We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like being with family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Baia di Sorgeto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ischia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence Baia di Sorgeto
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like being with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I and our five-year-old daughter stayed here for 2 nights over Easter and we could not have been more pleased with Baia di Sorgeto or with Ischia -- even though we had rainy weather. We took the bus from Ischia Porto (Peppino's instructions were very helpful) and he picked us up in Panza. He got us settled in, and he and his family (and their sweet dog, Margo) made us feel welcome. The place was spartan but spotless, and quiet; it feels quite rural. We took a big walk to Sant' Angelo & beyond, explored an abandoned "spa" (Cavascura hot spring) & soaked in the thermal baths & sauna, saw the hot-sand beach (where people bury eggs, potatoes, etc to cook them), walked along the shore, and made a day of it. We also took a little (10-15 min) walk to Baia di Sorgeto to sit in the hot springs that come into the sea (it is free). There is a lovely and inexpensive restaurant nearby (5 min walk), and it is a short walk to town to buy supplies. The small thermal pool at the hotel was hot and relaxing, with Jacuzzi jets; the larger pool was not as warm but again, this could have been due to the rainfall and lack of sun. We still swam. The only thing we would have liked was some washing-up supplies, but everything else was great. We would come again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    115
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
83
166
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have been staying at Residence Baia di Sorgeto after discovering over 10 years old. My husband and I were looking for a place to stay that was not an impersonal hotel, allowed us to be independent, and had privacy away from the 'the busier parts of the island (not that Ischia is too busy!) ' - we wanted to see the true Ischia, and get to meet the true people. After meeting Peppino, Rosa Thea and family our search was over. The accomodation is as we would expect - clean and the family is always accomodating to whatever we need - Even taking us to get the best wine on the island from the local cantina! Both pools are fantastic with thermal waters - indoor and out. Now that we have children, Residence Baia di Sorgeto has become their favorite place to stay. We can walk down to the Sorgeto in the early morning, and enjoy the baia all by ourselves. We wander back for a cafe at the local bar, and then head to the pool for a dip. At night, we spend on our terrace, eating local antipasto collected by us at the recommendation of Peppino. The Residence is not just a place to stay, but an experience - if you want a most relaxing holiday, where you feel that you are in your own personal 'appartamento', then this is the place to go. I highly, highly recommend staying at Residence Baia di Sorgeto - True Ischia, and a respected family run business that makes you feel indeed special.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - there are also bungalows if you prefer. Tell Peppino your requirements and he c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Very lovely kind people run the Residence, and they are very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We chose Baia di Sorgeto through the excellent reviews we found on this website and we were not at all disappointed. On our arrival, Rosa welcomed us and showed us our studio with balcony. We then met Peppino the next day (who speaks fluent English and some French) and he explained all about the natural underground spring that warmed the 2 swimming pools on a daily basis. We made good use of these outdoor (ask Peppino why you should be there at 10am...) and indoor spa pools during our stay. Although self-catering, there was a small bar by the pool where you can buy coffee and fresh pastries in the mornings. The location is a 10-minute walk uphill to the centre of Panza and 1/2 hour walk to San Angelo with plenty restaurants in both towns. We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend these appartments for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_and_JPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at Baia di Sorgeto for 4 nights in July 2011 with our 3 boys (13, 11, 7). This was our half-way stop between 3 weeks of traveling through 4 countries and this was a much needed break. Peppino, Rosa Thea and daughter Claudia made us feel right at home and our boys were finally able to run free. The views from the hotel of the Bay and surrounding mountains are breathtaking and each room has a patio and wide open doors to catch the breezes. There is short walk down the road to the famous thermal springs, filled wth friendly vacationers from every part of the globe. The efficiencies (called "self-catering" in Europe) are perfect for families with a refrigerator, stove and sink. You will need a car if you plan to visit all the picturesque towns around the island, but it's a short walk to good restaurants and a market at the other end of the road to the Bay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoysMom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed here for 10 days and loved it and loved Ischia, the people are really friendly and the weather was great most days, even though it was early May. The accomodation was great- Peppino and Rosa were very welcoming, friendly and helpful- they picked us up and gave us a lift back to the bus stop when we were leaving with our cases and lent us bottle openers , whatever we needed etc. The rooms are nice- blue and white with a kitchenette which is basically a fridge and 2 gas rings- and well equipped with pots and pans- you can toast bread in a pan and boil water in a pan so we didn't mind doing this at all, so they are not luxurious, however for the price, we were very very happy. Bathroom is quite small and more like a wet room- there's a hairdryer which is surprisingly good and a 3/4 length mirror in the bedroom too. Panza is a lovely town and we had our shopping delivered (definitley take a phrase book if you want to request this!) - you can buy bottled water from the residence- 3 Euros for 6 big bottles- saves carrying it. We didn't hire a car or bike and be aware that the walk up the hill to Panza and bus stop is steep - about 10-15 minutes- good exercise and we did it every day quite happily, although wouldn't want to do it in a heatwave. I would advise either hiring a car or just walking to Baia di Sorgeto ( 2 minutes, down hill, very pretty views on the way) and getting a water taxi from the restaurant at the bottom of the steps- it's only about 5 euros to get to St Angelo, which is only 3 euros 80 more than the bus and it only takes about 5 minutes.
Baia di Sorgeto is great, if we hadn't stayed here we may not have really expereinced the hot sea as we went to other beaches but it wasn't as obvious as in Sorgeto Bay- it's actually steaming in Sorgeto Bay and you can get mud masks (only 5 euros ) and the restuarant on the beach is lovely. It's not a sandy beach, so it's easily possible to swim but I would take goggles as there are a few rocks under the surface and it's easier when you can see them. This accomodation is close (2 minutes) to a few hotels and restaurants where you can eat. Went to the Torre St Angelo hotel for a coffee for breakfast where the views are great. The pizza place on the hill is nice too- HUGE portions. And there's a lovely 4 star hotel by the Sorgeto Bay although we didn't dare go in as the waiters were wearing dinner jackets and we were wearing flip flops. Just to emphasise that you could spend the whole time in Baia di Sorgeto as there's 4 or 5 eating places within 5 mins and about another 3 half way up the hill. Panza is great too- good pizza place at the top of the hill- not expensive. I would take a phrase book if you don't speak Italian, although everyone was really helpful to us and Peppino speaks great English. Massive thanks to Peppino and Rosa- would recommend- had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at Residence Baia di Sorgeto the week before Easter and had a wonderful time. Ischia is a beautiful island and the location of this apartment was excellent as far as we were concerned. It was a short walk down to the most amazing hot springs in the sea and opposite the steps down to the sea there was a great restaurant which served great seafood at excellent prices with a view which would be hard to beat. An uphill walk to Panza took about 10-15 mins with again great views. Everything you needed was available in Panza, even a small mini Carrefour where you could stock up on essentials if you needed to cook in the apartment. The hosts (Peppino and Rosa) were so welcoming and friendly. Peppino gave us some great tips on what to see and where to eat. For example, Luca's Pizza in Panza was the best I have ever tasted. The bus stop was also at the top of the hill where you could jump on and take a day trip to the other various highlights on the island (for example the castle near Ischia Port). The rooms were very clean and equipped with everything we needed and if we needed anything, then Peppino was on hand to help. We enjoyed the lemons from their lemon trees and made some great salad dressings with them. The thermal pools at the apartment were nice and meant that we could enjoy the swimming even though it was early in the holiday season.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend Ischia and Residence Baia di Sorgeto to anyone who wants to experience the real Italy and Mediterranean Island life as it should be. It is virtually undiscovered by British tourists who mostly opt for the package holidays.

We can't wait to go back oneday !

ps. we will add some pics later

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonning_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ischia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Torre Sant'Angelo
0.2 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel & Terme Romantica
Park Hotel & Terme Romantica
#2 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Capannina
Hotel La Capannina
#10 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Baia di Sorgeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Baia di Sorgeto

Property: Residence Baia di Sorgeto
Address: Via Fumerie 29 | Panza/Forio, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ischia self-catering Apartments BAIA DI SORGETO, open the whole year, is situated amongst the lush green vineyards of Forio in Ischia. Our thermal pool, whose temperature varies between 32C to 36C, is refilled each morning with pure, natural hot thermal waters. These waters flow directly from the salty, sulphurous underground springs that, at their depth of 105 metres, heat naturally at 81C. The waters in the pool have therapeutic properties, which are reputed to assist in the cure of arthritis. In addition, the waters aid circulation and help maintain muscle tone as well as stimulate the skin. Sorgeto Bay is rich in hot thermal springs in the Mediterranean Sea where one can bathe in the sea, even in Winter. In some places, the sea is so hot that it would be possible to boil eggs and potatoes. And more: if a turfacean stone is scratched, a mud can be obtained which can be used for making a beauty musk for the face. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing