We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Quite Liked Levanto and Villa Gentile”
Review of Villa Gentile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Gentile
Ranked #13 of 51 Levanto B&B and Inns
Carnelian Bay, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I Quite Liked Levanto and Villa Gentile”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Yes, we had hoped to stay in Vernazza, or one of the other Cinque Terra towns, but we hadn't realized we were arriving on a major Italian holiday weekend. Levanto is the next little town north, and the Villa Gentile had a vacancy, at a quite reasonable price....

Finding the B&B was easy, just a walk downhill from the station, right in the center of town. Unloaded our bags, met the very nice young lady who helps her mother when she's not off shooting photos (next stop, Pakistan), and very shown a very comfortable room with a shared bath.
Walked back the station, bought the Park two day pass, hopped on the train, and, in what seemed like just a few minutes we were in Vernazza enjoying the marvelous Cannoli Brothers.

In the evening, a bit fatigued by the mobs of tourists, we were back in Levanto. Where we spotted a poster advertising a concert. As we walked through the town we heard the unmistakable thump of a electric bass. We followed the sound to the park-like plaza where a stage where a young three man band was finishing their sound check. We grabbed a couple of the plastic chairs that had been provided, and the show began. Good old American rock and roll, our best export, with an Italian accent. British too, the boys were Beatles fans. Every so often we got a taste of Italian rock. Couldn't tell you what the song was about, but, it had a good beat and you could dance to it.

Oh yeah, this is supposed to be a hotel review, sorry. We stayed an extra day, that tell you anything? The bed was the most comfortable of our eight week trip. The building was kind of like visiting a rich old auntie. Rhona was fascinated by the doll collection in the sitting room. There were a wide array of beautiful flower arrangements, from silk to plastic. Breakfast was fine, I especially appreciated the fresh American coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little B & B that's in a lovely little town Levanto just out of Cinque Terra. Great access to train and a few minutes to Monterossa. Villa gentile is small with only a few rooms but so well positioned to the train, cafes, beaches and restaurants. They serve breakfast in a gorgeous courtyard which adds to the wonderful experience of such a pretty little place. Highly recommended. Our favourite of many places that we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our two couples spent two nights in two double rooms that were quite reasonably priced, including breakfast. We appreciated the Villa greatly: the less than 10-minute walk from the station; the surrounding flowers; breakfasts at the one table in the garden in back (being there when they started serving;) the charming town of Levanto; the owner's daughter who speaks English; and the convenience to the first town in Cinque Terre, Monte Rosso, a four-minute train ride away. On the first day, we hiked over the promontory to Monte Rosso, a demanding but rewarding three to four-hour hike with many flowers on the way up, then a long stretch through shady forest, up and over to a spectacular view of Monte Rosso and the coast below; a relatively rapid descent on newly improved trail, exhausted (but we're 70 years old;) and a 4-minute train ride back to Levanto. On the second day we took the train again and saw all five of the Cinque Terre. This good hotel made it all possible, and if you don't like big hikes, the train will be most satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel Villa Gentile, it matched my needs for a close location to the beach and station as well as my budget which was 80 euro per night.

On arrival, I assume that it is the owner: she can't speak any English, which is surprising seeing as she is in the hospitality industry and many guests are tourists. We were shown to our room and given a blue tag to place on the windscreen of the car, from there you need to find parking as there is none at the hotel.

As you walk in, the entrance and hotel seems lovely, we were shown our room and dissapointment reigned. Our room had no balcony, it was tiled, which meant is was cold to walk on as no sun enters the room, only one window looking onto the street. The room is stark and very uninviting and you just want to leave to go outside for some warmth.

As for the bathroom, water pressure was excellent, shower is very pokey and there is no bath. Hair dryers useless and worst of all, the toweling we were given could barely pass for hand towel sized sandpaper. The towels were so thin and rough it was like exfoliating while barely being able to cover half you body, very disappointing that an establishment can't even get some decent towels for their guests to use.

Breakfast: don't rely on it, cappucino and any coffee you order is cold, pre packaged items await you in a small room. Cornflakes are a no brand type and taste like cardboard and there is nothing much else. I would go eat breakfast out every morning as this one does not even come close to suffice.

Noise: we were afraid the noise from the street would keep us up but the windows are well insulated and you don't hear much.

Overall, I would not stay here again, rather go to Monterosso where there is a real holiday vibe and many places to choose from to eat it. Even if you pay more, at least get some decent toweling and a breakfast included.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gemine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely hotel in the heart of Levanto. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room on the first floor opened into a common lounge area which included a fridge where we kept odds and ends for our lunches. Hotel is perfectly situated. 10 minutes from the station and Cinque Terre towns. Close to Levanto beach, shops and lovely restaurants. Quiet street. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I don't really want to share this little gem, but Villa Gentile is quite a find in the town of Levanto. Sweet garden courtyard, complete with koi and turtle named Tranquilo, the ladies of Gentile will ensure that you are comfortable in the clean, nicely decorated rooms. Beds are comfy, towels thin but clean every day. Nice tall windows that open completely, and have the lovely wooden shades (with a helpful laundry line for wet swim wear). We took two rooms for a couple and two singles, shared a nice clean bathroom on the top floor. Breakfast was included, and hearty for Italy - fresh foccacia and crossaints, jams and spreads, good coffee. The mother/daughter team that run the place (plus the lovely housekeeper) are super nice. Mom speaks Italian only, daughter speaks great English - both are helpful and friendly. Excellent location, great price and value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very well located in the centre of Levanto with a short walk to the beach which was fantastic. We were with another couple and had a room each and shared a bathroom. There was no lift which was not great. The breakfast consisted of bread, croisssants and coffee. The Villa Gentile was in a lovely setting and given where it is situated made it easy to get around and was very enjoyable.
I am not overhappy about having to share a bathroom though as it seemed we were sharing it with other people besides our friends. There were four rooms on our level and only one bathroom. There was no airconditioning, but we had a ceiling fan, which did suffice.

Room Tip: No lift, so make sure you are fit enough to run up and down stairs if you don't get a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#10 of 15 in Levanto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gentile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gentile

Property: Villa Gentile
Address: Via Jacopo da Levanto 27, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccola Villa situata nel centro di Levanto ha una posizione strategica sia per andare al mare o prendere i battelli per le 5terre che per raggiungere la stazione ferroviaria a soli 5 minuti a piedi. Le camere hanno complementi d'arredo nuovi e confortevoli, con televisione, divano ecc.... Ideale per una vacanza in famiglia , romantica , o semplicemente per chi vuole relax e comodità . La prima colazione è servita in un'accogliente saletta o in camera ed è composta da prodotti freschi della zona. Il personale dell'albergo è a vostra disposizione per informazioni sui sentieri e informazioni che riguardano la storia di Levanto e le 5terre. Per maggiori informazioni potete visualizzare il nostro sito villagentile.com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Gentile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing