We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ville Gentile
Ranked #11 of 50 Levanto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very well located in the centre of Levanto with a short walk to the beach which was fantastic. We were with another couple and had a room each and shared a bathroom. There was no lift which was not great. The breakfast consisted of bread, croisssants and coffee. The Villa Gentile was in a lovely setting and given where it is situated made it easy to get around and was very enjoyable.
I am not overhappy about having to share a bathroom though as it seemed we were sharing it with other people besides our friends. There were four rooms on our level and only one bathroom. There was no airconditioning, but we had a ceiling fan, which did suffice.

Room Tip: No lift, so make sure you are fit enough to run up and down stairs if you don't get a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Villa Gentile is a very well kept hotel with charming rooms. Good value Hotel. The owner is is a pleasant personality. Hotel placed within in a city close to breathtaking landscape of Cinque Terra, that hotel in the smallcity centre very close to city beach. If you're looking for that special place - you will find it here.
Sergio Radulovic
Czech Republic

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in early May 2012. We had a double room with adjacent bathroom on the ground floor. The street was right outside our window, but we were able to let fresh air in and keep the noise out by lowering the security shutter. My wife declared the bed to be the most comfortable she had ever slept in. Graziella, the manageress, gave us a friendly welcome and accepted our feeble efforts in Italian with good humour. Graziella organised a meal for us at a top local restaurant, the Totano Bleu. To our surprise we received a discount because we cam from Villa Gentile. Breakfast items, presided over by Anna (who spoke excellent English), were coffee, croissants, and bread. As other reviewers have mentioned Levanto is an excellent base from which to explore the Cinque Terre; the towns in the Cinque Terre which we visited were all absolutely over-run by tourists, whereas Levanto just had lots. Villa Gentile has wifi which we depended upon for research and contact. We would definitely stay at Villa Gentile should we return to Levanto.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 and paid 90 euros per night for a comfortable double room. Breakfast was not included although I was told in English that it was, when I booked by email. The owner refused to consider this when I presented the email and showed me the notice on the door of the room where it clearly states that breakfast is not included.
She wouldn't budge so I backed down and paid up as I was handicapped by my lack of Italian. This was an unpleasant ending to a good holiday.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bev919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagentile, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ville Gentile, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

The unfortunate misunderstanding can be easily clarified, the actual price is 90 euros without breakfast, our guests have paid the same price with breakfast included as agreed by the mail saying precisely 90 euros incl. breakfast ( so 10% discount ) then the discount has already been applied and please gentlemen who are in possession of a driving routarde let us present at the time of their reservation and not at the time of payment that occurs at the end of the stay when discount are already applied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel was very clean and had pleasant surroundings. Reasonably priced- winter rates E 70 including packet breakfast and free parking. It was very cold though- we were there in the winter 2012.
The one thing we found upsetting was that the Cinque Terre website does not alert potential travellers to the fact that 90% of the walkways are closed and 2 of the towns are not really operating due to a devastating and deadly flood.

Room Tip: Ask to be upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KalypsoChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at Villa Gentile in September 2011 with my wife and two teenage children. Got two seprate bedrooms on third floor and our own private bathroom. Rooms were large, clean and nicely decorated. Only issue we had was that despite being told we had the third floor to ourselves we quickly became aware that an elderly lady was in fact residing permanently on the floor. Was not a problem though, once we realised this and that we weren't seeing a ghost!!

Graziella is an extemely helpful and cheerful host although she doesn't have a lot of english, fortunatley my wife speaks a bit of italian, so communication was no problem. The breakfast provided is fairly sparse as described in some other reviews but you have a kettle in your room to make your own tea and coffee and this was welcome as it was rare in some Italian hotels.

Overall the hotel is clean, well priced and well run and I'd recommend to everyone. It was of a better standard than we were expecting which is always nice. Levanto is a good base to explore the Cinque Terra, trains run regularly and the fartest town is only about 20 minutes away (closest 5 minutes).

Some other reviews have mentioned the Salty Dog cafe which is next to this hotel. While I can't comment on their coffee, I would stay away from this place for dinner. We went there for dinner the first night we arrived and were concerend that the owner appeared to be going down the street and returning with shopping pags that may have contained our food, which when served appaered to be out of a supermarket microwave packet, not nice and not very edible - recommend you stay away from here for meals!!! We ended up at Ristorante Pizzeria Due Lune which was wonderful, well priced, good food and service, recommend you go there instead.

Room Tip: If you want free wifi (as advertised) it is only available from the first or ground floor. We had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCBrooksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed 5 nights and it was very enjoyable. Our host Gratziella, is a very genuine and kind person. SHe went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable inspite of my broken ankle. She personally drove us to the train station, a service that we immensely appreciated. She is truly a caring person. The place was very clean and comfortable. we will return and will recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syvancouer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A Durmi
A Durmi
#1 of 50 in Levanto
391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Caterina
Villa Caterina
#13 of 50 in Levanto
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Clelia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ville Gentile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ville Gentile

Address: Via Jacopo da Levanto 27, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range: $81 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Hotel Ville Gentile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing