We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Terme San Michele
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sant'Angelo
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view and quiet”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights there. Great view, nice staff, very nice spa facility, clean room.
The services at the hotel were very good. The restaurant food was good but should be better. (compare with another 4 stars hotel we stayed in Ischia.)
It's a short walk to Aphrodite Terme Park and a short walk (steep slope) to local restaurants down the port.
Strongly recommend this hotel but you may like to eat at local restaurants near the port.
We took a water taxi to Sorget hotspring from the port. It was only 5 euro/per person and only 10 ~15 minutes boat ride. It's definitely worth to visit Sorget !
To get to the hotel is tough. First get off a public bus at Sant'Angelo station. If you have energy, you can walk to the auto limited point with heavy luggages. (We didn't, so we took a taxi for a minute or even less ride - 12 euro!)
There, if you are a mountain climber, you can walk up steep, steep slope. (We are not, so we took an electric kart ride for a minute or even less ride - 12 euro !)
Making a deal with taxi drivers was the least pleasant experience during our 1 week stay in Ischia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stomu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    51
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
108
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Really top notch hotel. The staff are very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Food was very good. Beautiful hotel grounds, pool area and spa. Very quiet! Only small downside was our bed...it was two singles clamped together. Not the end of the world as it was comfy enough. All in all, the positives overwhelm the small negative.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

what an amazing place and what an amazing experience. The service, the rooms, the welcoming atmosphere will make you want to go back. Not the mention the quality of food.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luka1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2008

The Hotel is located in a wonderful position on the Maronti'sBay.
Our room was very very clean.
The Restaurant offers a very fresh and good cooked meals.
The Lunch was served on a very panoramic terrace sea-view.
The staff was kind and professional and we can enjoyed a very romantic atmosphere.

We recommend this Hotel 100%

Mark & Lucy

  • Liked — Beauty Center
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blushiver74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed at the San Michele for 4 nights, too much effort to go for less. Travelling from Amalfi we took a 2.5 hour ferry ride (only 1 per day from Amalfi), 1 hour bus trip from Porto to San Michele, walked down the hill and caught a golf buggy up another hill to the hotel. Not the easiest place to get to! Sant' Angelo is, however, a charming village. It has a permanent population of only 600 and is a car free zone. The San Michele is on a steepish hill above the piazza and beaches so it's not a place for the elderly or infirm. The San Michele was freshly painted inside and out. Our room was comfortable and clean but pretty basic, it's not a luxury hotel so that is what we expected. We paid an extra 8 euros per night for a sea view and enjoyed lovely views. The restaurant terrace also has a good view of the town, beach and sea. In high season half board is mandatory. Breakfast is included (some fresh fruit would be a nice addition to the buffet) and you can choose lunch or dinner for the other meal. You are shown a menu at breakfast and make your decision as to lunch or dinner then, you also make your choices from the lunch or dinner menu at that time. The meals were not “gourmet” but perfectly nice. The local wine is good and cheap. If you don't finish a bottle (no half bottles available) they cork it and serve it to you the next night. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful and well cared for. The swimming pool is located at the rear of the hotel away from the best view which is rather odd, it would be more pleasant to sit by the pool if it had the panoramic view of the coast, and it would also get the sea breeze. We also found the pool water to be too warm but others were enjoying it. There are several beaches within walking distance of the hotel, it's worth exploring and visiting a few of them. There is a computer with internet access available but the connection was unreliable. The only real complaint that we could make is that we needed to access the internet and the connection was down, we were given clear directions to the internet cafe in the next town (a walk and bus ride away) but were not told that we would need our passports to use the internet at the cafe. We were rather frustrated at making a wasted trip. One other odd thing is the length of time it takes to have laundry down - 2.5 days! But it was inexpensive. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Our last night at the hotel was a Thursday, this is piano bar night when they have live music until midnight. Unfortunately our room was directly above the bar area and it was very noisy. We called the front desk about the noise as we had to make an early start the next day to begin our homeward journey to Australia. They said that they couldn't do anything about the noise but did move us to another room at the back of the hotel. While it was a bit of a pain to move for one night we did get a good night's sleep with only a little inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GiGiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 16, 2005

Two adults in need of rest and recuperation spent two very relaxing weeks in July 2005 at this very relaxed family-run hotel set on a quiet promontory overlooking a beautiful bay.

And when we say quiet and unpolluted, we mean it; cars are not permitted in Sant'Angelo, so alternative transport is provided by electric buggies which hum softly up and down the narrow winding lanes transporting locals with their shopping, tourists and their luggage or local produce for the shops.

The hotel exudes quiet and calm which is supported by the staff, the high standard of service, the hospitality, the very pure air, the changing scenery, the hot weather, the unobtrusive spa treatment centre and the very warm thermal waters of the swimming pool.

This is not a sophisticated hotel and Ischia is not a sophisticated island which is a key part of its charm. If you like warmth, good varied fresh food, pure air and thermal waters - this could be the place for you.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Angelo
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel & Terme Romantica
Park Hotel & Terme Romantica
#2 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Celestino
Casa Celestino
#6 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Loreley
Hotel Loreley
#11 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Terme
Hotel San Giorgio Terme
#1 of 13 in Barano d'Ischia
507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme
Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme
#2 of 13 in Barano d'Ischia
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terme San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme San Michele

Property: Hotel Terme San Michele
Address: Via Sant'Angelo 60, 80070 Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Serrara Fontana > Sant'Angelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#4 Spa Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#5 Family Hotel in Sant'Angelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Terme San Michele 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama at 360° degrees and unmatched wellness take the scene at the Hotel Terme San Michele, where the heart beats to the rhythm of the four elements. Warm hospitality together with authenticity, translated into the charm of a typical Mediterranean villa surrounded by a lush garden, are an irresistible invitation for those who love natural tranquility and serenity.The successful combination of maritime tradition and timeless casual elegance with greatest attention to detail of décor create a welcoming and unique ambience, the perfect setting for a weekend of pure relaxation, a romantic retreat, or a vacation of 360° degrees pure wellbeing.Panorama e benessere a 360° sono i protagonisti che entrano in scena all’hotel Terme San Michele, dove il cuore batte al ritmo dei quattro elementi. La cordiale ospitalità, insieme all’autenticità, tradotte nello charme di una tipica villa mediterranea circondata da un giardino lussureggiante, è un invito irresistibile per gli appassionati della tranquillità naturale e del vero riposo.Arredato con raffinatezza e amore per i dettagli del décor, con pavimenti in maiolica, l’accogliente e rilassante atmosfera dell’albergo rappresenta la cornice perfetta per trascorrere un weekend di puro relax, un romantico ritiro oppure le vacanze all’insegna del benessere a 360°. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Terme San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terme San Michele Isola D'Ischia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing