We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Villanova
Ranked #6 of 51 Levanto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing retreat”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Villanova was a great find for our time in the Cinque Terre region. While it is removed from the town of Levanto, our group of 5 found that to be a positive. Levanto was easily reachable by taxi, and the staff (Alberto) is always available to make sure your every need is met. It was wonderful to retreat to our inn at the end of the day and be able to experience the Italian countryside. We stayed in one of the 5 rooms at the inn, and not in an apartment, and one of the highlights of our day was the wonderful breakfast each morning. The cappuccino was delicious and the other offerings were always fresh and organic.

We also arranged for two cooking classes while we were there and Alberto was entertaining and knowledgeable.

Thanks to JeanCarlo and Alberto for their kindness and hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms in the inn are at the top of a hill. It is a walk from the breakfast area, and would not be r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here and took the train each day to the Cinque Terra villages. It was wonderful coming back to the green, open space after trekking through the busy villages each day. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, especially Alberto. The breakfasts can't be beat, and the showers were the best we had in Italy. We enjoyed having common areas to share with other guests, and had a ball with our "neighbors" from the U.K. and Germany. The cooking classes hosted by Alberto were excellent. Thanks JeanCarlo and Alberto for a great stay!!

Room Tip: We asked for airconditioning. The farmhouse up the hill from the main building was all aircondition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okobojimom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and had a lovely time. Bored of characterless hotels we were pleased to find Villanova charming and more authentic situated away from the crowds in a tranquil location. Alberto was always helpful and seemed to be on hand for 12 hours in the day - not sure when he ever got to go home! The room was lovely with great views, breakfast was extensive and eating out on the terrace every morning was a treat. Would recommend hiring bikes and cycling through the old tunnels to Framura and Bonasola. As it is situated out of levanto we think having a car is helpful but if you want to walk it's not that far to the edge of town although there is no pavement on the main road down and in the dark a torch is handy. Still we walked every evening as the food and wine made the walk worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Location: Very Convenient
-perfect "base camp" for exploring Cinque Terre and surrounding area
-nestled in the hills a five minute drive or twenty minute walk (brisk pace) from Levanto
-Levanto has a great beach, restaurants, shops, access to hiking trails, and train station
-you can hike from Levanto to the nearest village of Cinque Terre, Monterosso, in roughly 2.5 hours
-you must have a car to reach the hotel
Rooms: Comfortable enough
-apartments and regular rooms available
-look just like they do on the website
-dog friendly
-the apartments have very small kitchens
-very clean
-beds are quite uncomfortable, the pillows and the bed were just too stiff for our liking
Service: Excellent
-very friendly and helpful, offered recommendations for hiking and restaurants in Levanto
-we love the dog, Giro!
-we paid with debit card
-we didn't have the breakfast but it seemed quite popular with the other guests
Value: A bit pricey
-roughly $300/night
-breakfast is not included (at least in the apartment rate)
Overall: We really enjoyed our time at Villanova. The location is perfect, beautiful, and peaceful. We felt very relaxed during our stay. However, we thought the price was a little high considering the uncomfortable beds, tiny kitchen, and that the hotel isn't in a city center or Cinque Terre for that matter. Those are the only factors that prevented us from giving an excellent rating. We would recommend this Agriturismo, however, and we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a small kitchenette, Apartamento Emma. It was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tudoepossivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
1,551 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 785 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at this place for three nights, the place is very nice, clean and beds are comfortable, they have cable system with lots of channels so you can choose from all of them. They provide you with the key for front gate and for safety box, we got the last room up the hill and it was so quiet and wonderful to see the fireflies from our window at night and hear the birds chirping in the morning, the breakfast is very good and has a variety of choices and the crosaints are delicious. Alberto the owner is very strictly business guy so he receives you, gives you some explanations , introduces you to his nice dog named giro and leaves you on your own, they also sell some produce they make there.
RECOMMENDATIONS:
-you need a car to stay here because after the cinqueterre walk I doubt you want to walk more so bring your car to town and park everywhere in WHITE lines it's free.
- be cautious to ask how much the cover is before you sit in a restaurant the normal is between 2 and 2.50 euros
- bring your beverages to your room, they have a mini fridge but everything you see at the hotel is for sale.
THINGS THIS HOTEL CAN DO BETTER FOR THE CUSTOMERS:
- there's no wifi anywhere in the property unless you are in the breakfast area which is quiet inconvenient for the customers when in fact they can buy a 20 euros router and extend the internet service for the whole property.
-the place ONLY accepts payments in cash which again is inconvenient for the customer , getting a machine is better and faster.
-the place is listed as agriturismo but in fact I have been in some others and agriturismo gets you involved with the family activities, invite you to learn how they did their products and else, this one is strictly business I perceived which is also acceptable with the Italian economy .
NOTE: the above are recommendations only to make this place a better place to stay at, neither of these things stopped us from enjoying the place the way it is, we loved it and will recommend it to anyone coming to visit cinqueterre.
Grazie Alberto and giro.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Outstanding little B&B just outside of Levanto. The service was superb, the proprietors are incredibly nice and helpful in providing details about the town and how best to explore Cinque Terra. The food was perfection, all organic and fresh. Highly recommend the cappuccino. Will most certainly come again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CatieGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villanova for 4 nights in October. We stayed in Il Torchio which was perfect. The room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was recently renovated with a great shower. The breakfast was fabulous with two lovely women who prepared and served. Alberto and Giancarlo were very helpful both with the reservation process and the on site service. Villanova was very convenient to Cinque Terre either by train or boat. Levanto had many restaurants that were open even though it was after the summer season. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#7 of 15 in Levanto
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Clelia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Villanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villanova

Property: Agriturismo Villanova
Address: Localita Villanova, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villanova is a beautiful 17th century estate only 5 minutes from Levanto and its sandy beach, bordering Cinque Terre National Park. Rooms and apartments are in the main villa and in 2 charmingly restored historic farmhouses. Antique furniture adds to the elegant country-house feel. All have gardens with panoramic views. Start your day with a healthy organic breakfast buffet, rent a bike, relax on the beach or hike the many trails of Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Villanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Villanova Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing