We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simpe and friendly”
Review of Ospitalia del Mare

Ospitalia del Mare
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ospitalia del Mare
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Levanto
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I came here with my boyfriend and a friend this may for the swell in Levanto. We didn't arrive until very late in the evening but keys and door code was sorted for us to get acess to our room.

The hostel is perfectly situated 5 minutes to the beach and 2 minutes from the main street where there are a lot of restaurants and gelaterias :) The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke great english. Though, watch out for the opening hours of the reception!

We stayed in a shared room for six people, the first night it was only us and the second night two other guys joined us. The room was clean and spacious except for the bathroom which was quite small. The included breakfast was not something special - coffee from a coffee machine, juice, a piece of bread with butter, nutella and jam. But for the good price I didn't expect anything else.

All in all - this hostel is a great place to stay if you just want a cheap and friendly place to sleep at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarroCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Ospitalia del Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect location, nice room, clean, friendly staff. I would definitely recommend it if you are not looking for a 5star hotel, but private bathroom, clean, small rooms, nothing luxus. You only need to be careful with opening hours for reception (siesta time:)).
Levanto is a perfect start to explore Cinque Terre, by train you can get to the other villages easily.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IldikoAcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was at Ospitalia del Mare with 35 students and 3 chaperones. Housed in a historical building in the center of Levanto, this hostel is clean, convenient and comfortable. For the low price we paid, we couldn't ask for more. The rooms we had 4, 6 or 9 beds; they were spacious, had a good size bathroom en suite and I really appreciated the light and windows they all had. We were given a set of nice smelling towels and sheets. Breakfast was surprisingly plentiful and varied. I would definitely recommend it for school groups or travelers on a budget looking for a good value accommodation in Levanto.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for anything more than a place to sleep this might not be the place for you. It was exactly what we wanted- somewhere to crash after hiking the cinque terre trails all day. Wifi not great and there is no common area to meet people, there is a fridge to use but no kitchen. Rooms are clean and fresh linen is provided, breakfast seemed to be standard Italian hostel style- biscuits, coffee and roll.
We did get very confused trying to find the hostel so we suggest just heading straight into town, walk towards the water to the tourist information centre and they'll point you in the right direction. It is a good location though, just hard to find at first.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desert_roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights, one in a 6 bed dorm and one on our own. The hostel is clean with a typical European hostel breakfast. It is a bit of a walk from the train station with bags but once there we realised there was a shorter route. It is very easy to get to the Cinque Terre towns and it is very close to Levanto beach. The lady on duty the weekend we were there was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel itself opens onto a busy restaurant that did keep us awake into the night as it was too hot to sleep with closed windows. Also it is not possible to get wifi in the rooms. All in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed at Ostello Del Mare for 5 nights in June 2012. Hostel is clean, in a nice area of Levanto close to the beach.

The ONLY note is that it seems like half of the people staying here are Italians themselves on vacation, including 3 who were in my room the first night who were old enough to be my mother.

Not a social hostel, in my opinion, but still, a nice stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The hostel itself is well situated and is very convenient to get to the Cinque Terre. However all the dormitory keys are the same and are able to open each other's rooms.

Wifi is only accessible in the main room downstairs which is often used by town folk for meetings. Wifi was prone to crashing when more than four users were connected.

Blackouts were common. While staying in off season with only 11 other guests, we experienced several blackouts in a week.

Rooms were not cleaned at all during our ten day stay, dust accumulated very quickly. Cleaner merely changed the bin liner.

Breakfast is charged at 2.50 euros a day and was very poor in comparison to other hostels of similar price. It is better avoiding the charge and purchasing cereal + milk (around 5 euros for 5 days) from the local Conad, then storing it in the communal fridge.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Liam388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#4 of 15 in Levanto
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Cinque Terre da Levanto
1.4 mi away
B&B Il Ruscello
B&B Il Ruscello
#22 of 49 in Levanto
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Clelia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ospitalia del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ospitalia del Mare

Address: Via San Nicolo | Parco Nazionale delle Cinque Terre, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Levanto
Price Range: $54 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ospitalia del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing