We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafront location, good value”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #45 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Chilly, unpleasant reception staff. Yes, it has the feel of an upmarket youth hostel, but the facilities are good. We had a superior hotel room, it was well finished and comfortable. I saw the self catering rooms and they looked fine … cramped .. and could be noisy at a busy time… but honestly, for the price and location, I wouldn’t argue about much.
Everything was clean and well run.
Pool was nice, the nonstop music there is unpleasant and intrusive ... the sunbathing area down at the rocks is lovely and I loved the feeling that the whole place was perched over the sea, it’s a pretty location.
Minutes from the town. Recommended.
3 stars

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AggiUggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 474 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2009

Clean hotel....located in Ischia Porto and you can walk there fom when your boat docks at the port....this hotel has a very private rock ledge with lounge chairs and ladders that lead right into the sea! La Spiaggia degli Inglese (sand beach) is about 2 miles walking distance from the hotel if you prefer sandy beaches.Walking distance from great restaurants!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divirgilioa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We arrived at the Pagoda just after they opened for the season at the end of May so there was only 1 other couple staying at the hotel and it was very quiet which we liked. The managers of the hotel were great and very accommodating. We had the room with the large private patio that over looked the sea and the view was magnificent! They served breakfast in our room which consisted of coffee, juice, a very delicious warm pastry, yoghurt, fruit, and a couple of other goodies. The bed was very comfortable. We were looking forward to the private beach which turned out to be a rock ledge that you walk down a few steps to get to but our patio made up for the lack of beach. Also disappointing is the hot tubs are not hot tubs but cold tubs. The pool area is good with a nice view. If you are planning to stay here spend the extra money for the suite with the private patio as most of the other rooms face the walkway. There are several rooms with an ocean view window but no patio facing the water although there are plenty of places to sit around the pool and the hotel. The Pagoda is about ¼ mile or more walking distance to the town and restaurants. We loved Ischia and the little town at this port had lots of restaurants with great food and shopping. You are close to the bus stop where you can get a bus to anywhere on the Island. We also hopped a boat over to Capri for a day trip but Capri is like Disneyland. There were a kajillion people there. We had a difficult time at first finding the Pagoda when we arrived but I knew by reading Trip Advisor that we had to turn right when we got off the boat but that wasn’t enough instruction. We tried asking the locals who sent us in both directions more than once so here is a more detailed direction:
When you get off of the ferry and you are facing land, turn right. Follow the road around the port, when you see the road split (this is where the busses are) veer to the right. Follow along until, on your left you see a Café with a patio out front. It had a sign that said Breakfast Bar on the front but another name on the side that I can’t remember. Turn left here and walk up the hill (about 1 block) and you will see the Pagoda. The Italians pronounce Pagoda different than American English so when I was asking directions they really didn’t know where I was trying to go. If you stay here, have a good time and enjoy the beautiful view and charming town.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailregmel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

The first we met on our way from the ferry to the hotel was a smashed rat in the middle of the road. We had then passed condemned houses and boatwrecks. The hotel was some mix of a motel and the house of the Flintstones. Our "cave" smelled like an old basement, and the extra bed we had asked for was never made up. We had to do it ourselves. There was no glasses in the bathroom, but we got 2 when we asked for it. The "continental" breakfast was terrible, and did not include tea!
The only positive thing about this place was the view, and short walk to the ferry back to Naples.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We had a superior room with terrace overlooking pool and it was not cheap. The Air conditioning broke and there was no one on the front desk to help. I must say that I was dissappointed.It was also busier than what I expected and didn't felt that the deluxe rooms were overpriced.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank mcmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Stayed in this lovely hotel for ten days with friends,We were in a room right near the pool with a sea view through a window cut out of the cliff.The place was very quiet except for the weekends when the Italians from Naples weekended there.
We had fresh towells every day and clean sheets every other day.A fridge in our room and the only thing we would have liked would have been a kettle to make tea ( apparently Italians rarely use kettles)
The restaurants round the harbour were good with nice fresh fish and pasta and the bus service on the island excellent.
We had a couple of days of rain with a spectacular thunderstorm.
When you come from Naples port it is easier with cases to catch the hydrofoil as on the ferry there are steep steps up to the deck.

The castle is magnificent.Well worth a visit.

Lovely hotel on a beautiful island.
Visit and practice your Italian.

Arrivedeci!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SuzieGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

First thing I have to say BEAUTIFUL the stay here was breath taking the view of the ocean and the location.(Try to get a water view if possible) We took our 14month old with us and the hotel was very children friendly as well as adult and the staff and the front desk was very helpful. Make sure not to take a taxi to your hotel it's right around the corner from the ferry dock.If you want to eat a light lunch I recommend going to the local grocery store and ask for a mortadella and mozzarella panini with tomatoes.I would definitely stay here again and make sure your travel agent was as great as mine.Thanks Gina at Liberty Travel Providence,R.I
Aldo,Aneta,Alessandra (Johnston,R.I)

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank Cella64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 70 in Ischia
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Ischia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: Via delle Fornaci, 7, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: $68 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pagoda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pagoda is the only hotel in Ischia Porto with direct access to the sea, 10 steps. The only one which includes in the price beach facilities, swimming pools and a beach umbrella. The Pagoda is located directly on the sea, in a cove between the volcanic rocks typical of the island, surrounded by a blue sea, in a relaxed atmosphere, just a few steps far from the center. Access to the sea, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, restaurant, fitness room and breathtaking views are the main ingredients of our success. The Pagoda offers its guests the opportunity to customize their stay, choose between the Hotel and the Residence. The price includes breakfast and use of the services. At the restaurant you can taste the Mediterranean cuisine, prepared with care and imagination by our chef. Guests can choose from the a la carte or packages of half board and full board. The Pagoda has direct access to the sea, 4, sun loungers and umbrellas, pool with waterfall moisturizing, children pool, 2 Jacuzzis, and free wi fi at restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel And Residence
Pagoda Residence Ischia
Pagoda Residence Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing