We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aragona Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Ischia
1 review
“Excellent Hotel and location”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless and nicely decorated. Excellent location near the port.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    313
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
287
885
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the location and reviews on TA. We had a standard room with no balcony. Th room was ok and spacious and there was enough space for our luggage and clothes. The bathroom was also spacious and clean. The hotel lobby was nothing to special to look at and the roof-terrace was not as appealing than in shown the photos, which was a disappointment, but we did not have time for sunbathing anyway. I tried the termal pool and it was relaxing.

Hotel staff was very friendly although there was only one person in reception who spoke excellent English. The breakfast was good and there were at least 10 different kinds of sweet pastries, pies and cupcakes. Fortunately they also had some salty pastries, croissants, eggs, ham, cheese and wonderful fresh fruits. Restaurant staff was also friendly and had a good sense of humor.

The location is great: we could do some shopping, enjoy dinners in the nearby restaurants and it was also easy to take a bus to Ischia Ponte. This is a good hotel in good location, if you decide to stay in Ischia Porto this is it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had a fantastic stay for two nights at Aragona. The staff are excellent and very accommodating. They welcomed us with a complimentary drink/cake and upgraded us to a fantastic room.

The rooftop pool and sundeck is a great place to relax at the end of the day with beautiful views of the port. The thermal pool and Turkish sauna is another relaxing feature that the hotel offers.

The hotel was in an ideal location. It's an easy walk to a number of the beaches and only a couple of minutes walk from the ferry terminal making it easy to island hop or for transfers to Naples.

The room was comfortable, large and very clean. It had a balcony with a fantastic view of the port and out to sea.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Great people and great location. Lovely, spacious and clean rooms with fantastic views.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a balcony and view of the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sminty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had a great stay for five nights at Aragona. The staff is excellent and very accommodating. They welcomed us with a complimentary drink and they were helpful whenever we had a question.

The rooftop pool and sundeck is a great place to relax at the end of the day with beautiful views of the port. The thermal pool and Turkish sauna is another relaxing feature that the hotel offers.

The hotel was in an ideal location for us. An easy walk to dozens of restaurants in both Ischia Porto and Ischia Ponte. It is also a quick walk to the main bus terminal in Ischia Porto, which allows easy access to explore the various towns and beaches of the island. I would recommend this location of the island due to the proximity to nightlife and shopping. During the day, you can take a bus to other areas of the island if you want to visit different beaches or spas.

The rooms are relatively basic, with blue tile floors and a small flat screen TV offering SKY TV. The beds are comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom was nice and it had a huge shower with two shower heads at opposite ends of the shower. Shampoo, soap and toothbrush were all provided by the hotel.

The breakfast was included in our stay. I personally felt that it was far too focused on cakes and pastries. I was absolutely amazed at the amount of sweets offered for breakfast. They did have some meats, scrambled eggs and hard boiled eggs as well as yogurt. However, the hard boiled eggs were a bit undercooked for my liking and the scrambled eggs seemed to be sitting out there too long (apparently tourists focus on the sweets for breakfast in Ischia?) It's obviously a personal taste, but I would say the breakfast spread was my least favorite part of the hotel (but not that big of a deal as I still had plenty to eat). Other people might love it.

If I ever return to Ischia, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Great people and great location. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunaTacoGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The staff/management was extremely friendly before we had even arrived at the hotel. The location could not have been better; just a walk a few minutes from the port - and you could see the hotel as you are coming in on the ferry! Great shopping and restaurants around every corner. The room was lovely, spacious, clean and the view was beyond breathtaking! Manager made everything so conveniently available to us and also knew before our arrival that we were there on our honeymoon - she had a wonderful plate of pastries, fruit and juice welcoming us on our arrival. She assisted us with arranging our ferries for the next day and did all the calling for us. Incredibly helpful and friendly and also spoke fluently in english. We have told everyone in our travels about this hotel! I wish we would have stayed longer - we will certainly be coming back here on our next visit to Italy. Following our departure, I realized I had left my cross in the pocket of the robe. We sent an email asking if there was any chance it was found - they had it couriered to our last hotel and we received it upon our arrival in Amalfi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is my third time to the Aragona Palace and my partner's second time. it never fails to live up to expectation, from the complimentary cocktail on arrival to the cheery greetings every member of staff gives to every single guest, every single time they encounter them.

The only issue that i have is that I keep trying to summon up the enthusiasm to leave the roof top pool, but once you get up there its very hard to leave it. It is the most relaxing place, just watching the ferries and the occasional superyacht come and go.

A bit too much cake on the breakfast buffet which is too hard to resist ...definitely try the chocolate filled doughnuts though, but try to limit them to one. The coffee though is just gorgeous, very strong and blissful with hot milk to start the day with a blast of caffeine.

Evenings must be spent either watching the parade of people walking up and down the streets, or talking part in the evening promenade yourselves. Just make sure you dont walk too fast !

Cant wait for our next visit

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli_the_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was perfect! The staff was super friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our trip there fantastic. Luisa (the manager) is very sweet and speaks ok English. The rest of the staff doesn't know too much English, but that was never a problem really. The rooftop pool is a fantastic place to chill every afternoon! Tons of restaurants nearby wich is very convenient. All kinds of shopping within walking distance as well. Within walking distance of the bus station which made it easy to get around the island! Can't wait to go back! Huge continental buffet for breakfast every morning that was incredibly delicious! The only negative thing I will say was we reserved a queen bed room, and their idea of a queen bed is 2 twin beds shoved together so there was a crack in the middle of the bed but it was more annoying than it was uncomfortable. Very close to port with a ferry to take you to Naples.

Room Tip: get a sea side view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ischia
0.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
1,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
3.4 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aragona Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aragona Palace Hotel

Property: Aragona Palace Hotel
Address: Via Porto Salvo 12, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#1 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#1 Family Hotel in Ischia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aragona Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aragona Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aragona Palace
Aragona Palace Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing