We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
241
90
9
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
90
9
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerfew minutes driveon site restaurantcinque terreweek tourmodern hoteltrain stationperfect place to stayquiet arearooms are largethe ground floorfree parkingsoniatowntouristshostsboat
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 345 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Tucked away in the hills above the Ligurian coast, Hotel Abetaia is delightful. Well designed, modern rooms sit comfortably within the natural surroundings. Our room had a pretty balcony, and it was nice to relax there after a day of sightseeing...a starry sky and the sound of the little creek running alongside the property added to the atmosphere.
Sonia, the owner, is truly a wonderful host! Her personal and quirky touches around the reception/breakfast room and garden around echo her friendly and outgoing nature!
We participated in a 'pesto' making demonstration...accompanied with little appetisers and wine...and fabulous conversation. The freshly made 'pesto' was dished up with local bread...delicious!
The Abetaia restaurant, just a few metres away from the main hotel, is a warm and welcoming place...it feels like you are dining in someone's home...wonderful home-cooked food (the tortellini is made by Sonia's mother...fabulous!), local wines and efficient service made our dinner there a real treat.
One needs a car to visit Cinque Terre....well, at least to get to Levanto (15-20 min drive from hotel), from where trains and boats can make a run through and stop at the villages. Having done the run several times, and having spent time walking around and dining in Levanto, I would definitely choose to stay at Hotel Abetaia again...it feels like a haven after a day of battling tourists!
If you are looking for a quaint, well-appointed hotel, close enough and yet far from the crowds, and friendly hosts, Hotel Abetaia is it!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony...definitely!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tre_Little_Gatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great room, actually huge, out of town so very peaceful and plenty parking place! Owners are super friendly, helped us book a wonderful terme as well as made great mid night snack pack from thier restaurant 30 mts away! Only wish a bit more on the breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheroo_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Abetaia in Levanto for three nights with my son and husband over Easter weekend, and we could not have been more delighted with the staff, the hotel, and the restaurant. The hotel, breakfast room/reception area, and restaurant are situated just outside the city (which is very near the northernmost of the Cinque Terre towns) in a wooded oasis that is beautiful, quiet, and totally charming. The owners, a delightful couple, and the rest of the staff welcomed us with genuine warmth. They clearly love their work and working with people. Every question and request was met with happy responsiveness. Here, you are away from the bustle but all is at your fingertips (they have all the information about boats and trains and bikes and anything else, and what they do not know they happily find out for you). The hotel is small, only 12 rooms, and careful attention to every detail is evident wherever you look: in the whimsical garden, the artistic restaurant decor, the fabulously large shower and its immense rainfall shower head, and the lovely breakfast buffet (typical European fare but lovingly prepared and arranged, and the best quality, local ingredients). Our triple room was not huge but well designed so that we were more than comfortable in its contemporary furnishings. And quiet -- it was very quiet. The whole place exudes calm joyfulness. A sweet combination. We ate Easter supper at the restaurant and could not have been more pleased with the environment or the food. The highest quality local oil and wine complimented a fabulous meal, and our host and the other staff treated us like treasured friends. We chose Abetaia because we wanted a place with plenty of open green space for our dogs to run and play, though in the end we did not bring them. I would choose it again, certainly. After long days exploring vibrant Levanto or journeying from one village to the next in the 5 Terre, coming back to Abetaia soothed and refreshed us. Go there if you can!

Room Tip: There are so few rooms, it seems each one is lovely. Some have french doors onto little terraces.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiavannaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Imagine living amidst scenic and tranquil surroundings with fresh air and lots of trees. Abetaia is probably the best hotel I stayed in for my 16-day trip in Italy recently. The hotel is located in quite a remote area of Levanto but is very refreshing. The rooms are huge, very new and modern in deco and the hotel is peppered with personal touches of details. The owner Sonia is very warm and friendly and gave lots of advice for sightseeing in Cinque Terre. Breakfast is great with lovely home-made food and quite a wide variety as well. Love the spacious grounds around the hotel.. Abetaia is perfect for a romantic getaway as well as just to relax and chill after a busy-day of touring/sightseeing in Cinque Terre.

The only `downside' we encountered was when the shower floor got flooded! It's a very comfortable and luxurious shower but the drainage system seems to have some problem. Other than that, everything else about the hotel is impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesscet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I often read tripadvisor when planning, however, I have never taken the time to post my own experience - Hotel Abetaia was so fantastic - that I believe everyone should know about it. My husband, daughter (2 years) myself and another couple planned to visit Cinque Terre to hike after a 1 week stay in a villa in Tuscany. Check in was a breeze with warm & friendly Sonia, showed us to our modern spacious, quiet rooms which was a real treat after our rustic accomodations elsewhere. Over cappuccino's she showed us what train to catch to plan our hike, where to eat and answered all our questions. Then after putting our daughter to bed we walked over to the restaurant where we expereienced the best food of our trip - the menu, quality of the food, wine and the overall experience was unreal. The first night her husband the sommelier took us through an authentic seafood & white wine menu and the next night a meat and red wine extravaganza. We loved every moment of our time in Cinque Terre because of this wonderful establishment, like a fantastic boutique hotel, it really took time to take care of the little details. This is the place to stay if you are planning to visit Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews