We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
33
5
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
5
3
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2017

Probably the most beautiful and magical place on the island. The apartments that are caved inside the rocks are spacious, curated and offer a lot of privacy. From our apartment “Delfino” we have been waking up to a breathtaking view over Sant’Angelo and the ocean. Not to mention the view of the insanely beautiful sunsets every evening… A couple of steps lead to the sea and to a private cave accessible only by hotel guests. The restaurant which is also the breakfast space offers an amazing start in the day with an incredible view and delicious breakfast.
I can strongly recommend this place to everyone looking for an unforgettable experience on the island of Ischia. Many thanks to the friendly and caring staff, as well as to the owner Francesco putting all his love into this incredible place!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arianaashurov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Costa Capitano is one of the most unique and beautiful properties we've ever stayed at. The rooms are carved out of the cliff over the sea with incredible views. There is access to the sea via stairs that are carved in the cliff. No worries. No exposure to worry about. But a beautiful place to swim around rock formations and even a cave. . The restaurant is amazing. The food, setting and the staff are excellent in every regard. The staff on the property is exceptional too. We can't wait to go back to Ischia. And when we do, we will be staying at the Costa Capitano.

Room tip: There aren't any bad rooms.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

I will start by saying, that the island of ischia is poor and dirty. Plastic bottles, garbage, dog poo on the streets. The nice old romantic houses falling apart. Sprayed with ugly graffity. Beaches with dark sand or rocks. Plastic bags and other gabage floating in the sea. Way too much traffic everywhere and horrible petrol smell. Everywhere u go is up the hill.

Now this hotel brings a little paradise to it all. Lovely views it has. Bed was comfy. Nice thermal pool and little private beach. Could imagine all to be a bit nicer, like not have plastic outdoor furniture everywhere or have more decorations on the room terrace like pillows in which yo sit for example.

Be aware to close the sink, as we got a huge cockroach visit from the sink. Walls in bathroom are moldy.

Breakfast limited, every day the same and feels like they are saving on you. The fresh juice was not from oranges; was made out of something u can not specify. Plus they only make half litter of it for all the guests. Been asked once if i want an egg, when i had one fried it wad undercooked and yolk was broken...coffee below avarage.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Miroslava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2016

My family members asked me not to write a review as they were afraid the prices would go up and we would never be able to come back ;)

When we first arrived our 17-year old daughter kept jumping up and down shouting "OMG This is PERFECT!!!" to give some perspective. The resort is really what the great pictures on their website allow you to think of, even better.

Apparently the resort was established some 50 years ago and the apartments, which are partly carved into stone were mostly build then. They are in very good condition so they must have been renovated during the last 10 years. There are only 11 apartments and they are all designed so that you can't see the terraces of other apartments which makes you feel that you are living in a private villa.

All apartments are located about 50 meters above sea level and most of them have a terrace facing the sea. We had Cala Blu which was directly above the sea. What makes this place unique are the large and beautiful apartments, location just by the sea, direct access to sea by stairs and large beautiful garden with thermal water pool and above all, privacy and quietness. Most of the apartments were occupied during our stay on the first two weeks of June, but still the large resort seemed like it was empty. Usually we were able to keep the pool by ourselves.

The pool is small and we did not expect much of it at first, but as it was filled with warm thermal water everyone enjoyed it so much that it became our favorite spot. The weather was not very hot at the time so perhaps in August a cold water pool would be a good addition on the side.

The only problem is the partly isolated location. There is one family restaurant just outside the resort gate, but it wasn't good. The closest decent restaurants are down in St. Angelo village which is 1,5 km downhill and the same uphill when coming back. Traveling with an infant we used to drive down there, but there is a parking fee and parking space might be unavailable during busy summer months. Our older kids used to walk and it only takes 15 minutes so it is not impossible.

The apartments do have a kitchen with quite good utensils and ours did have almost new stove with oven so you can cook if you don't want to eat out. But then you need a car as the closest grocery stores are almost 2 kilometers uphill in Panza. There is a small grocery store in St. Angelo village, but the selection is limited.

The stairs down to the sea are steep and there are 226 (or so) steps and they are partly in bad condition, so they are difficult with small children or elderly people.

So if you would like to stay in a private sea-front villa in Italy with reasonable price this is the place to go in Ischia. Otherwise, please leave this place vacant for our next stay :)

Oh, and the staff is very friendly and welcoming! The cleaning lady was very nice and did perfect job. Francesco was very helpful and speaks excellent english. Dante (the owner) also speaks english, but not fluently.

And one more thing, Wifi did work very nice and the transmitter was located so that the whole apartment was covered.

Room tip: The pictures on their website are very accurate and helpful
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heikkip67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015

I am a frequent traveler to the Island of Ischia, but never have I experienced such an amazing blend of authentic old world charm and modern flair. This place is stunning, amazing, truly beautiful. Where as the rest of the island can be constantly bustling (in a good way) this piece of paradise really sets the tone of total relaxation. I would go again in a heart beat!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews