We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked All the Boxes!”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Ticked All the Boxes!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and i stayed here whilst we were on our honeymoon and found it to be excellent. The location is fantastic, the hotel is situation opposite the beach and is close by to restaurants and shops including a travel agent directly across the road. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to give us directions for various things. The rooms were spacious, clean and had large balconies. The breakfast was complimentary and very nice, and there is also free WIFI! I would highly recomment this hotel to anyone, singles, couples and families. Also very safe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    138
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
177
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers everything including wifi in room, English speaking TV channels, kettle/ fridge in the room and is comfortable and clean. Pillows were a bit hard. The breakfast offered is superb and the staff and owners are absolutely brilliantly friendly and helpful. This hotel so far has ticked nearly all our boxes. They also had car parking not too far away free. The rooms were quiet from hearing others. However our room was a problem and I must point this out as I think it is only room 502 that is affected. We were the roof top and on the roof above our room was the air conditioning units so the humming off and on during the night for me was terrible and I have to say I never had a good sleep. Such a shame as the hotel was perfect in every other way. Mentioned twice to the owners but of course what can they do. We walked in off the street after reading trip advisor and this was not the room he offered at first but was the only other room and we took it without knowing of the roof noise. Would have been good if he had advised us. I spoke to another guest in the room next to us and he didn't hear it. To see the sea you would have to be 3rd floor up I would think. Great place to stay and at breakfast a lot of things are on offer for you to take on your walks including packed biscuits/cheese and fruit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Jenny
thanks for spending your time writing your impressions about our hotel; the recommendations and suggestions of our guests always help us to get better and to improve our job.
We are trying to solve problem with machine of air conditioning putting silent material around machine.
I look forward to meet you again in Levanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The property has a modern feel, is clean and has everything you need for a stay in Levanto. Other posters have discussed the walk to/from the station but didn't mention the hills and the rough streets. I recommend a taxi for 10e, money well spent when it's 30 degrees. Our first room was 5 and it is to be avoided, on the main street and next to reception. We were moved for the rest of our stay and really enjoyed it. Breakfast was good continental, staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank One Chop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and really enjoyed it. Not only is it close to the beach and the start of the wonderful hiking trails, it is close to everything else. Only the parking and train stations are about 10-15 minute walk away, but we enjoyed the walk through old Levanto every time. The room was very clean, quiet (on the mountain side) and well appointed. The staff was extremely helpful and everyone spoke good English so that all needs could be met in no time. The Wi-fi in rooms was particularly welcome, and the breakfast was more than we expected - plentiful and served with a big smile by the staff.
The reception staff offered a host of good tips and advice on the hiking and the restaurants in town, and spared no effort to cater to their guests. They even lent us 100 Euros the first night as we arrived too late for us to change more of our foreign currency to buy dinner locally - without receipt or questions asked. We were just blown away by that gesture as we only inquired where to change money that evening.
Levanto is a great place to visit the 5 villages by train or on foot, hiking over the georgeous trails amid olive gardens and fragrant flowers, high on the cliffs over the crashing waves of the ocean. We highly recommend the Hotel Garden to anyone who wants good value, convenient location and excellent service by friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains are quieter; rooms overlooking the street are good for people watching bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Chris,
thanks a lot for spending your tome writing this review.
We are really happy that you spend a good time in Levanto.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is really about15 min. walk from the train station, and a 2 min. walk from the beach. Great location near everything, no disturbanses during the night (not even the bell tower which chimes every 15 min.) Booked single room, got queen size bed. Spotless rooms. (Levanto is perfect as starting point for the Cinque Terre). Staff was great, helping with every question I had & provided maps etc. A big thx to senora Francesca :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wikander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Anewi,
thanks for sharing online your impressions about our hotel.
Francesca send you best regards.
I look forward to meet you again in Levanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This gorgeous hotel is directly opposite the beach. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. There is wi-fi for all guests too which was a massive bonus. If you dont have your own laptop or iphone, they have a computer there for guest use. If you are planning to visit Cinque Terre, Levanto is the place to stay. The ferry is a perfect way to enter the towns with stunning views. The ferry port is s short walk from the hotel and also has ferries to Portofino. Our room was really clean and comfortable. It was cleaned every morning by the very friendly cleaning staff. It is the perfect hotel to stay at because it is right in the centre of town. Staying up on the hill is a fair walk from town and could be tricky for older people or families with young kids. They also have family apartments. The breakfast was lovely, with a great range of food to have. Not hot food though, but lovely croissants and cereal, hams, cheese, yogurt and fruit. Ask for a room with a balcony over looking the water. Cant go wrong with the amazing views!! Dont stay anywhere else. Also, make sure you visit the gelati shop around the corner on your left as you exit. Not the one on the corner, but the one after that. I think its called Antica. They make their own gelati and it is amazing!! Try the strawberry meringue gelati. I had it 7 times in 5 days!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelleyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our three day stay in this hotel. It was a 15 minute walk from the train station while pulling our luggage (it was 10 minutes when we weren't carrying luggage). The hotel is right across from the beach and several good and inexpensive restaurants were nearby. Our stay included internet (no problem connecting) and breakfast (standard continental). The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The lobby is on the first floor so you will have to carry your luggage upstairs but the person at the desk INSISTED on helping us carry it. We had a triple room and it was spacious, modern, quiet and clean.

I felt that we really made the right choice by staying in Levanto instead of one of the Cinque Terre towns. Most of the other towns are quite small and really overrun with tourists. When we ate lunch in the other towns the prices all appeared to be higher than the were in Levanto. But what I most liked about staying in Levanto was that it had the feel that I was experiencing a real Italian town instead of one that was all geared toward tourists. On Saturday night I had to do laundry (there was a 24 hour laundry mat in the square right around the corner from the hotel) and while I was out I really got a feel for the local social scene. People of all ages (including families with small children) were out and about until late in the evening/morning.

I highly recommend this hotel and the town of Levanto as a base for visiting the Cinque Terre region.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
436 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#4 of 15 in Levanto
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Viale Italia 6, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
#5 Family Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cordiality, quality of service and friendship are the values that the Daneri - Cassola family make available to their guests who would like to spend a pleasant holiday in Levanto. We manage the hotel with modern and dynamic welcoming criteria, extended to improve the satisfying of our guests' needs. We are in the centre of town, a few metres from the beach, restaurants, bars and shops, from the ferry jetties and paths. The train for Cinque Terre and free reserved parking are a 15-minute walk away. We provide bikes for free for riding the new bike path along the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing