston, SC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Horgen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Perfect for a romantic stay - this wonderfully restored old Italian house is very quiet and peaceful, surrounded by beautiful landscape with sea view and offers luxurious rooms. You can buy some good wine, specially selected by the owner. Very nice and helpful staff. Only the breakfast is not worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

If you are young and not bothered by the remoteness, difficulty in finding the hotel, inadequate (or worse) air conditioning, but want a view of the Mediterranean, beautiful bathrooms, attractive rooms (not large but adequate), this may be the trip for you. The inn is close to the Cinqua Terre . But you must (underlined) have a car. Food and wine are a 15 minute drive to Levanto or Monterosso, the later being the northern most village of the Cinque Terre. Some of you will never return and some may. But at 230 Euros, I expect more. The grounds need a great deal of work in comparison to the quality of the rooms. We will not return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrjambrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent three nights at La Sosta during a recent vacation in Northern Italy. Our reason for choosing this inn was its proximity to the Cinque Terre. La Sosta is in a very convenient location for those with a car. You can be in Monterosso al Mare (the first of the Cinque Terre towns coming from the north) or the center of Levanto in minutes. Both towns have parking areas that are reasonably priced and within walking distance of good restaurants. Most importantly, Monterosso al Mare provides multiple transportation options (hiking, train, and ferry) for those who want to explore the remaining four towns of the Cinque Terre – Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore.

We did not have dinner at La Sosta, but were given good recommendations for restaurants in town by the woman who checked us in. The recommendations were given strongly and reservations were almost pressed on us as a necessity. At first we thought there might be a special arrangement between the inn and the restaurants, but we later discovered why they pushed us toward these places. After some experimentation on our own, we realized there are only a handful of good restaurants in each town. We discovered some poor-quality tourist traps that made us long for the great meals we had at the restaurants recommended by La Sosta.

We had breakfast each morning in the lovely breakfast room. For 15 euro per guest, we were able to choose five items per person from a menu that included both hot and cold options. We had breakfasts at the other two hotels we stayed at during our trip and this was by far our favorite (local fruit, honey, jams, cheeses, and eggs made to order). In fact, we visited the local co-op in Levanto where the honey and jams came from on our last day, to take some of the flavors home with us.

Our room was the Silvestro II. As you will see from our photos, it is spacious, softly decorated, and has a great view. We peeked into the Ottonne III as it was being cleaned. It is just as large, nice and has the same view of the valley with water in the distance.

Everyone we met who works at the property was friendly, helpful and accommodating. After visiting the Cinque Terre, we decided to take a day-trip to Lucca. Jo gave us a map of Lucca and suggestions on the best ways to enjoy the town. Later in our trip we were planning to drive to Venice and Jo recommended a worthwhile stop on the way: the town of Vincenza.

We had a wonderful time and wish we had spent a day or two more at La Sosta so that we could have enjoyed the inn itself for longer. The outdoor common areas are the perfect places to relax with a book and bottle of wine. We plan to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoamingRib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

When I learned about this hotel through my friends at JDBhotels.com, I thought they must be engaged in hyperbole or at least we exaggerating. Having stayed for a few days, I can assure you it was every bit as beautiful and relaxing as I was led to believe. There is a bing cherry tree, if you are lucky to be there at the right time, you can pull a handful of ripe cherries on your way up the path. The staff and owners are friendly and super knowledgeable. The Accommodations are fantastic and perfectly geek sheik (read ancient distressed floors, no tv, but a perfect wifi connection). My only regret is that we spent as much time elsewhere, and had a few days at La Sosta. I would go back in heartbeat.

Todd

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToddBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

La Sosta is a real haven. Beautiful, secluded, views are incredible and the service is really excellent - the family know the area and advise on trips, restaurants, beaches, activities etc in a way we found very helpful. Access is via a leafy lane from the windy road down to Levanto but once you get there you can really relax in the peaceful, fragrant and gentle calm of La Sosta. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluBee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

La Sosta is delightful if difficult to reach. I called as we made our way there on Sunday afternoon to say we might be a little late, as they normally close the office at 18h00 (we made it by 18h15). After following the directions, which probably couldn't be written much better but read like a scavenger hunt ("This parking space (not lit) is just beyond a driveway with gates also on the left. At the top of the parking space you will also see a cement water tank."). They have beautiful photos of the inn on their web site; it would be helpful to include a photo of the parking area so we knew what we were looking for. After missing it and finding it on the return trip, we dragged our luggage across the street and down the gravel path that would lead us to the inn. The directions were somewhat optimistic about walking distances from the car, but we enjoyed the adventure. Fabio, the owner, helped us up the last few stairs with a couple of bags.

After that we would not see Fabio again. The inn is not staffed around the clock, which was fine for our needs. We were greeted at breakfast the next morning by Jo, Fabio's mother-in-law from Montreal. She was very helpful in answering questions about the local activities and helping us plan our day. The breakfast itself was 10 euros per person per day but a nice meal that was worth the convenience.

We were awakened each day by over 50 peals of the church bell in the tower seen just out our window. We asked Jo about it; apparently it is the village wake-up call. Fabio had successfully gotten them to reduce the number of chimes down to 54 from some higher number.

We were there in the peak of summer heat. The room was air conditioned and it worked reasonably well, as well as any Italian hotel where we stayed. One morning I noticed the units were blinking red lights and not blowing air so I mentioned it to Jo. She said they turn the air conditioners off in the morning then back on late afternoon. This was OK with us since we would be out all day but would be bad news for anyone returning for an afternoon nap.

The rooms have names; we were in Adelaide. We had one large room that slept four comfortably (two adults and kids 10 and 13). The bathroom was large and well appointed. Although there are no laundry facilities (at least not available to guests), there is a clothes line on the lower terrace for hanging wet things. There was an armoire rather than a closet.

The room included two Cinque Terre passes, good for the train and paths, but we had four people so had to buy two more. The room also included a laptop computer with free Internet access, and a cell phone, perks which make this inn stand out. One day I strolled down to Chiesanuova, and chatted with one of the residents. It is a quiet village to be sure, featuring the "new church" built in the 1200s.

Dinner is an option for 35 euros per person if you reserve 24 hours in advance (sometimes you can squeak in early the same morning; Fabio does the shopping in the morning for that night's dinner). The one night we had dinner, it was elegantly served on the terrace. They made no accommodations for meals for children. The portions were larger than what we were used to in Italy. The first course was farfalle with pesto, which they did serve to our kids with the pesto on the side. The second course was rabbit, which seemed to be either a tougher cut or indelicate preparation, and served in a rather dry recipe instead of the stew in which rabbit is most often seen in the U.S. I had to withhold the origin of the meant from my daughter who thinks rabbits are too cute to eat, but the kids merely picked at it anyway. Dessert was a couple of store-bought cookies and a glass of also-store-bought zabaglione. The meal was not as good as the ones we had for the same price at our inn near Cortona (see our review of Villa di Piazzano), and a family dinner for 140 euros plus maybe 20 euros for a bottle of wine (a total of over $230 at current exchange rates) was not as good a value as the meals we had in the nearby towns of Levanto and Monterosso for under 100 euros and gelato for 8 euros down the street.

On checkout, a housekeeper took our bags to the street for us in a contraption that looked like a lawnmower in the back and a cart on tank treads in the front. It easily negotiated the path and carried all our baggage. The room was 180 euros per night, plus 10 euros for breakfast per person.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levanto
1.8 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Abetaia
Hotel Abetaia
#4 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Blu di Te
Hotel Blu di Te
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sosta di Ottone III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sosta di Ottone III

Property: La Sosta di Ottone III
Address: Localita Chiesa Nuova 39, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique Hotel & Kitchen: off the beaten track, four historic rooms, sea view and a Chef & Sommelier ... relax & savor in harmony with local heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Sosta di Ottone III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sosta Di Ottone Iii Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing