We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Villa Gentile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Gentile
Ranked #12 of 49 Levanto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Villa Gentile is a very well kept hotel with charming rooms. Good value Hotel. The owner is is a pleasant personality. Hotel placed within in a city close to breathtaking landscape of Cinque Terra, that hotel in the smallcity centre very close to city beach. If you're looking for that special place - you will find it here.
Sergio Radulovic
Czech Republic

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenscliff
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in early May 2012. We had a double room with adjacent bathroom on the ground floor. The street was right outside our window, but we were able to let fresh air in and keep the noise out by lowering the security shutter. My wife declared the bed to be the most comfortable she had ever slept in. Graziella, the manageress, gave us a friendly welcome and accepted our feeble efforts in Italian with good humour. Graziella organised a meal for us at a top local restaurant, the Totano Bleu. To our surprise we received a discount because we cam from Villa Gentile. Breakfast items, presided over by Anna (who spoke excellent English), were coffee, croissants, and bread. As other reviewers have mentioned Levanto is an excellent base from which to explore the Cinque Terre; the towns in the Cinque Terre which we visited were all absolutely over-run by tourists, whereas Levanto just had lots. Villa Gentile has wifi which we depended upon for research and contact. We would definitely stay at Villa Gentile should we return to Levanto.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 and paid 90 euros per night for a comfortable double room. Breakfast was not included although I was told in English that it was, when I booked by email. The owner refused to consider this when I presented the email and showed me the notice on the door of the room where it clearly states that breakfast is not included.
She wouldn't budge so I backed down and paid up as I was handicapped by my lack of Italian. This was an unpleasant ending to a good holiday.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bev919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villagentile, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Gentile, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
The unfortunate misunderstanding can be easily clarified, the actual price is 90 euros without breakfast, our guests have paid the same price with breakfast included as agreed by the mail saying precisely 90 euros incl. breakfast ( so 10% discount ) then the discount has already been applied and please gentlemen who are in possession of a driving routarde let us present at the time of their reservation and not at the time of payment that occurs at the end of the stay when discount are already applied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel was very clean and had pleasant surroundings. Reasonably priced- winter rates E 70 including packet breakfast and free parking. It was very cold though- we were there in the winter 2012.
The one thing we found upsetting was that the Cinque Terre website does not alert potential travellers to the fact that 90% of the walkways are closed and 2 of the towns are not really operating due to a devastating and deadly flood.

Room Tip: Ask to be upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KalypsoChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at Villa Gentile in September 2011 with my wife and two teenage children. Got two seprate bedrooms on third floor and our own private bathroom. Rooms were large, clean and nicely decorated. Only issue we had was that despite being told we had the third floor to ourselves we quickly became aware that an elderly lady was in fact residing permanently on the floor. Was not a problem though, once we realised this and that we weren't seeing a ghost!!

Graziella is an extemely helpful and cheerful host although she doesn't have a lot of english, fortunatley my wife speaks a bit of italian, so communication was no problem. The breakfast provided is fairly sparse as described in some other reviews but you have a kettle in your room to make your own tea and coffee and this was welcome as it was rare in some Italian hotels.

Overall the hotel is clean, well priced and well run and I'd recommend to everyone. It was of a better standard than we were expecting which is always nice. Levanto is a good base to explore the Cinque Terra, trains run regularly and the fartest town is only about 20 minutes away (closest 5 minutes).

Some other reviews have mentioned the Salty Dog cafe which is next to this hotel. While I can't comment on their coffee, I would stay away from this place for dinner. We went there for dinner the first night we arrived and were concerend that the owner appeared to be going down the street and returning with shopping pags that may have contained our food, which when served appaered to be out of a supermarket microwave packet, not nice and not very edible - recommend you stay away from here for meals!!! We ended up at Ristorante Pizzeria Due Lune which was wonderful, well priced, good food and service, recommend you go there instead.

Room Tip: If you want free wifi (as advertised) it is only available from the first or ground floor. We had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCBrooksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed 5 nights and it was very enjoyable. Our host Gratziella, is a very genuine and kind person. SHe went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable inspite of my broken ankle. She personally drove us to the train station, a service that we immensely appreciated. She is truly a caring person. The place was very clean and comfortable. we will return and will recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syvancouer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

In the heart of the town, close to the beach & restaurants. Hostess does not speak much english but we got by. Stayed for 4 nights and the only complaint was the same prepackaged breakfast. Would have rated this higher if not for the breakfast & the fact we had to park the car on the street a good 10 min walk away from the B & B. Fridge for guests to use & our own private bathroom (not ensuite) had a washing machine which was a bonus. The shower was over the bath & had a very awkward shower door that you couldn't close to stop the water escaping onto the floor. Levanto was a great base for visiting Cinque Terre. 10-15 min walk to the train station or ferry. Both of which will get you to RIOMAGGIORE, MANAROLA, CORNIGLIA, VERNAZZA & MONTEROSSO.

Room Tip: Our room didn't face onto the main street which meant it was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Clelia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Le Divine
Affittacamere Le Divine
#19 of 49 in Levanto
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Il Ruscello
B&B Il Ruscello
#22 of 49 in Levanto
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Durmi
A Durmi
#2 of 49 in Levanto
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gentile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gentile

Property: Villa Gentile
Address: Via Jacopo da Levanto 27, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piccola Villa situata nel centro di Levanto ha una posizione strategica sia per andare al mare o prendere i battelli per le 5terre che per raggiungere la stazione ferroviaria a soli 5 minuti a piedi. Le camere hanno complementi d'arredo nuovi e confortevoli, con televisione, divano ecc.... Ideale per una vacanza in famiglia , romantica , o semplicemente per chi vuole relax e comodità . La prima colazione è servita in un'accogliente saletta o in camera ed è composta da prodotti freschi della zona. Il personale dell'albergo è a vostra disposizione per informazioni sui sentieri e informazioni che riguardano la storia di Levanto e le 5terre. Per maggiori informazioni potete visualizzare il nostro sito villagentile.com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Gentile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing