We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Mozzarella”
Review of Tenuta Vannulo

Tenuta Vannulo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Without a shadow of a doubt - this was the best mozzarella cheese we are ever likely to have. Having been made fresh that morning, and seen the highly contented water buffaloes that produced it, it was no surprise that - whilst this meal was exceedingly simple - it was exceedingly good. Everything offered is home grown and/or produced there. It was such a good experience and one that we'd highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YeeHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

I love yogurt, practically all kinds, in general. The one I had at Vannulo was super tasty high quality product.
Mozzarella was great, but am quite sure you can get a very similar standard in other places too. Overall lovely country side farm place, great to watch the well looked after Buffaloes responsible for all the good foods, pleasant few hours to just be, and to watch the locals going crazy for the gelato there! :-)

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Tartaruga1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018

When we lived in Italy we visited here a couple of times, but have not returned since about 1994. What a change for the better!! This whole place is awesome, and now an upscale farm offering a restaurant with top local cuisine choices, attentive service and separate areas where they sell a number of appealing preparations based on buffalo milk (try the hazelnut spread: to die for!!). Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank StefanoG524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

We were here couple times. Once for lunch and second only to buy mozzarella & buffalo milk yogurts.
As already mentioned many times, it is ecological farm. Whole complex looks very good, very clean and looked after. Buffaloes good cared as well. There are massage brushes for them, they are showering and going to give milk when they want. We were also in another buffaloes farm, it also was fine, but Tenuta Vannulo we liked more.
We haven't took excursion and saw stables and other ourselves. It was September, not high season, therefore we risked and arrived for lunch without reservation in advance. Not recommend to do like that in summer! They have not many tables , only ~ 12 in restaurant. But we were lucky and got it :)
Ordered of course fresh mozzarella, ricotta, prosciutto crudo, vegetables and ravioli with ricotta. Everything was very very fresh and delicious!
Definitely worth of visit. Would like to be back in the future for sure. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank enura2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Vannulo was the first reservation I made when we decided to come to the area. We were offered a group tour for 5 Euros or a private tour for 40 Euros. We chose the private as we thought we'd see the insider version of Vannulo but it was just the opposite. The entire tour lasted 15 minutes and all we got to see was the mozzarella being made from outside a window. Seeing the buffalos was nice. We never saw the vegtable gardens or the chocolate factory. The "tasting" were a couple of balls of bocconcini which were very good. No other products were offered to taste. Our tour guide seemed bored and the second the money was collected she was gone.

I reached out to them privately via Instagram message and got a reply back----it basically said, if you didn't like it, then don't come back! Don't worry we won't! There are plenty of Agriturismos that still care about the people coming to visit and see their wonderful products

NOT RECOMMENDED!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenuta Vannulo also viewed

Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
Capaccio-Paestum, Province of Salerno
 
Capaccio-Paestum, Province of Salerno
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 

Been to Tenuta Vannulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing