We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Agriturismo but ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Villanova
Ranked #6 of 51 Levanto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alsace
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice Agriturismo but ....”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A very nice Agriturismo, located about 3k from Levanto center ( you need a car to go there ) . Welcome is nice, rooms are very well furnished, it is quiet and you just hear the birds.Breakfast is very nice with local products and service is very good. However it is expensive ( 150 € for a junior suite ) and the owner is a business man which means that you have to pay for everything
( 3,50 € per hour for an hour of connection ! ).
Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmwAlsace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Villanova, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review, we hope you will visit us again. Villanova is at 1,5 km from Levanto, 2 km from the beach, it's easier to have a car but visitors would just use it to go from the hotel to the town, as trains, boats and hiking paths are the best and easiest way to discover the area of Levanto and Cinque Terre. Also we rent bikes and taxi service is available (5 minutes to town), so Villanova is suitable also for visitors coming without a car. We always book a taxi to pick up new clients from the train station. The price of a junior suite in high season is absolutely in the average of the local hotels prices and reflects the high standards of our rooms and services, as an organic breakfast buffet, gardens for all the rooms, antique furniture and all the comforts (Tv sat, AC, safe ecc). Regarding the internet service, as a traveller as I also am, in most of the hotels that I visited in my trips I had to pay for the internet. But we like to inform our visitors that from 2013 we will not charge anymore for using internet (it was the only service on charge), even if therefore I will loose my profile of "business man".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This establishment is situated high above the town in a commercial location. It is reached over a bridge and up a steep dangerous roadway. It is too far from the town to walk unless one is ultra fit and likes walking on narrow busy roads. The rooms are basic. Our bathroom was little more than a cupboard. The shower was broken and the bathroom light did not work. We had to walk 300 meters down a steep rough track, and back, for breakfast. The food was very organic and not to everyones taste. Not suitable for the elderly or anyone who is not very fit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halsueskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Villanova, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. However, your description doesn't reflect the truth. The hotel is located 5 minutes from town on a private hill 60 meters on ocean level , sourronded by forest, olive trees and with a great view (not high above and not in a commercial area, as there are no shops, no malls etc). You enter across a private bridge, and follow a 300 meters private road up hill. The walk to town is for everybody who can walk as it's not steep. It takes 20/30 minutes to walk to town on a country road with regular traffic that leads to Cinque Terre. From the hotel you don't see the road and don't hear the cars. Everybody visits us is always very happy for the peaceful location.
Rooms and apartments have antique forniture, country elegant decorations (see pictures on our website), basic is not the right word to describe our accommodations. Bathrooms are not large but complete, I really don't know how we could have put a shower, a sink, wc and bidet in a cupboard!! Damages that can normally occur, as a shower not working properly or a broken light, can be reported at the reception and immediately will be taken care of. Some rooms are located in our farmhouse, 100 meters from the main villa (not 300 m.), where breakfast is served. It is a 2 minute walk on a semi-paved road, and our visitors are pleased to walk through the nature to reach the breakfast room. Organic means that our products are grown without pesticeds in respect of the environment. We have a large selection and many visitors regard our breakafst as one of the Villanova highlights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My fiance and I spent a extraordinary two weeks at the Villa in late May-early June of this year, and we couldn't have asked for more. Giancarlo was responsive and welcoming when we made our reservation and planned our arrival - an unexpected train cancellation brought us into town very late in the evening, and he patiently arranged a taxi and waited to show us into our apartment. The Villa, its grounds, and the apartment furnishings were beautifully renovated and well-cared for. Alberto and his on-site team provided warm, friendly customer service to all the guests - the breakfasts were perfect, the recommendations and guidance on the area, unmatched. We spent our days hiking the trails through Cinque Terre from Levanto to Portovenere, ending each day on the Villa's gorgeous terrace with a bottle of Sassarino and a beautiful view of the sun setting over the valley leading to the sea below. We'd recommend the Welcome Package - just to get a good start on local food/wine. We were entirely on foot during our stay and loved the walk to and from town; on some of our longer hiking days the sight of Giro's wagging tail and endless need for love and attention was the motivation we needed to tackle the last stretch of the driveway. Overall it was a wonderful experience, we felt welcomed and at home, and we hope to go back again very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdf2237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I picked this place based on the favorable reviews and we were extremely pleased. Someone mentioned the location being a little shady, and while the entrance to Agriturismo Villanova is in more of an industrial area, entering the actual grounds is like finding an oasis. Once through the gate, the road to the villa is very narrow and winds around, but it's easy to navigate, even at night. We brought our dog with us and she loved having Giro, the owners' dog, to play with. We stayed in the junior suite that was ample in size and overlooked the patio and surrounding area. It was just so pretty everywhere! Breakfast was fantastic—there was a great variety spread out every morning (meats, cheese, fresh baked goods, made-to-order coffee, homemade jams, spreads, fruit, etc.) and you can even buy some of the products to take home (the pesto rosso is AMAZING!). It's advisable to have your own transportation since the villa is a bit far from the train station. We drove there in under 5 minutes and then easily took the train (dog and all) to Cinque Terre. If you're going to eat in Levanto, take their recommendations. We ate on our own one night and it was just "okay," but the second night we ate at a pizzeria that was delicious! I hope we have the opportunity to stay here again, because it was perfect! (Regarding a comment about the wifi: it only works in one area, but you're in one of the most beautiful places in the world—going online can wait!)

Room Tip: At least one of the junior suites has a great view overlooking the patio and the rest of Levanto!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesstagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I lived here for two nights a few weeks back with my family - including my disabled father. The owner went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and while me and the rest of my family were out trekking in Cinque Terra - the staff and the owner went out of their way to make my father comfortable and attend to his needs.
The location is in the middle of the hills - and though it's a good 20 min trek from the Levanto train station the owner Alberto connected us with a local taxi service company (Katherine and her husband) and they were always quick to respond to our requests for a cab (sometimes they arrived within 10 mins of calling them!)
The ambiance at Villanova is very restful and the views of the surrounding mountains are gorgeous! The friendly dog Jero made our stay even more memorable and the staff even made available some toys for our 2 year old son. The owner also gave us a complimentary welcome bottle of wine from grapes grown in their vineyard and in all it was an immensely pleasurable stay. Perfect for adults and families with young children - and a highlight of our trip to Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We attended a cooking class here and it was simply amazing. We learned simple dishes using the spices and vegetation from the area. These dishes were simply tasteful and I can actually make them now that I am back home, I just can't wait to try!!! The views were amazing which made for a peaceful visit as we enjoyed our wine with dinner!!!
Next time I will defiantly stay here as I like the idea of being able to have meals prepared from their gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spjalapeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
343 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The good: breakfast was great, secluded location, cool driveway, in levanto which was should be added to cinque Terre cities.
The not so good: located in not most scenic area of town, towels were old, rough, and had holes, bed was European hard and noisy (primary reason for average grade), rooms not well insulated, noise from other visitors after dark, floor paint was peeling, wifi was not free and only worked in reception area that doesn't have visitor seating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo M, Proprietario at Agriturismo Villanova, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you didn't find our location very scenic, normally our visitors enjoy very much the view from Villanova. Regarding the towels, we normally provide high quality equipments for the bathrooms, probably the cleaning lady didn't notice there was an old one. We really apologize, next time please let us know and we will provide a new one. Regarding the beds, it's very difficult to satisfay everybody, some like hard, some soft. The rooms are insulated but depends also on the neighbours; Villanova is an historical property and it's not possible to provide an insulation as in a new building. Our internet service is available at the reception and in some accommodations, as mentioned on our website. Anyway, following also your comment we decided to offer a free wifi connection, even if it's on charge in most of the hotels worldwide.
We hope you will visit us again, we will try to meet better your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#7 of 15 in Levanto
292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#3 of 15 in Levanto
420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Clelia Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
L'Antico Borgo
L'Antico Borgo
#9 of 51 in Levanto
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Villanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villanova

Property: Agriturismo Villanova
Address: Localita Villanova, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villanova is a beautiful 17th century estate only 5 minutes from Levanto and its sandy beach, bordering Cinque Terre National Park. Rooms and apartments are in the main villa and in 2 charmingly restored historic farmhouses. Antique furniture adds to the elegant country-house feel. All have gardens with panoramic views. Start your day with a healthy organic breakfast buffet, rent a bike, relax on the beach or hike the many trails of Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Villanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Villanova Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing