We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When far away seems close”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Villanova
Ranked #6 of 50 Levanto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Don't let the pictures mislead you. Villanova is a pretty large domain a litle bit up in the hills of Levanto and it's just perfect for anybody that likes vintage looking accommodation with all the modern facilities you may need. Good parking, bike rental, wonderful property, ecological food,birds, beer, relax, very good sightseeing and ... Alberto. Always there to help , but only when needed.
The best beech in Cinque Terre is.... by the way in Levanto.
Thanks Alberto for the wonderful accommodation.
Carmen and Victor

Room Tip: Just take a room. We took Giovanni in the upper building and it has been perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 174 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My partner and I chose this agriturismo from the Sawdays website as a 'Special Place to Stay' so, mistakenly, assumed it would be absolutely first class. Wrong. The approach to the villa is wonderful once you are through the gates off a busy main road. We were met by Alberto and Giro (the dog); Alberto gave us a very thorough briefing on what was what and how to do it - I think Giro helped as well. Reception was in the hall of the villa and quite cramped which did not impress me that much but the welcome was genuine and warm. Our studio apartment, in the main house, consisted of a large bedroom, a small sitting/dining room, an extremely small kitchenette and a decent sized bathroom. The big let down was the lack of drawer space especially as we were staying a fortnight!. There was hanging space a plenty but we, in fact, spent most of the time living from suitcases. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was changed weekly (charge 10 euros) but the kitchen area was, for what was being charged for the apartment, abysmal. 2 solid hotplates (right next door to the small sink), no prep area (obviously self catering did not include anywhere to prepare food) and the door to the loo (bathroom) led directly off the kitchen. In many countries this would have been a complete no-no under whatever Health and Safety regulations were in force. The first night my dearly beloved was quite ill (nothing to do with the villa I must add) and had a bad time during the night. The staff (Alberton mainly) could not have been more helpful or understanding and expressed great concern over her health and welfare. We only took breakfast on our last morning but, although expensive by Italian standards, was well worth it. Because of the age and construction of the villa the WiFi only worked in, or near, the reception area but I found that, if I leaned out from the lounge window, I could connect with the WiFi! A little disingenuous with the WiFi facts I think. We had driven to to Liguria from the UK but left the car in the car park for the entire fortnight as the villa was only a mile from the town so easily walkable. In that respect the hotel is convenient but this establishment is expensive for what you get and is very old fashioned; I feel it could do with a decent make-over mainly in the kitchen area of the apartmente but I liked the position of the villa and its grounds but felt we could have got a much better deal by using a hotel in Levanto itself. I cannot agree with a previous reviewer as we both found Alberto and Gian Carlo pleasant and extremely helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We've booked 2 nights here as part of our tour through italy. On Arrival they had to check several times to find our booking. Then the guy showed us around the facility and the town map. when i asked for a map to Keep he said to take a photo of it as they don't have spare ones for the guests...then we were shown all their products they sell, when i asked for the Price of a bottle of wine he said he would tell me tomorrow. we were told wifi is available in the reception and breakfast area only. We were then shown to our room up in the farmhouse which was 120€ per night. On their Website the rooms are large and cosy looking and it sais "every room has a private deck". Our room was very small, we could basically walk around the bed and that was it. The "antike room decor" was plastic flowers in a Vase and old worn out rugs on the Brown tile floor. We had one window which measured 50cm by 50cm!! It was dark. There was no private deck whatsoever. The bathroom had a sliding door and was so tiny that when bending over you would bang your head on one wall and your bum on the other wall. The shower had mold in it and the toilet paper was like the one you get in public toilets. When we complained about the size of the room and asked to be shifted into a bigger one we were told it was not possible even though not all rooms were occupied. He also said that Pictures on the Internet sometimes do not match reality!!! We got back from our dinner at 11pm and even tho it was beginning of june it was still very cold, so we rung the owner to please turn on the central heating as our heater didnt warm up at all. He then came and complained that we should have rung him erlier...we told him again that we are not very happy at all with the Overall experience and he answered "well, that's your Problem, not mine".
As we got resonably angry about his rudeness he threatened to call the Police!!!
Afterwards i spent about 20 minutes in the breakfast room trying to connect to the wifi with no success. Wifi only works at reception wich is a 2m by 2m room with their desk in it and no chair whatsoever and it is only open a few hours in the morning and a couple of hours in the afternoon.
In the morning we had breakfast which was ok but not much selection considering the Price you pay. Also half the terrace was closed off and the tables sqeezed together instead. We left that morning, very upset and again got no apology at all.
Overall we can say that These 2 businessmen running the place have been extremely rude and arrogant and everything is the guest's fault. The rooms are highly overpriced and the discriptions on the Website are misleading!!
We ended up moving into a Hotel in town which was cheaper, the breakfast was bigger and most importantly the staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bullterrier4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Villanova, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

We had a very negative experience with this guest and his review gives a very poor picture of Villanova. When reading all the other positive comments of our guests it clearly shows that his descriptions do not reflect the truth.We do not know the motives of his very personal dissatisfaction, we only know that he was a very unpleasant guest complaining about everybody and everything. He showed very aggressive behavior, insulting and screaming at me about not having heat in the room in the month of June, waking up our guests. I was scared and called the police. He used very bad languages, a lot of the "F" word, even in front of families with children, showing no self-control. He told us that he would ask all his friends back home to write negative rewievs about Villanova. Thank god he is a single case in 15 years or else I would look for safer job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family stayed here in April for 2 nights and couldn't of asked for a more pleasant place to stay. The staff was SUPER FRIENDLY and very accomodating! The view was amazing and the outdoor seating made it very pleasant to just sit out and enjoy the scenery after a day of exploring Cinque Terra. One of our favorite parts of the trip was the interaction we had with Giru, the properties mascot which is a loveable Golden Retriever :) HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millirons22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. We got a great welcome, the staff and owner are wonderful. The breakfast was excellent. It is a little off the beaten track so a car is necessary. We did not have a self catering apartment but there was a table and chairs in the room and also outside along with two sun loungers. There were also barbeques available. There was a separate sitting room upstairs with tea and coffee making facilities but we felt badly using it late at night as two bedrooms opened off it. This is a great base for seeing the Cinque Terre as you can leave your car at the railway station for a reasonable cost and go by train.

Room Tip: Next time I will request a room near the main house - it was a bit of a walk to have breakfast but b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackr0ckgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stated at Villanova near Levanto for a couple of nights in March. We chose an apartment as we have two very small children and it meant that we could eat in and stay up when they'd gone to bed. It was recommended by Sawday's which is usually reliable.

We were paying 150 euro per night but the accommodation provided just did not match the price. The double bed had a thick rubber incontinence mattress protector, which didn't fit so created ridges and was unpleasant to sleep on. The "double bed" was actually two single mattresses pushed together but did not match leaving a gap in the middle. The draining board was so small it was difficult to wash up and that was essential as only 4 of everything was provided. Heating was provided by an air con unit and did not work effectively so we needed to watch the TV sitting under a duvet. Te bathroom smelled of damp and was freezing cold. There was a general sense of the cheapest of IKEA being provided. The garden was overgrown.

On checking out, I said that I didn't think that the price charged reflected the quality of the accommodation and took them to see all the problems I've mentioned here in the apartment. Out of season a rate of 100 euro would have seemed appropriate. He then asked me to pay an extra 19 euro for the heating on top of the 300 euros for 2 nights. When I said that no one had ever mentioned this and a) the heating did not heat the apartment and b) I already felt I was paying far too much for the accommodation, he agreed not to charge for the heating.

The Cinque Terre is beautiful, but this agriturismo isn't somewhere we would return to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liberatedlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a find!! Whether your group is small or large (like ours) your stay at Villanova will be relaxing. Located minutes from a train station but far enough from town to ensure peace and quite. We were greeted warmly and given a tour of the property and our room, even Gyro the owner's dog accompanied us on the outside tour. Our apartment was spacious and well appointed, but the suprise was the overflowing basket of local dinner supplies. We had requested the welcome package so we wouldn't have to go shopping but the basket had everything from fresh fruit and veggies, cheese, pasta, pesto and even salt and pepper.....and wine. Our host took his time offering advice and lower cost alternatives to some of our plans and was very receptive. The property is higher on the mountain and has beautiful views of the valley. If you are considering this location for your home base for a Cinque Terre exploration you need to look no further!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were well appointed, even our group of five adults and two teens were well take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanddiver44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
1 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
465 reviews
1 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
A Durmi
A Durmi
#2 of 50 in Levanto
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Sant'Andrea Levanto
B&B Sant'Andrea Levanto
#39 of 50 in Levanto
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Cicale di Mare
B&B Cicale di Mare
#14 of 50 in Levanto
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Villanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villanova

Address: Localita Villanova SNC, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range: $152 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villanova is a beautiful 17th century estate only 5 minutes from Levanto and its sandy beach, bordering Cinque Terre National Park. Rooms and apartments are in the main villa and in 2 charmingly restored historic farmhouses. Antique furniture adds to the elegant country-house feel. All have gardens with panoramic views. Start your day with a healthy organic breakfast buffet, rent a bike, relax on the beach or hike the many trails of Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Villanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Villanova Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing