We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic location, the chef himself visiting the table...”

Le Trabe Tenuta Capodifiume
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful drive up/ grounds. Setting is perfect. Relaxed, inspired tasting menu with the chef himself coming out to describe the dishes (mind you we were the only ones there until later).
What will always stick in my mind was the tomato “pie” for dessert, with basil sauce and buffalo mozzarella ice cream...we could make in essence a pizza with the components. Brilliant, creative. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank ronaldmcghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 350 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2019

This fabulous restaurant is tucked away from the main road but an easy 10 mins drive from Paestum. We had the tasting menu to celebrate the start of our holiday. Not cheap (85 euro for 8 courses), but comparable with / better value than similar UK Michelin restaurants. All other diners were Italian - a good sign. Lovely range of flavours and many added extras, impeccable, friendly service. Mixture of local seafood and the chef’s interpretation of classic Italian dishes. Dishes included frittata / sea urchins / cod / ravioli / eel. We thought we’d finished our courses but more treats kept coming.... The Italians eat late, we arrived at 7.30, but fellow diners didn’t join us til 9.00- it meant we got lots of attention, but it was a little quiet, so suggest book later in the evening for better atmosphere. A memorable evening.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MontyTheProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

We visited the area out of season and were not spoilt for choice of local restaurants that were actually open at this time of year. We tripped over le trabe while driving past and after walking around the beautiful grounds decided to book a table for the following evening.
We had a wonderful meal and yes some of the other comments maybe true regarding the service (only the details). Overall highly recommended food and experience. Good value too, we thought they had made a mistake with our bill but as with others it worked out to approx 60 per head.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

la Trabe is an amazing location thinked for carry his guests in wonderful dimension.
The experience in the restaurant is the key around the owner idea...simple extraordinary

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank AndreaCalicchio1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

We were so looking forward to dinner at Le Trabe but unfortunately we were very disappointed. The restaurant is set in beautiful surroundings and the building is a nice mixture of old and new. The food as you would expect from a Michelin star restaurant was good but the service was far below the standard you would expect and indeed I wonder how they managed to get a Michelin star based on our experience.
We ordered an aperitif of 3 prosecco and 1 Negroni. The prosecco arrived but they had forgotten the Negroni.
I ordered the Alaskan Pollack and was later told that it was not available but could be swapped with cod. Not a problem but you would have thought that the waiters would have been briefed before hand if there was something not available.
The amuse bouche arrived but we were not advised what we were eating. 3 plates were placed in one direction and the fourth a different direction. The waiter then cleared the plates away whilst one of our party was still eating
We ordered a bottle of white wine to start and a bottle of red to go with the lamb. The lamb arrived but they had not prepared the red so we had to ask the waiter for it and then had to wait for the waiter to fetch the glasses and open the red which meant the food went cold.
One of our party ordered lamb well done but the well done lamb was given to one of the others. No attention to detail at all.
The urinal in the men's was leaking. And no check on the toilets was carried out.
Napkins were not refolded when I went to the toilet.
Very little interaction with the waiters and we were not made to feel welcome
Overall not good value for money. We have been to so many better Michelin star restaurants and indeed so many better restaurants that do not have a Michelin star.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank petera944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Trabe Tenuta Capodifiume also viewed

Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 
Capaccio-Paestum, Province of Salerno
 

Been to Le Trabe Tenuta Capodifiume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing