We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Small beach for a change of scenery

We went to this beach by walking up from Sant Angelo and their beaches. Less expensive to rent a... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2016
tfizzle
,
Portland, Oregon
Nice spot in Sant'Angelo

This is a nice spot to enjoy in Sant'Angelo. Just up the way from the main area which is a very... read more

Reviewed June 23, 2016
Alan S
,
Huron, Ohio
Read all 265 reviews
  
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
116
95
40
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
116
95
40
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus stop space stairs cliffs sea ischia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 265 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Small beach. When we were there there was no paid area (maybe that's only the case in summer)?
The restaurant was closed. (although when we were there in autumn it was open.. Maybe that's not the case in spring?)
But it's a beautiful small and not particularly popular beach (in spring). But the water is cold. This is not one of the warmer beaches.
..
There are quite a lot of steep stairs. Not a problem for somebody with an even rather low fitness levels (as long as you're healthy and kind of steady). But my grandparents certainly couldn't go down there....

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Leona-MariaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Small but pleasant beach - very family friendly and quiet. One small bar/restaurant who also rent out the loungers/umbrellas on the non-free bit of the beach (only 7 Euro for a sun lounger so not expensive).

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank samsunnyskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017

I never would have known about this tiny stretch of land below -- way below -- the Sant'Angelo bus station if I had not read the Trip Advisor reviews of things to do in the area. That's because there are many obvious beaches around the village and no signs directing visitors to Cava Grado Beach. Luckily, a woman at my hotel's reception desk gave me instructions on how to reach my destination.

It took about 10 minutes to stroll through Sant'Angelo, walking up the hill to the station and then another 5 minutes to reach the water. That involved heading along a narrow road behind the station until I reached 90 concrete steps on the left with a wide handrail to assist in the descent.

Alas, the sand and pebbly beach did not look especially inviting. More than half of the small area was set aside for those using umbrellas and sunbeds (5E each). One man lounged on a sunbed. Two women on the other side sprawled on towels. This was 11 a.m. in mid-May, so I doubt three sunbathers were an indicator of beach population in high tourist season.

Shaded Lido Bar da Marie behind the beach looked more appealing, so I ordered lemonade and sat a bit before heading to the stairs.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We went to this beach by walking up from Sant Angelo and their beaches. Less expensive to rent a chair and umbrella. A couple of vendors selling food and massages on the beach. Beware of jellyfish (medusa) as they sting. This can be a little bit of a hike though but a family can make it.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank tfizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

This is a nice spot to enjoy in Sant'Angelo. Just up the way from the main area which is a very picturesque area. It's not exactly easy to get to but enjoyable.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews