We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to envy with far away tropical resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hotel & Terme Romantica
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sant'Angelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Beautiful place with wonderful tropical gardens and various thermal swimming pools. Service is perfect and extremely friendly. 180° ocean panorama. The cuisine is excellent with great choice of different menues. The only negative point is .... that sooner or later you have to leave this paradise on earth.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilippoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 747 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spend recently 1 week in Ischia, it is an island in southern Italy near Capri and less famous. We stayed at Romantica Hotel in St.Angelo. Sisters Rossi and all staff offered a remarkable personalized service. The view from SPA was lovely, sunset at the bar very romantic. Rich breakfast buffet and don't miss the opportunity to taste a delicious lunch on Pool-Bar by Salvador, Silvester and Vincent. Thanks to Pino for relaxing massages and Elena for the beauty treatments. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We booked into the Terme Romantica after reading the reports on Tripadvisor and looking at its web-site. Do not be deceived. It is nothing like the pictures on its site and it has a rating way beyond anything that i would give it.
This was the third leg on a 10 day trip to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and we previously stayed at the Bucs di Bacco in Positano and La Minerva in Capri. Both deserved their high ratings on tripadvisor. The Romantica is not even remotely in the same league.
We started badly by relying on a taxi transport from Ischia Porto.I asked the price of the fare to the driver who met the arriving boat and was reassured when he told me 'don't worry its on a meter.' It didn't occur to me at this point that the meter has several settings. The vehicle itself was a battered minivan and the luggage was held in the boot by a bungee.We must have been on the New Years day at 1pm rate. The 40 minute journey registered e57 on the meter and the driver asked for e60 as we had 2 bags. Bearing in mind in Positano we hired an s class Mecedes at e40 per hour I knew we were being ripped off but we were dropped in the hotel grounds but some 20 metres from the reception itself so I had little chance to check the correct fare.We then had to ask in the cafe where to go. to check in as there were no signs and no one to help with the luggage.The alarm bells had started ringing already at this point the entrance to the hotel is up a steep drive and the vegetable gardens we passed were overgrown and untended. the rest of the grounds were no better,they were old and poorly decorated. We had booked a junior suite with sea-view and balcony and at least expected a nice room.We were shown to a room that was small and very badly decorated and really badly furnished.It was like a collection of bris a brac that would be found in a second hand shop. Nothing matched and it was all old and of poor quality.The baclony was so small there was no way to put 2 the chairs around the very small table. We immediately returned to reception to ask for a better room and were told we were in its best standard of room. Heaven knows what the others would be like. After some time we were shown a second 'junior suite' which was marginally bigger than the first but still was dirty (the walls had mould and the mini bar was leaking water) and was again furnished with a mixture of bric a brac. The wardrobe was a freestanding pine model with an assortment of poor quality mis matching hangers,the t v was an old 14 inch model on a bracket that had been badly fitted to the wall and the decor was of poor quality and pre dominantely orange. We again complained and were told no other rooms were available.As it was now 6 pm we decided to cut our losses and only stay the one night and look for an alternative. Initially the front desk told us that we could not cut short the booking as it had been made over the internet but after saying we were not happy they then offered to cut the stay to one night. I found a 5* hotel in Ischia town that evening that had availability and went to the front desk and informed them that we would be leaving the following morning. We transferred to the Il Morento and the difference is black to white. We are currently in five star luxury with probably the best food that we have had all holiday for the same room price of e230 as the Romantica. One good point for the Romantica was that they organised a taxi driver for my return leg to Ischia town at the correct price of e30.
The port of San Angelo itself is very pretty. After we arranged to leave the Romantica ,we walked down (10 minutes) to the port and ate a pleasant meal there. We also returned the following morning before the taxi arrived to spent an hour shopping.
I am sorry I cannot report on the numerous pools at the Romantica we didn't look at any as we could not get out of there fast enough. We did stay for the breakfast and wished we hadn't. It was the dirtiest dining room of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The tables that held the buffet food were not cleaned at all and we saw the waiters wiping down tablecloths for the next sitters rather than change them even if they were stained. The selection of food was also poor.Overall the Romantica is not worth 1 star in my book let alone the 4 stars that it claims. Avoid at all costs. It was the worst 16 hours of an otherwise good holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ASNICEASHOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We chose this hotel because of the largely favourable reviews on this site, and are glad we made that choice! The property is beautiful, very spacious and with stunning views of the sea. There are 13 pools on the property, and all except one were in good condition. The experience of moving between pools at different temperatures was very relaxing. We also tried the massage at the health spa, which was adequate.
Although the hotel is very close to St. Angelo, becuase it is on a hill the climb up is very difficult. However, the hotel runs regular shuttles to and from the village.
We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, especially since we had some special demands as we were travelling with our 19 month old. He loved the spacious layout and the pools (although children are not allowed in some due to their temperature).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We just returned from a week at this spa hotel which is set in a Thermal pool park among lush tropical flowers and palms, not to mention the view from every corner over the sea and the village of Sant Angelo below. They have 13 pools at temps varying from 40 to 29% all on beautifull terraces with deck chairs in the sun or in the shade of a palmtree, it seemed more like being on a tropical island somewhere in the Pacific, except for the fabulous marine thermal waters that come up from under the sea at over 90° Some of the pools were covered or semi-covered, so you could pick and choose where to swim. All were very clean and at exactly the correct temp. The rooms were large,well decorated with luxurious marble bathrooms and most with terraces that had breathtaking views. The breakfast was served poolside in a summer structure and you could eat on the terrace or inside. The rest of the meals were served in the main restaurant near the reception and had a wall of windows overlooking the sea and hills. Food was varied ( a mile-long antipasto table to choose from at dinner) and excellent, as was the service--fast and efficient. Everything in this hotel was looked after in fine detail by the 3 sisters who own and run the establishment. Clean and well kept gardens,rooms and public areas such as the bars and wifi cafe, as well as the lovely beauty and wellness center. As I travel with a small portable travel wheelchair, I had my doubts about the Romantica because it is on a hillside. I was assured that there were enough terraces and pools that I could easily reach and whenever I desired, they would send a golf buggy to pick me up and take me where I wanted to go( they have several of these as the property is truly vast) I Never had to wait for this service as they arrived in no time. Our room was also totaly free of any barrier and I could wheele about from our terrace to the gardens and all over in and out of the room with no problem at all!! What more can I add?? Only that every request was granted with a smile that often makes one feel not as a client, but rather as a family guest. Pricewise the Romantica is also exceptional for what they have to offer !! Try it to beleive it--in Ischia one pays a lot of money to use a themal garden on a day basis, while here you are right in one!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSBiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Very nice place to stay, with excellent cuisine and extremely nice staff.
We enjoyed the thermal fangos and pools. The rooms are nice and clean. Very quiet but offering possibilities for tennis, ping pong, fitness room. The beauty farm has quite improved.
S. Angelo is the most romantic place of the island. Second time we were there. Definetely a place to return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank switzerlandsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We were swayed to stay at the hotel from the reviews on Tripadvisor and also the hotel's website. When we got there we were not overly excited about our room (we were even in an "upgraded" room - don't know what the basic rooms would have been like!). They were a decent size, but just not very welcoming.
Anyway, we were not here to stay in the room, so we were hoping that the pools were going to be better. We really were not impressed, as most of the pools (with the exception of the one pool down the front, with the statue of the lying down lady) had tiles falling off, and were just in a real need of some work. I didn't feel they were clean, and to tell you the truth, I did not see anyone doing any 'cleaning' of the pools in the 7 days that we were there!
I wouldn't rush back to Romantica, but we loved the Sant'Angelo region, and would definitely think about going there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chairman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Angelo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#10 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Torre Sant'Angelo
3.6 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Loreley
Hotel Loreley
#13 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel & Terme Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel & Terme Romantica

Address: Via Ruffano 11, 80070 Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Serrara Fontana > Sant'Angelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Angelo
Price Range: $138 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel & Terme Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel & Terme Romantica is the largest Resort on the Isle of Ischia. 45,000 square metres with a vantage point that overlooks the beautiful and exclusive Village of Sant'Angelo. Nestled in the lush green of its gardens, in the silence of its scenic areas and in the relaxation of its Thermal Park, you can regenerate yourself in both Body and Mind. Come to enjoy with us a romantic experience #LiveaRomanticaExperience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Hotel & Terme Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Sant Angelo
Park Hotel & Terme Romantica Isola D'Ischia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing